Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

BBC Radio 1,2,3,4,5,6 & 7 stop working - Again

Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:19 pm

Help Please...

My Presets for BBC Stations stopped working a couple of weeks ago.

I can find the stations in Radio Roku and I can play them fine on my PC.

But, "Play on Soundbridge" or "Save as Preset" and then manually try and play has no success. I just get many retries.

Other stations including my favourite "Radio Nigel" play fine.

My software is apparently up to date Ver 3.0.49

This happened a few months ago and a "Google" found some alternative URL's that seemed to work - but I don't seem to be able to repeat the "Google", and, as I say, the stations play Ok on my PC?

Any clues

Cheers
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Re: BBC Radio 1,2,3,4,5,6 & 7 stop working - Again

Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:41 pm

doclatham wrote:
My software is apparently up to date Ver 3.0.49

Let me inform you that your firmware is certainly not up to date (despite what your SoundBridge is telling you) -
You should use either 3.0.44 or 3.0.52 (which is the updated Beta release of 3.0.49 that you mention).

Be ASSURED that the Stream-URLs for BBC Radio 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 are indeed All playing on my SoundBridges (tested with both 3.0.44 & 3.0.52) as I respond to your post at 22:40 BST.
 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:41 am

Hi Thanks for the prompt response.

So the BBC stations only work on this latest beta version?

I've found the Beta download site, so I'll give tihs a try.

Thanks in advance

David
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:41 am

doclatham wrote:
So the BBC stations only work on this latest beta version?

That's not what I stated . . . .
I wrote > "Be ASSURED that the Stream-URLs for BBC Radio 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 are indeed All playing on my SoundBridges with both 3.0.44 & 3.0.52 :wink:
 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:36 pm

Hi

I now have software version 3.0.52 (according to my Soundbridge) and I still can't get any of the BBC Radio stations, although many other stations do work. The BBC stations work fine on my PC within RadioRoku.

Just to check my understanding, you are saying that they do work for you on 3.0.52?

As an observation - Radio Nigel works and is described as MP3
Anther station (Radio Paradise?) - described as AAC - doesn't work either

Any other clues as to what I'm missing

David
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:54 pm

Yes, as at 07:50 BST all BBC Radio 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 stations are playing on my SoundBridges with both 3.0.44 & 3.0.52 :roll:

Check that the URLs you have as presets are exactly the same as those shown as the "top station" in the edit widget for each BBC station :wink:
 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:33 pm

Hi

Still no luck. The URL's seem to be the same, I have even cut and paste the URL for Radio 1 from the RadioRoku Edit Box into the web interface for the Soundbridge. Still get multiple retries, but the same station plays fine on my PC.

For example: Here is the URL for Radio 1, I've cut and pasted this string from the SB web interface

"http://bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1.asx"

I've even tried turning it off and back on again!

Cheers

DAvid
 
rob_c
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:52 pm

Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:57 pm

I seem to be having the same issues with the BBC stations
However..
Soundbridge Radio with ver 3.0.51 works OK
but
M1000 with 3.0.52 just keeps on trying

Any more ideas?
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:28 pm

Have you tried reverting back to firmware v 3.0.44 . . . . (these latest BBC stream-URLs also work A/OK with this "Standard firmware version) :wink:
 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:11 am

How do you revert to a previous version?

David
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:21 am

First switch your SoundBridge into stand-by mode. Wait 10 seconds.
Unplug your SoundBridge from mains power.

Now “Boot into Safe Modeâ€
 
doclatham
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:46 am
Location: UK

Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:14 am

Have reverted back to 3.0.44 and all sorted

most BBC Radio stations now play fine, including radio 6, which is the only one I really wanted.

R5 and R7 still don't work, but i don't think I have the correct URL's for them, I just guessed them from the format of the others.

Thanks for all the help

David

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests