Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:20 am

@ BoldBelvoir

Permit me to drop you a little hint: It is a good idea to actually at least show in which country you reside :wink:
It not only assists people to judge how much the overall cost will be in this particular case, but when answering technical questions that have been posed it enables country-specific issues to be explained.

Cheers, Alan
 
BoldBelvoir
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:50 am

Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:21 am

alanmc wrote:
It is a good idea to actually at least show in which country you reside


Of course! Apologies.
I'm in Nottinghamshire, UK.

Phil.
 
EricIsDeliriou5
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:34 pm

Calvary NAS Works with Roku Soundbridge M1001 out of the box

Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:46 pm

Hey all,

I just picked up the Cavalry CAND Series 2TB NAS from buy.com for $280 AR and was pleasantly surprised that it worked with my M1001 right out of the box. I plugged it into my wireless router, offloaded a ton of music from my home computers onto NAS (using it in RAID1 config so I've got 1TB to play with), and fired up the M1001. Immediately it saw the NAS, and I could connect and stream perfectly. I am so thrilled to have consolidated my music libraries AND more importantly still able to stream.

Here's the link if anyone is interested:
http://www.buy.com/prod/cavalry-2tb-nas-hard-drive-raid-usb-2-0-network-attached-storage/q/loc/101/206805167.html

Cheers!
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:15 pm

I have a QNAP TS109 Pro II 1TB Samsung F1 running Twonky 4.4.9. It works with my Roku M1001 (living room) and Pinnacle R1000 (bedroom) - both on 3.0.52 - no problem.

Previous version of Twonky have also worked 4.4.4, 4.4.6.

Very happy with the NAS. Previously ran Twonky on a Lacie Ethernet Big Disk which kept freezing - probably due to memory/cpu issues. The Lacie stopped freezing after I disabled Twonky on it.

Twonky also works with RokuRemote so I can countrol both my sound bridges from an iPod Touch.

The QNAP also handles video streaming to 2 PS3's in lounge and bedroom.
 
a.roling
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:51 pm

I Got a nas .... and this one isnt working

Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:04 pm

I bought a storcenter xi2 it has as i was told a build in twonky mediaserver... how can i make it work with my m1001... sometimes i see that an incompatible server is foud, sometimes i see just the server name and the connection failes ...is there anyone who knows how to get this combination working....

thanks for any help....
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Re: I Got a nas .... and this one isnt working

Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:45 am

a.roling wrote:
I bought a storcenter xi2 it has as i was told a build in twonky mediaserver... how can i make it work with my m1001... sometimes i see that an incompatible server is foud, sometimes i see just the server name and the connection failes ...is there anyone who knows how to get this combination working....

thanks for any help....


If you are running Twonky 4.4.4 or later you will need to upgrade your Roku to firmware 3.0.52 beta.

I have 3.0.52 on a M1001 and R1000 and have used it with Twonky 4.4.4, 4.4.6, and 4.4.9 with no problems.
Roku M1001 3.0.52, Pinnacle R1000 3.0.52, QNAP TS109 Pro II 1TB running Twonky 4.4.9.
 
a.roling
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:51 pm

storcenter ix2

Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:54 am

thanks for the reply......,
but i already have installed the latest 52beta...

:(
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Re: storcenter ix2

Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:39 am

a.roling wrote:
thanks for the reply......,
but i already have installed the latest 52beta...

:(


What version is your Twonky on the NAS? Have you looked at the admin pages - http//yourNas:9000 ? Can you see anything in the client list? If you see your device but it's incorrectly identified you can change it in the drop down to Roku Soundbridge although this isn't usually necessary.

The other thing you can do is install twonky on a PC using a 30 day trial version and play around with that to see if it works, if it does it's your NAS.

You can find twonky-roku stuff on the Twonky forum as well.

http://www.twonkyforum.com/
Roku M1001 3.0.52, Pinnacle R1000 3.0.52, QNAP TS109 Pro II 1TB running Twonky 4.4.9.
 
a.roling
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:51 pm

Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:01 am

thanks again Tsparc,

on a pc twonky of firefly work ok no problem...
so for me its the way the nas handles the protocols....or the way roku handles the nas configuration.....

any suggestions... i ve set my hope on RokuPatrick....
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:16 am

@ a.roling
i ve set my hope on RokuPatrick....

Regrettably 'Patrick' left Roku over 2 years ago -
Followed 12 months later by 'Mike' -
Two really great Guys who are sadly missed by many of us . . . . and has left a massive hole in both the development and Support side of the SoundBridge.
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:35 am

@ a.roling

In that case I can just about guarantee that the problem is not with your Roku but with your NAS. Over UPNP your Roku has no idea what it is communicating with NAS or PC wise. Did you check what version of Twonky the NAS is running? Are you able to access the admin web page i mentioned above?

Can't really help unless I/we know more about the Twonky on your NAS. Also some NAS's simply don't have fully configurable implementations of Twonky embedded in them. I'm assuming the NAS is properly networked and you can see it from your PC or other machines.
Roku M1001 3.0.52, Pinnacle R1000 3.0.52, QNAP TS109 Pro II 1TB running Twonky 4.4.9.
 
g0pkh
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Essex Nr. Stansted Airport.. UK

Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:48 am

Hi Guys.

I am still successfully using a couple of old Buffalo Linkstation II's
(mipsel). Running Openlink firmware.

Each has 2 instances of firefly running, which give me 4 independant servers. One of these servers has 10,000 tracks on now, and the whole lot run very fast. Serving to about 6 Soundbridges now.

It is quite a Linux learning curve however. But all details are on the Linkstation Wikis.

If anyone is interested, I have some documentation I can offer.

Pete
Soundbridge and Photobridge repairs offered.
contact via PM or hillyp02-roku@yahoo.co.uk
 
a.roling
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:51 pm

StorCenter ix2

Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:14 am

The Storcenter ix2 is build by iomega (EMC) and it is not possible to get in the mediaserver part of the linuxmachine . it is not accesible as far as i know... for the rest it's a good NAS....
If there is anyone out there who might know how to hack it or how to get the d(peep).. thing working ...with my soundbridge please reply...

thanks anyway.....
 
tsparc
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: London

Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:07 am

@ a.roling
Are you not able to access the Twonky admin web page?
http://yourNasIp:9000

When I had my Lacie it was not enabled by default - I had to ask Support for it. Perhaps if you contact the vendor they can do something similar. Otherwise your best bet is to search the twonky Forum.

Unfortunately a quick search on the Twonky forum http://www.twonkyforum.com/index.php

reveals several people complaining about this type of thing.

From what I've read it should have an iTunes server - why not try that?
Roku M1001 3.0.52, Pinnacle R1000 3.0.52, QNAP TS109 Pro II 1TB running Twonky 4.4.9.
 
a.roling
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:51 pm

StorCenter ix2

Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:51 am

Thanks again for your reply,

1. My nas is not responding on port 9000..... :)
2. I asked for support on this .... iomega still has no answer.
3. the itunes server is not compatible with the soundbridge.

so the only hope i have is another firmware update from the Roku_boys

thanks again... !!!!!

Andre(w)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests