Roku Direct Publisher

Roku Direct Publisher - the easiest way to create a great TV experience. Learn more about how to create a Roku channel and share your experiences with others.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Zelkowo
Visitor

Video Help

Hello:  I'm brand new to Roku DPF, and having a blast with it.  My expertise is in data / JSON, so creating the feed along with a supporting database has gone somewhat smoothly.

However, I know literally nothing about video.  Formats, codecs, etc.  

Does Roku recommend any software that will take a raw or formatted video file and 
1. Render the file correctly 
2.  Provide the metadata to place into the feed (i.e. format, bitrate).

Ive only tried once, but the .mp4 file I have uploaded is not playing.  When I use the stream tester channel, I get the mallformed content error.

Note:  For testing, I'm using a basic webhost and not a CDN.  I certainly plan on placing video content on a CDN, but for testing a single file, will a basic shared hosting server suffice?  It streams just fine in a browser.  Thanks!

Z
0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Video Help

I use Handbrake but you can use your video converter of choice.

You can find Roku video specifications here: https://github.com/rokudev/docs/blob/master/develop/specifications/audio-video-support.md

I use an MP4 file using an H.264(2.5Mbps) for video and ACC(192Kbps) for audio.  

I have an Access database that lists all of my video files and their respective metadata fields.  I use Access to then export my JSON file using the appropriate fields.
0 Kudos
Zelkowo
Visitor

Thanks for the info, I'll be giving handbreak a try.

I'm using MySQL & PHP to create my feed.  All the data entry is "manual" using PHPMyAdmin, but my next task will be building a nice little web based UI to easily add new content.
0 Kudos
Zelkowo
Visitor