Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 31
 
leenuxg33k
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:38 am

jm_maclaren wrote:
mmm. Can you run mythroku from the command line and post the log if its not too large.
What is the protocol version of your backend
Also does the backend say much.
I have often found a segmentation fault reqires a reboot of the roku, its not very forgiving of errors


So it seems it was only one show that caused the segfault when viewed through mythRoku. I assumed it was a bigger problem since it played back fine via MPlay upnp on the roku. Unfortunately I already deleted the recording that was causing the problem.
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:05 pm

I have a newer version that handles commercial skipping more accurately - at least with advancing the stream. It's not automated so just hit the N button when the commercials start to go to the end.

On my web site you will see the need to have a mysql user account without a password. I have tried and cannot get the password part to work despite having followed the directions on the mysql website. As taking off the password is no big deal as you an limit the access to a subnet I am not going to worry about it.

You can add a password back to the access from the backend itself by
set password for 'mythtv'@'localhost' =Password('password of your choice');

This means the roku or other computers on the subnet can acess w/o a password.

My backend is 192.168.1.150 so if you create a user mythtv on that ip and set a password, then the database is password protected only on the backend. I ddi this by
grant all privileges on mythconverg.* to 'mythtv'@'192.168.1.150';
and then
set password for 'mythtv'@'192.168.1.150' =Password('password of your choice');

This overides the removal of password for access from all computers on the subnet. Not sure if this makes sense but I have the database set up so user mythtv is password protected for access on the backend no matter how you log in and not for access from other computers on the subnet.

I have some very terse notes on how to do the admin on mysql, all of this was taken from the mysql online documentation. It is specific to versions 4.1 and above.

I am looking at live tv too, currently you can watch whatever the live tv your tuner is set to but can't change the channel. If you have multiple tuners I am not sure which one you get.

If you would like a version with the livetv option commented out let me know via the forum
Enjoy,
James
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:39 am

Any feedback on my latest attempt at commercial skipping?
 
jeffw
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:08 pm

Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:10 pm

I hope to try it soon. My Roku is still dead until I replace one of the regulators on the motherboard.
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:27 am

Jim:

Been out of town.

I am at protocol 33. It errors when trying to connect to the DB. Must be some difference in the db layout over 32.

The prior version works with protocol 33.

Thanks for your hard work.

Bob
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:47 pm

Hondo,
I doubt that, I suspect your roku isn't connecting to the database on the master backend. Protocol changes seem to affect the record for each show and change as extra fields are added like the storage volume entry.
We can test this easily. Download from my website the mysql application, compiled for the roku, put it somewhere accesible. telnet to the roku and execute it as
pathtomysql/mysql -umythtv -hbackendmip mythconverg

for me that is

/tmp/mythtv/mysql-5.0.37/client/mysql -h192.168.1.150 -umythtv mythconverg

then if it les you on to the mysql prompt without an error you can check things out



Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 41 to server version: 4.1.20

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql> use mythconverg
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Database changed
mysql> describe recordedseek;
+-----------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+-------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
+-----------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+-------+
| chanid | int(10) unsigned | | PRI | 0 | |
| starttime | datetime | | PRI | 0000-00-00 00:00:00 | |
| mark | bigint(20) | | PRI | 0 | |
| offset | varchar(32) | YES | | NULL | |
| type | int(11) | | PRI | 0 | |
+-----------+------------------+------+-----+---------------------+-------+
5 rows in set (0.03 sec)

mysql>

what is impottant is your recordedseek table in protocol 33 should look like mine. If not we have a problem.

My gut feeling is you cannot connect without a pasword

is so on the maser backend use the mysql table and then
select * from user;
will show accounts hosst passwordsz etc. The access from your roku ip must exist and show no passord.

It goes without saying that the mythroku.roku file should have data germaine to your setup

Let me if any of this rambling helps
James
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:57 am

There are still some loose ends I am fiddling with. For some recordings the backend dies when I try to play them. I know this plagues the windows myth player too as the developer and I have both been frustrated hy the backends fragility. I will start looking into it. I also plan to add bookmarks since I want to be able to mark where I am and resume playback there. I am also fiddling with livetv but that will be a while. That's all for now. I appreciate feedback and will take requests commensurate with my c++ programming ability! I got a 2nd used roku that I replaced the power supply on and it seems to be just fine.
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:35 pm

jim - I have tried many times to test with the mysql on the Roku.

It always complains about some path no being correct. Is their anything hardocded in the file that you asked that I download that is dependent on your environment?

Guess i'm just not up to this without some other suggestions.

Thanks

Bob
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:03 pm

Its just the client part of mysql compiled on the roku so I don't see why it would need libraries you don't have on yous. I have a c++ code that does some of the same stuff. I;m away right now,so I'll put it on my web later on.

When you connected to the mysql server on the master backend and looked at the user records did the entry 'mythtv'@'roku ip#' have nothing in the password field?
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:30 am

Password is blank for a user I created called roku that is at 192.168.1.104

Bob
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:51 am

did you set the db userid as roku in the mythtroku.roku script?
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:58 pm

Yes
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:49 am

some things to check
does your .mythtv/mysql.txt list the true host ip or just locahost. It should reflect the latter
can you run mythtv-setup ans set the host ip rather than the default localhost

restart the backend and mysql servers and try again.

The mysql executable: Can you post the error when you run it from the command line on your roku. I might need to upload a shared libary I am not sure.
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:42 pm

Mythroku.roku

SXPATH=`echo "$0" | sed 's/\/Tivo.roku$//'`
"$SXPATH/mythroku.app" -settingsdir=/mnt/flash1/tmp -backend=192.168.1.105 -dbuser roku

mysql.txt

DBHostName=192.168.1.105
DBUserName=mythtv
DBPassword=mythtv
DBName=mythconverg
DBType=QMYSQL3

# Set the following if you want to use something other than the
# machine's real hostname for identifying settings in the database.
# This is useful if your hostname changes often, as otherwise
# you'll need to reconfigure mythtv (or futz with the DB) every time.
# TWO HOSTS MUST NOT USE THE SAME VALUE
#
#LocalHostName=my-unique-identifier-goes-here

# If you want your frontend to be able to wake your MySQL server
# using WakeOnLan, have a look at the following settings:
#
# Set the time the frontend waits (in seconds) between reconnect tries.
# This should be the rough time your MySQL server needs for startup
#WOLsqlReconnectWaitTime=0
#
#
# This is the amount of retries to wake the MySQL server until the frontend
# gives up
#WOLsqlConnectRetry=5
#
#
# This is the command executed to wake your MySQL server.
#WOLsqlCommand=echo 'WOLsqlServerCommand not set'

DB USERS

mysql -uroot mysql -p+-----------------------+--------+------------------+
| Host | User | Password |
+-----------------------+--------+------------------+
| localhost | root | xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx |
| localhost.localdomain | root | xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx |
| localhost.localdomain | | |
| localhost | | |
| localhost | mythtv | |
| localhost.localdomain | mythtv | |
| 192.168.1.% | mythtv | mythtv|
| 192.168.1.104|roku| |
+-----------------------+--------+------------------+
 
hondo
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:43 pm

Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:00 pm

Apr 2 15:44:01 server smbd[7142]: read_data: read failure for 4 bytes to client 192.168.1.104. Error = Connection reset by peer
Apr 2 15:48:02 server smbd[7144]: [2007/04/02 15:48:02, 0] lib/util_sock.c:read_data(534)
Apr 2 15:48:02 server smbd[7144]: read_data: read failure for 4 bytes to client 192.168.1.104. Error = Connection reset by peer
  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 31

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests