Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:49 pm

SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
baeumel
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:31 am

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 06, 2011 2:29 pm

Hi dupondt,

thank you very much for the direct links.

And: Keep your fingers crossed that a new PSU will help!

Greetings,
Patrick
 
Jerrybugg
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:39 pm

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:09 pm

►My 5 volt adapter for the Roku M1001had failed ◄
It took the Roku tekkies TEN+ DAYS to email me an answer!!! And, they did not have any in stock!!

►From: ROKU Technical Support◄
Sent: Sunday, March 13, 2011 4:05 PM
Subject: Your Case with Case ID #123456 has been updated (M1001)

The following website should have what you are looking for.
It will be called the Roku Power Adapter. It has the same power outputs as the M1001.

http://shop.roku.com/Webpage2.aspx?WebpageId=2

You can find the latest firmware for your Soundbridge product, Users Guides, troubleshooting help and
frequently asked questions on our Soundbridge help webpage
http://soundbridge.roku.com/support/index.php

For BrightSign products, please go to our BrightSign help webpage. http://www.brightsign.biz/support/

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦


Re: Your Case with Case ID #123456 has been updated

Hello Roku Tekkies,

You techies took so long to get back to me that I ordered an adapter through AMAZON with the same voltage (2 amp) without knowledge of the specs of the plug end on it. It just happened to come with the correct end. It was perfect and corrected the problem (adapter failure that I discovered was very common with these units as per your online forum). Furthermore, it only cost $9.98 with no tax and free shipping. Thank you again for your inexcusable tardiness. It has saved me about $6.00, a 40% savings. I had been procrastinating on the potential purchase of your Roku Radio. I am glad I did not make that purchase as Roku appears to discontinue products and support all too frequently.

►Order from AMAZON◄ Power Supply for 2Wire 1000HG 1000HW 5V 2.0A 100-240V (manufactured by Fairway Electronics) $9.99 Sold by: DirectDeals4U
 
jackyandjase
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:10 pm

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:32 am

Firstly let me thank everyone who has contributed to this post. It appears that the PSU failure of the above mentioned units is a very common and frustrating problem.

I have had my M1001 for about 5 years and am now onto my 3rd PSU. I have a UK type plug connector and it wasn't a problem replacing them ( although very annoying ) until Roku stopped selling international type plugs. Until I found this post my Roku has been gathering dust on my desk for 3 months and was close to being junked. But not anymore, I hope.

I am extremely disappointed with the customer service from Roku now that this device is no longer in production. Their website makes the claims that they will not abandon their loyal Roku customers with parts and technical service, but this is exactly what they have done.

Over the last 2 months I have emailed them 3 times and been given Case ID numbers which never get a response, chatted online with tech staff only to be told they will get back to me, but never do, left messages that never get a response and have gone to the trouble of sitting up until the early hours of the morning to call them in the States only to be told, once you get through to a Roku staff member, that they can't help you with your problem because that unit is no longer in production and that you will have to email your query. Then when you try to explain that you are only going to the expense and difficulty of calling internationally because they don't return your emails, they say, oh, but we will. What a lot of shite !

So I was considering purchasing the Roku streaming player, but after this, no chance, I will be going with Apple.

Anyway, thank you dupondt, Derek and everyone else for your posts and links to where I may be able to purchase a new PSU. I couldn't find the specified PSU on Maplin (UK), but I did find one on Conrad UK, but it was a little pricey at 21.99 GBP.

However, just listed today on Amazon UK ( 5V Roku Soundbridge M1001 Media player replacement power supply adaptor, by digidave ) was a replacement PSU for the M1001, listed at 7.99 GBP ( think I will get a few .....). It seems to tick all the boxes, but has an Amp of 2.0, instead of the 1.5 Amp listed earlier in the post.

I am no electric guru, so will this work on my Roku if I purchase it and if it does, is there any chance it could fry my Roku if I have any future power problems ?

Thanks again to everyone who has contributed.
 
jjaf
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:09 am

Hi jackyandjase

2.1 Amps is fine, it is actually better than 1.5A as the PSU will not get so hot. Well done for finding alternative sources of replacement PSUs.

BTW the Roku Streaming Player is sold only in N America.
R1000, M400, M1001
 
baeumel
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:31 am

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 27, 2011 2:17 am

dupondt wrote:
Hi Patrick,

Conrad have several PSUs which are suitable for the M2000:

a) Phihong PSAA20R-240 Stecker-Netzteil, 24 V/DC/830 mA (Best.-Nr.: 513275 - 62)

Greetings
dupondt


Just to give an update: Thank you very much dupondt; this PSU works just fine.

But Conrad has delivered a 12V-Version with their first delivery; mabe a returned one as it was correctly packed in an 24V-Box ;)

Greetings,
Patrick
 
DerekHelps
Topic Author
Posts: 683
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:10 am
Location: AR

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:31 am

jackyandjase wrote:
However, just listed today on Amazon UK ( 5V Roku Soundbridge M1001 Media player replacement power supply adaptor, by digidave ) was a replacement PSU for the M1001, listed at 7.99 GBP ( think I will get a few .....). It seems to tick all the boxes, but has an Amp of 2.0, instead of the 1.5 Amp listed earlier in the post.


Glad you found this thread to be of use, sounds like its purpose is working well!

I do have one request, if the adapter you have found works for the Soundbridge M1001, would you mind posting the link so that I can add it to the list of possible purchase locations?
Netgear WNR2000v2
Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT Firmware acting as Client Bridge
Soundbridge M2000/M500/R1000
Roku 2 XS 3100
-------------------------------------------------
It's all in the <sup>details</sup>
 
jackyandjase
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:10 pm

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:48 am

Hi, here's the link for Amazon UK, hopefully it works.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Soundbridge-pla ... 203&sr=8-1

Postage is 2.93 GBP. They emailed me back and said it should work fine. I will let you know once I collect it.

Cheers
 
AdvancedBeginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:07 pm

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:57 am

[b]Thanks [/b]everyone, especially the person who posted the information for the replacement power part on Amazon. Found my Roku dead on Sunday and was pondering what to replace it with, but quickly checked the forums and found the common problem. Just received the replacement psu and my Soundbridge is back to streaming music. Thanks to all of you, I didn't ditch the dead Roku and I didn't have to waste time going to RadioShack. :D
 
Tiga
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:58 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:27 am

Here's another power supply I found for the M1001for $10 incl shipping at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002XFFHBM. Its 5 volt, 2 amp, and the plug even fits. Thanks for all the info about power supplies. When my Soundbridge stopped working, thanks to the forums, I tested the original power supply and it produced 5 volts with no load, but only 4 volts when loaded by the soundbridge, and I guess that wasn't enough. This item branded "Fairway" from the vendor "DirectDeals4U" on Amazon has worked fine for the two days that I have had it installed so far.
 
robin_1972
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sat Oct 15, 2011 7:44 am

Hi all,

Has anyone used DX extreme for replacement PSU's?: http://www.dealextreme.com/
they're only about $3-4 delivered worldwide. Takes a while to seach their site but I found the items below:

1) for the M500 : SKU: 66683
Replacement 4.0mm 1.7mm DC 9V 1.5A Power Adapter Supply (100~240V / 2-Flat-Pin Plug)

2) for the M1001: SKU: 101106
AC Power Adapter Input: AC 100~240V
- Output: 5V 2A - DC port size: 5.5 x 2.5mm(5.5x2.5mm / US Plug / 100~240V)

I was thinking of getting some but wanted to get feedback if anyone already had experience with them? thanks

Robin
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:34 pm

Robin,

both units are incompatible with the SoundBridges as their output plugs don't have the right dimensions. As Derek correctly states in his opening post all SoundBridges require output plugs with an outside diameter of 5.5 mm and an inside diameter of 2.1 mm.

Besides that PSUs costing $3 to $4 including worldwide shipping most certainly are nothing but crap.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
robin_1972
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:47 pm

hi - I, of course, will splice the tips over from the old PSU's - I was going to order and see how they are. I have ordered other items from them in the past not power units though.
The original Roku PSU's were pretty bad anyway, additionally nearly all PSU are China made so I think I'll take a chance and let you know how I get along. I will test the PSU when I get it prior to using with my units.
thanks, Robin
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:56 am

I would not recommend any supply costing so little at retail. As Dupondt so kindly puts it, they are most likely crap. Nothing to do with where they are made - some excellent stuff comes out of China if you are prepared to pay for it. People have the impression that China is a cheap place to have things made - in general terms that is no longer the case.

A decent supply will have a few dollars worth of parts, before any manufacturer's or retailer's margin is added. Also, many really cheap supplies are likely to skimp on safety considerations, are likely to have poor thermal design, and to have a limited service life as a result. I have visited good power supply factories in China and I know the lengths that they will go to to get things right - but you won't get that for sub $5 prices.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
robin_1972
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Re: Soundbridge M500/M1000/M1001/M2000 power issues

Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:24 am

ok - sounds good - you guys are probably right, I'm just trying to be cheap :D - I don't want it to catch fire for sure!
thanks for all the advice, Robin
M500 x 2
M1000 x 2
M1001

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest