Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
jcfleming
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:03 am

Seagate BlackArmor NAS 220 and M1000

Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:07 am

I'm thinking of purchasing a Seagate Blackarmor NAS 220 to server as the media server for my M1000. I'll be using it for hosting all of my photos, videos and music and want to make sure that the M1000 integrates with this device and that I'll be able to play my MP3 files directly from the NAS which does provide iTunes and UPNP/DLNA media servers. I'll be using this device to house all of my music and will be ripping all of my CDs to the device, so there will be a lot.

Let me know if anyone has any experience with this device and if there are any integration issues with the M1000. Thanks.

John
 
64jazzbass
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:40 am

Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:56 am

I just got my ReadyNAS Duo last night and set-up was fairly easy--configured for both DLNA and iTunes servers. I think I'm going to go the DLNA route because of the bugginess of Firefly. Still trying to figure it out...any suggestions?

First and foremost, I have questions about how to organize the music media folder on the ReadyNAS....if I intend to use the ReadyNAS as the main music service and have little to no music on my clients, how do I set-up of Playlists that each Roku can access? Thanks!


ukanalyst wrote:
I have recently purchased a Netgear ReadyNAS DUO which I've upgraded to 1GB RAM and stuck a couple of fast 1TB HDDs in there. The unit comes as standard with Firefly installed.

I had a couple of headaches during setup as the Firefly server tends to crash if you try and access the config while it's cataloguing your collection.

I have approx 10,000 tracks and around 2,000 m3u playlists and the thing flies! It's an absolute gem and a perfect compliment to my M1000 and M1001

Dave
 
64jazzbass
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:40 am

Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:30 am

It tends to stop for no reason when I use it on my PC. Haven't yet used on NAS yet.

bregent wrote:
> I think I'm going to go the DLNA
>route because of the bugginess of
>Firefly. Still trying to figure it out...
>any suggestions?

What Firefly bugs are you referring to?
I don't have a ReadyNAS so maybe you mean something specific to that NAS. FWIW, I find OEM DLNA servers much buggier than Firefly and do not work nearly as well with the Soundbridge.
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:59 am

64jazzbass wrote:
It tends to stop for no reason when I use it on my PC. Haven't yet used on NAS yet.

Try it, I bet you'll be positively surprised. Since the last restart Firefly svn-1696 has been running flawlessly on my NAS (different make and model than yours) for 70 days now.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:02 am

bregent wrote:
FWIW, I find OEM DLNA servers much buggier than Firefly and do not work nearly as well with the Soundbridge.

Seconded. DLNA seems to be a bunch of guidelines - it certainly does not guarntee that product A will work with product B, any more than UPnP will. I use Firefly for my SoundBridges - very stable and runs for months on end. Only reason it doesn't go longer is because when on vacation I power down my fileserver.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
scruss
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:53 am

using a Sheevaplug - Marvell: SheevaPlug Development Kit - with some success. The files are being served from a DNS-323 mounted as a Samba share.

Had no success at all with the version of firefly that's supposed to be included in the DNS-323's new firmware add-ons.
Hug a wind turbine today!
 
g8trtim
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:13 pm

Roku + Iomega Home Media NAS = cheap solution

Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:38 pm

I'm using an Iomega Home Media NAS (<$200) to serve DLNA and iTunes library to my Roku Radio, macbook, xbox 360, and iPhone. The Iomega Home Media NAS supports DLNA (and UPNP AV) and iTunes out of the box.

Luckily my house is wired for gigabit LAN so the only device on wireless are laptops, iPhones, and the Roku Radio. Aside from the re-buffering issues I'm having with the Roku, the NAS is a solid solution thats super cheap. My macbook connects to the NAS reliably and I can watch videos on my living room tv via the xbox 360.

If you want to read more about my home setup, please visit my blog post http://tshootr.tumblr.com/post/217325350/built-cheap-whole-home-media-system

If you have other questions, hit me up on PM or twitter@timmartino
 
BeamMeUp
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:41 am
Location: Germany

Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:38 am

I´m using a Buffalo LinkStation Live LS-CHL with embedded iTunes Server over LAN and it works fine with my original (not pinnacle branded) SoundBridge M1001.

I have installed the open source java program "Soundbridge Commander" http://sourceforge.net/projects/sbcommander for remote controlling without remote controller.

If you have questions? Send me PM (english/german).
 
chris2
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:38 am

Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:54 am

Hi
Working with Siemens SE366 WLAN router and could connect without any problems using WPA encryption key! - In the network a QNAP T109II Turbo Station as fileserver and iTunes as Media Server installed on it. Also there no interceptions - everything works fine: Great product this ROKU Soundbridge M1001 !!!!!!!!!!!
 
WetTechHead
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:13 pm

Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:49 am

The TS-109 is out of production. I just ordered a TS-110. I hope it works just as well. I have an M2000 in my living room, a Soundbridge Radio in my bedroom, and an M1000 in the basement workout room.
Hit Meck
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:35 pm

I have been a great fan of QNAP products for many years, and believe them to be the finest manufactured NAS boxes for SOHO and serious advanced home users. Expensive, but superb build-quality, and worth every penny!

Enjoy - :wink:
 
WetTechHead
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:13 pm

Wed Dec 23, 2009 7:55 pm

Just set up the QNAP TS-110. Took a little while (instructions suck), but everything is working great. Fast and sexy!
Hit Meck
 
ime95mos
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:23 pm

Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:38 pm

Anybody that use this one for the M1001/M1000 ?

http://www.netgear.com/Products/Storage ... S2110.aspx

Regards
Markus
 
WetTechHead
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:13 pm

Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:01 pm

[quote="ime95mos"]Anybody that use this one for the M1001/M1000 ?

http://www.netgear.com/Products/Storage ... S2110.aspx

Regards
Markus[/quote]

Nope. Reviews don't look so good.
Hit Meck
 
richrpd
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:43 pm
Location: Basingstoke

Re: Using a NAS or networked hard drive? Tell us about it.

Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:00 am

I know that this is a bit off topic and I'm probably being more than ambitious but could this be used to hook up hard drives without having my PC switched on the same way as the Linksys NSLU2?
http://www.ibood.com/uk/en/product_spec ... e_Support/

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests