Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Stream The World feeds for CBS stations

Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:46 pm

Hi All:

I've located two general url formats that work (without stuttering) on my computer for the 60 or so CBS "Stream The World" stations. They're only at 32 kbps, but better than nothing, for now. For each station, one feed plays on Real Player, the other on Windows Media Player on my computer. Thought I had the "Stream The World" problem solved (at least for the moment) until I found that none of the feeds play on my Soundbridge. Wondering why... Here are some examples, for CBS stations that people have been asking about lately:

WBZ 1030 AM Boston, MA
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://64.235.213.14/WBZAMDIALUPCMP3

WCBS 880 AM New York, NY
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://64.235.213.14/WCBSAMDIALUPCMP3

WFAN 660 AM New York, NY
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://64.235.213.14/WFANAMDIALUPCMP3

KROQ 106.7 FM Los Angeles, CA
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://64.235.213.14/KROQFMDIALUPCMP3

WXRT 93.1 FM Chicago, IL
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://64.235.213.14/WXRTFMDIALUPCMP3

Since most of the CBS stations seem to work with this general format, perhaps the crew at Roku can check these feeds somehow for compatibility (such as in a future firmware upgrade)...
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:00 pm

Just a bump to inquire whether anyone has found out why these feeds play fine on computers (using Windows Media Player and Real Player), but won't play on our SoundBridges. One of the other boards I follow has been actively discussing these stations and their urls lately. I counted 104 of these CBS "Stream The World" stations on one of the other online station directories (including WBZ, WCBS, WFAN, KROQ and WXRT), and more stations seem to be converting over to that streaming format, so it's a substantial issue, I suppose...
 
ralphjb
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 7:18 am

Works on my PC

Thu May 17, 2007 7:22 am

Ok. This works on my PC with Windows Media Player. I shall have to try now with the Roku Radio.

Unfortunately, a couple of stations I listen too have gone to this CBS streamtheworld format.
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Thu May 17, 2007 8:18 am

As a general update, two forms of urls for these CBS/Stream The World stations now appear to work universally on our SoundBridges, but only after the latest firmware update:

http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.asx

I've been entering these stations into the system; will enter in more as I find them...
 
lovnrckets
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 8:15 pm

Stream The World/CBS Radio

Mon Jun 11, 2007 8:22 pm

For the record, I am disgusted by what CBS radio did with their piece of garbage STW Flash Player. Some of my fav URL's like KXTE and KROQ are CBS property. I want to thank GCD for the dialup links, this is helpful. Does anyone have the link for the high-bandwidth option yet?
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:33 pm

A small development in the situation involving the CBS "Stream The World" station feeds. When using the popup flash player on a computer, you can toggle back and forth between 32 kbps and 64 kbps streams, so clearly they have high and low bandwidth streams available.

Found out today that (at least on a computer) the following stream formats will play a stuttered 64 kbps stream using both Windows Media Player and WinAmp:

http://64.235.213.22:443/WIPAM?.wma
http://64.235.213.22/WIPAM?.wma
http://64.235.213.22:443/WIPAM?.wma
http://64.235.213.22/WIPAM
http://64.235.213.22/WIPAM?.asx
http://64.235.213.22:80/WIPAM
http://64.235.213.22:3690/WIPAM

And the following will play a stuttered 96 kbps feed:
http://64.235.213.12/KROQFM

Wondering if this is just a codec compatibility problem that can be solved with an appropriate firmware upgrade, since I remember that the 32 kbps feeds stuttered at one time on my computer, before a firmware update made them playable on my SoundBridge.

Also found something interesting about the url format on the Sonos forum:

The stream address looks like this:
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... 9601458531
1169601458531 is the number of milliseconds since 1 Jan. 1970 00:00.
To make this work we would need a variable in the favourite URLs to get this timecode.

I'm not at home to check these out right now, but I presume that none of these feeds will play on our SoundBridges. Maybe this will help figure out usable 64/96 kbps feed urls. I'll keep monkeying around with this as time permits...
 
Bill R
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: RI

wxrt

Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:30 pm

has anyone figured this out yet? I bought this just for WXRT...HELP ME!!!!!
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:55 am

http://64.235.213.163:80/WXRTFMDIALUPCMP3 seems to work on the computer (not at home right now to try it out on the Roku). They keep changing some of the feeds around...
 
dhkeller
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:47 pm

Hoping to make KITS Live105 work

Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:53 pm

I too am interested in playing a CBS Radio station, and they've been monkeying with the format again this week.

I'd really like to make KITS (Live105 in San Francisco) work, and appreciate the group effort here. I'll let you know if I have any success.
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:02 am

 
dhkeller
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:47 pm

Thanks for KITS, but ...

Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:56 pm

Yes, I had tried that (and I can listen on my PC), but I meant that I was hoping to play this opn the SoundBridge, which does not seem to work as yet .... tips?
 
gcd0865
Topic Author
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:41 am

The three good urls that I know of for KITS are:

http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.pls
http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/ ... DIALUP.asx
http://64.235.213.163/KITSFMDIALUPCMP3

I'm not at home to check these right now, but I was just listening to KITS a few nights ago on my Soundbridge, probably using the url in the Radio Roku database (which I think is the first one above), and it worked fine.

Were you trying that same url, or a local preset on your own Soundbridge? If using a local ("preset") url, maybe a minor typo in the url? Do you have the most recent version of the Roku firmware downloaded to your Soundbridge? That's all I can think of right now...
 
Sling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:06 pm

The solution

Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:18 pm

Here is what I did to get these streamtheworld stations to play on the soundbridge. First of all, I couldn't have done it without all the info in these posts.
I took the link to the .pls file, and was prompted to save it (which I did). Next open iTunes and create a new (or use existing) playlist. Drag the saved .pls file into the iTunes playlist. There will most likely be three servers in the .pls file that import into iTunes.
This worked for KLSX in LA to hear Adam Carolla, Leikis, etc. after FreeFM left the Phoenix market.

Hope this helps!

Sling
 
mochouinard
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:29 pm

Re: Stream The World/CBS Radio

Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:39 pm

lovnrckets wrote:
For the record, I am disgusted by what CBS radio did with their piece of garbage STW Flash Player. Some of my fav URL's like KXTE and KROQ are CBS property. I want to thank GCD for the dialup links, this is helpful. Does anyone have the link for the high-bandwidth option yet?


I'm one of the dev that worked with CBS to setup their new streaming platform. Why do you think the Dialup version work with your devices... It because CBS especially asked the dialup stream be decrypted for you guys. So be alittle more considerate at CBS. You guys are not paying the $$$ it cost for you to get your stream. Cost per listener is very high for them compared to terrestrial radio. They would give you PCM uncompress stream if they could... But as much STW is trying to offer the service at the lowest cost on the market, but there is so much we can do to have a reliable streaming.
 
kagalbreth
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 1:36 pm

Looking for any way to get STW.

Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:52 pm

I don't care what quality stream I can get for WCBS, KNX or KCBS because they are news only. Any help?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests