Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
willardd
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:26 am

Help with a station

Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:32 am

Hey everyone,

sorry to be the uber noob here but i tried and tried and tried but im at my wits end in regards to getting a station to play on my soundbridge either as a preset or a favourite.

Station: 2UE 954 Australia
Website: www.2ue.com.au
Website Streaming link: http://streaming.mytalk.com.au/2ue
Additional Roku Radio Link: mms://streaming.mytalk.com.au/2ue

basically i can't get anywhere past 'connecting to station' on the front of my soundbridge.

both links work on my computer just not on my soundbridge

Regards,

Dallas
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:01 am

Hi Dallas,

welcome to the forums and many thanks for the information.

2UE apparently have made some changes since the station was added to Radio Roku. They now use Windows Media Audio 9 Voice which unfortunately is not supported by the SoundBridge. 2UE (Radio Roku ID #15424) will thus have to be deleted from the database.

Greetings
dupondt
(Radio Roku Moderator)
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
droletbe
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:25 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Help with a station

Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:39 pm

Saddly, it seems to be the case for many other stations.
For example, this ones plays French classic singers: mms://vipnrj.yacast.net/nostalgie_webradio07
It works find on RadioRoku PC player, but does not work on Soundbridge...

Bernard
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Help with a station

Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:21 am

Bernard,

Nostalgie now use Windows Media Audio 10 Professional which the SoundBridge can't handle.

The following audio URL should work: http://vipicecast.yacast.net/nostalgie_chansons_francaises_64.m3u.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Help with a station

Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:12 am

dupondt wrote:
They now use Windows Media Audio 9 Voice...

dupondt wrote:
Nostalgie now use Windows Media Audio 10 Professional...

Sadly quite a few broadcasters do not understand the limitations / costs of different types of WMA encoding. Both WMA 9 Voice and WMA 10 Professional are expensive for radio manufacturers to support in their products with additional license fees needing to be paid. Almost no radios in the market support these codecs unless they connect to the broadcasters' streams via a PC which can do the necessary transcoding.

To those wishing to receive these stations I can only suggest lobbying the radio station to ask them to change to a more universally acceptable variant of WMA.

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests