Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
alt_roku
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:27 pm

BBC radio stopped working

Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:32 am

All of my main BBC radio links have stopped working over the past month.

Currently using:

BBC Radio 1
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/wm_asx/aod/radio1_hi.asx

BBC Radio 2
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/wm_asx/aod/radio2_hi.asx

BBC Radio 3
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/wm_asx/aod/radio3_hi.asx

BBC Radio 4 FM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/wm_asx/aod/radio4.asx

BBC 5 Live
http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/live/live.asx

BBC 5 Live Extra
http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/live/live.asx

They always took 30secs or so to buffer but now nothing.

I've been using radioroku.com and these seem to be the streams they recommend too.

I'm based in London so should be no probs!

Any help?

Thanks
 
stevee
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 8:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:51 pm

If you access the BBC Radio Player via the web you are greeted with the message

"We are experiencing severe technical problems, and regret that many programmes are unavailable. We are working to restore normal service. See station websites for alternative links"

I've seen this message for about 2 weeks and have had trouble finding shows on Listen Again. However, during the same period, on occasion I've been able to get ASX feeds to work in the States where normally they are not available due to geographic restrictions

Now generally the WMA links are not provided with Radio Player itself. But if they are having issues with the Radio Player in general. Perhaps the WMA links are working either....

I'm US based so can't check many of your feeds but 6Music and BBC7 are working just fine on my Soundbridge.

Do any of the links work in Media Player. If Windows can't play them, then either they are down or you're not able reach them (Firewall, ISP restriction)
M1000, M1001, NSLU2, Firefly, Win7, Slimserver,
uSirius
 
alt_roku
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:27 pm

Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:26 am

Thanks Stevee

BBC radio player is working fine via the default Real player links on BBC site via PC and I can access all listen again shows no problem.

I can see the same error message as you at the top of their radio player:

"We are experiencing severe technical problems, and regret that many programmes are unavailable. We are working to restore normal service. See station websites for alternative links."

None of the BBC 1-4 WMA links are working either in BBC's own player or via stand alone WMP on my PC - I've checked with friends in UK and they are working for them, is anyone else having probs in UK?

BBC6
http://www.bbc.co.uk/6music/ram/6music_hi.asx

BBC7
http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc7/realplayer/bbc7_hi.asx

BBC5 live
http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/live/live_int.asx

BBC5 Live extra
http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/live/live ... ra_int.asx

are fine via Soundbridge and PC using WMA on those links!

As my PC and soundbridge both fail on the BBC1-4 links and friends can get it I will check my router.

Would be good to know if others are having probs.

I'm using a Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT v23 SP2 firmware.
 
stevee
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 8:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:11 am

I don't know how the BBC restricts the feeds by geography but its possible that they have a list of 'good' IP addresses.

Each ISP has a unique IP seed (XXX.XXX) and its just possible that if you're not using a 'common' ISP that they are not on the list so the BEEB assumes you not in the UK.

Check a friend who has the same ISP as you!

The BBC has used this ISP restriction method on some of its Broadband TV trials so its reasonable to assume that they could use it on Audio.

The symptons you mention are almost identical to reality for us expats.

Except that I do get the 5 Live international feed when they are no copyright restrictions

Try a IP locator such as http://www.ip-adress.com/ to find out where the BBC thinks you are!
M1000, M1001, NSLU2, Firefly, Win7, Slimserver,
uSirius
 
alt_roku
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:27 pm

Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:54 am

I checked my IP address and it's 100% in the UK, also I'm using Tiscali which is one of the biggest UK ISPs.

I've tried checking my router and firewall and the problem doesn't seem to lie there. I'm convinced that its someting to do with the BBC's own "severe technical difficulties". However, I'm going to try with another router when I get back from holiday in a couple of weeks. I'll up date then if the problem has been cured already!

Thanks for your help stevee

Would still be good to know if any other UK users are having probs.
 
richardgatt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 4:00 am

Sun Jul 29, 2007 4:07 am

I used to pick up BBC1-4 in HK until about 3 weeks ago. Tried everything, but absolutely no joy. No probs with 5 Live or 1Xtra.

I am using

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/wm_asx/aod/radio1_hi.asx

I suspect it's the beeb. I hope they sort it as HK radio is.......
 
stub1234
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:14 am

Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:31 am

I'm also having problems with my BBC links. Can't seem to get BBC Radio 1,2,3 or 4, but ok with BBC 6 Music.

i'm based in the Uk as well. Any ideas how to fix it?!?
 
Loony Jetman
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:40 am

Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:43 am

Has anyone worked this out yet?

I've only just got my Soundbridge Radio and it's very disappointing not being able to play BBC stations!
 
stevee
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 8:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:47 pm

The most reliable solution for users outside the UK is to use Slimserver and Alien BBC running on a computer elsewhere on the network

With this you can access all live feeds plus the Listen Again 7 day service

BPA has excellent instructions, including downloading his patched version of Slimserver at http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.ph ... 6&start=37

Steve
M1000, M1001, NSLU2, Firefly, Win7, Slimserver,
uSirius
 
Loony Jetman
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:40 am

Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:45 pm

Thanks.

However, I'm really just asking if anyone's worked out why these URLs aren't working, and if it's a temporary or a permanent thing.
 
Bivvy
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:56 pm

Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:13 am

Got the same problem - can't get the BBC feeds to play on my Soundbridge, but they work fine on my PC. :x

Both the Soundbridge and the PC are on a wireless network in my house, so presumably to the outside world they will be seen on the same IP address (that of the ADSL modem/router).

Is there anything I can do to debug the problem? Anyone worked out what's gone wrong?

Thanks

Chris
 
Loony Jetman
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:40 am

Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:56 am

I got the new software download today (3.0) and in the browse section it now lists Radio 4, so I'm hopeful this is just a temporary glitch.
 
mr rusty
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:09 am
Location: chorley, lancashire UK

Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:37 am

I can confirm what did work, now doesn't. The BBC seem to be very pro real audio. wonder ifthat's something to do with it.
 
Loony Jetman
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:40 am

Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:16 am

Would be helpful if someone from Roku could comment. I know there's a response in the other thread on BBC feeds, but an update would be great!
 
RokuLyndon

Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:17 am

There's a new beta, 3.0.45, that has a fix for the bbc issue. Please try the beta, and reply with results.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests