Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
chenchen21621
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:11 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:18 am

There seems to be some issue with the live TV button. When you hit it it starts arecording and never stops. I hit the button by mistake last night - it didn't bring up a picture but it set Myth to recording, I didn't realize what it had done until this morning when it had filled up 489gig of drive space and Myth reported that someone was watching LiveTV, ie it was recording.
Any thoughts ?links of londonGreat job though- everything else seems to work as in the past. The version that someone patched to work with Myth .19 had the LiveTV disabled.
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:51 am

I think live tv stays on until exit. If no picture comes up I would need to know what kind of tuner you were using. If you telnet to the roku and run from the command line it will provide some debug info which you can post here. Livetv is tricky especially for the hdhomerun
 
johnk73
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:12 pm

mythroku-4-7-10.zip
MythDora 12.23 (mythtv 0.23, protocol 56)
mysqld 5.1.44
hd1000 firmware 2.0.36
cat /proc/swaps: ... file 131064 ...

mythroku is able to load listings data but when I go to play a program, I see "File open failed" on the HD1000. I assume listings come from mysql and video comes from mythbackend? In the log, it seems to have switched back to using 127.0.0.1 when it accesses port 6543. "path/" in front of the .mpg filename looks bogus as well. I can't find where these are coming from!
My other client works -- mythtv player 0.6 on windows, configured to play from backend.

On the server, I've configured /etc/my.cnf with bind-address=192.168.2.8 and /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt with DBHostName=192.168.2.8 and of course bounced mysqld and mythbackend services. In mythconverg, I tried assigning settings.MasterServerIP = 192.168.2.8 (normally 127.0.0.1), but mythbackend complained that it couldn't find the TV cards.

I have the mysql network user (mythtv@'%') configured with no password, though mythtv@localhost is still 'mythtv' password. When I set both to have a password (adding -dbuser & -dbpass arguments) then oddly it tries to access mysql on 192.168.2.15 (hd1000's IP). I can telnet to mythtbackend port (6543) from the hd1000. When I try to play, /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log doesn't show any activity.

# ./mythroku.app -backend=192.168.2.8 -dbglevel=6 -nolivetv -settingsdir=cache
...
(cmyth)cmyth_conn_connect: agreed on Version 56 protocol
...
JMM currentProgAlfred Hitchcock Presents
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
ButtonStateChgCB:0 <<< I hit "Play Episode" here
in MPLAY:: actionOpenProgInfo 0x100585f4
2011-01-14T00:00:00
2011-01-14T00:30:00
server127.0.0.1
port6543
path/1013_20110114000000.mpg
done callback action
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
BACKEND MESSAGE = UPDATE_FILE_SIZE 1042 2011-01-15T19:00:00 94541270
UPDATE_FILE_SIZE 1042 2011-01-15T19:00:00 94541270
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:20 am

This is most likely due to a protocol change. I will have to take a look. Did you ever have mythroku working?
Dont forget in the mythtv-setup first screen you need to have the actual ip for the backend in both fields. If you don't that would explain the 127.0.0.1 behavior. Check that first
 
johnk73
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:26 pm

I hadn't seen the instructions about setting the IP addresses in the back end. They were both 127.0.0.1; it changed settings.BackendServerIP and MasterServerIP. It lost my recording cards and storage groups, because they attached to host "oracle"; changed them to 192.168.2.8 and they came back. I also updated recordings to have the IP instead of the hostname.

In the mythroku log, the debug lines about server, port, and path are omitted now. Still get "File open failed" onscreen.

JMM currentProgAmerica the Story of Us
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
ButtonStateChgCB:0
in MPLAY:: actionOpenProgInfo 0x10067ea4
2010-05-09T16:00:00
2010-05-09T18:00:00
done callback action

In the mythbackend log I'm still not seeing anything after the protocol negotiation, as if it were never contacted:
2011-01-17 00:31:55.766 MainServer::HandleVersion - Client speaks protocol version 8 but we speak 56!
2011-01-17 00:31:55.767 MainServer, Warning: Unknown socket closing MythSocket(0x8f86bd0)
2011-01-17 00:31:55.799 MainServer::ANN Playback
2011-01-17 00:31:55.800 adding: (none) as a client (events: 0)
2011-01-17 00:32:24.143 AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 1.0 GB w/freq: 15 min

I did a mythconverg dump and looked for more 127.0.0.1 or "oracle". They seemed to be in harmless places -- either client settings or transitory items (mythweb_sessions, settings.DefaultVxmlUrl, displayprofilegroups, inuseprograms, jobqueue, jumppoints, keybindings, phonedirectory).

I also found in the log that mythbackend couldn't find mysql.txt. Many of the scripts get it from ~mythtv/.mythtv but mythbackend wants it in ~mythtv, so I symlinked it. It insisted on a mysql password, so I set one for mythtv@oracle, but left mythtv@'%' without one (what mythroku sees).

I've never had mythroku working. Just got the HD1000 on ebay last week, after losing bids through December. Primarily to play ripped DVD's; I like to keep a buffer of unwatched Netflix DVD's, as we seem to watch movies in spurts. We have a Roku Netflix box and it has radio, Facebook, Flickr and all the other cool apps you guys programmed for the HD1000 years ago. (Way ahead of it's time!) Look at all these apps! http://frequal.com/roku/AllPhotoBridgeApps.html

But mythroku was the reason I chose the HD1000 over WD TV or similar boxes -- specifically to try to get my wife to drop the cable company's DVR and move into the present with commerical skip. I had put a mythtv box in the garage for myself several years ago (because she hogs the DVR in the evening) and have been trying to move her over to it ever since. Watching on a laptop (mythtv player) doesn't do it for her. I tried ReplayTV (commercial skip in the older model I got) but she couldn't stand the lag in changing channels (I hear mythtv has the same problem). I tried putting a splitter on the cable tuner output, so she could switch between that and the ReplayTV, but it was too complex for her and of course wouldn't have worked well for instant recording. The cable company's DVR has that one annoying feature -- instant channel switching. I'm sure they have a signal splitter or something just for it.

First thing I can try is recreating my DB with the 192.168.2.8. I have a good backup.
But I WILL DOWNGRADE if that's what it takes to get mythroku going. I was actually planning to stop upgrading when mythtv player (PC client) stopped working. I've never had luck with the live mythdora CD's, but that would be the fastest way to test it out. I also have a spare hard drive or two lying around and the older versions had this cool autoinstall feature; partitions the hard drive and everything. What mythtv version should I try to get?
Last edited by johnk73 on Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:50 am

There should be no need to downgrade. I do know I need to update the code to work with the higher protocols. The roku works nice on any sd and hd mpeg2 recordings. I only use tvplay on it right now as I switched to the hd pvr whichvrecirds in h.264. Let me dig up the code and make the updates for you. It is only in a couple of places. You'll find livetv slow to start and switch channel. If you want to use it to watch ota hd the hdhomerun and tvplay app work really well. I watched the NFL playoffs on my 100" screen and everyone was wowed. Except with the result. Anyway let me take a look and see if we can get it going.

If you have some development experience I am happy to release the source and the crosscompiling environment I use under ubuntu. Otherwise development on the roku is paunfull.

Looking at your log. Have you given the roku a hostname? The backend seemed to think a host named none wD connecting . The 8 then real protocol is how the roku exchanges first.

James
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:33 pm

Forgot to ask. Do you see a list of recordings and then just selecting one gives that error. If so let me know and also let me know what is the file format. Mythroku has mo problem with ATSC ota files or mpeg recordings from a pvr x50.
 
johnk73
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:42 am

It must have been the hostname; I haven't changed anything else since last night's DB dumpster diving. I added to /etc/hosts, /etc/sysconfig/network (not hostname command yet) and bang it starts playing. I never thought those files very important... It started echoing the server, port, and path again in the log too.

JMM currentProgAlfred Hitchcock Presents
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
mythbrowser rect0,0,1024,576
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
Utils::LoadBitmap() - ./Themes/mythroku//option-win.png
ButtonStateChgCB:0
in MPLAY:: actionOpenProgInfo 0x10056534
2011-01-15T00:00:00
2011-01-15T00:30:00
server192.168.2.8
port6543
path/1013_20110115000000.mpg
(cmyth) MDecoder: NextAudio: Video stream reported size: 0 x 0

This "none" in the backend log went away later, after I ran "hostname" command, but it was working at this point anyway.

2011-01-18 01:00:10.309 MainServer::ANN Playback
2011-01-18 01:00:10.309 adding: (none) as a client (events: 0)
2011-01-18 01:00:10.316 MainServer::HandleAnnounce FileTransfer
2011-01-18 01:00:10.316 adding: (none) as a remote file transfer
2011-01-18 01:00:10.321 ProgramInfo(): Updated pathname '':'' -> '1013_20110115000000.mpg'

However, livetv is crashing mythbackend. I remember that the mythtv-player (for PC) author blogging that he was hesitant about adding support for it for this very reason. But with the 1 minute becheck cron job (default in mythdora anyway), you end up with a program being recorded split in half but other than that it's not a big deal.

On the mythroku screen, I see "Live TV - (No title) {current-date-and-time}" for each of my encoders. The logs don't say much:
JMM currentProgLive Television <-- After selecting encoder and "Please Wait" appears on screen

mythbackend.log:
2011-01-18 02:13:14.396 MainServer::HandleVersion - Client speaks protocol version 8 but we speak 56!
2011-01-18 02:13:14.396 MainServer, Warning: Unknown socket closing MythSocket(0x8b99af8)
2011-01-18 02:13:14.403 MainServer::ANN Playback
2011-01-18 02:13:14.403 adding: roku as a client (events: 0)
(and mythbackend has crashed at this point)


While I am a developer, I'm not eager for another challenge / learning curve for a mythroku environment -- yet. There were two apps that are tempting however. The flickr I'd downloaded was trying to access non-existing hostnames when it actually went to get the photos, e.g. photos5204.flickr.com. (flickr probably changed CDN's since the app was written, or something like that.) So once I read up on their API, I might try fixing the code.
And then the ReplaySix RTVPlayer.app was getting some missing method in a Cascade DLL, as if it were built for the wrong OS version; at least that app has a home (http://www.ipnh.com/roku/), so I can ask the current maintainer.

Of course I have flickr on the netflix Roku box. And the replaytv box is currently being used by our tenant. I'm just wanting to pimp out the HD1000. I tried out HexRadio last night and it had some great eurodance. LiveSpy is cool, though it tends to crash on a bad JPG after awhile, and I putting it into a ScreenSavers subdirectory wasn't enough to get it to show up as one.
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:01 am

livetv is a pain the way it is set up in mythtv. I never found good documentation on the tvchain. I just spent a weekend getting it working again in xbmc (same core library code as mythroku)

My guess is that there is a change in the calling to initiate/play livetv and that nearly always crashed the backend in my experience.
For livetv it is essential to have the backend name and ip in the rokus /etc/hosts file.
There is a fix for this whereby the database can be queried for the backend ip and name but its not in the code you have. You could try that to see if that stops the backend from crashing (long shot).

If you do move to 0.24 there are protocol changes that require recoding the core libraries in mythroku.

So, if your recordings play fine and you are not to bothered about a loss of livetv I won't worry about it.

The other issue I never resolved is sometimes deleting a recording hangs mythroku. I could never figure out why or when this occurred. So, 'Id just power cycle the roku.

If you have a hdhomerun then tvplay is a cool roku app for livetv. If not newegg often has them on sale for ~$50 for the 1 tuner version.

James
 
johnk73
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:04 pm

Adding "192.168.2.8 oracle" to my /etc/hosts didn't help live TV. But it's not a big deal.
I have old PVR-150's and don't have a high-def TV yet, though I guess it would look better on my laptop... I don't have a cable box for the mythtv computer, so am only getting a fraction of the channels anyway. (Another reason to try to get the wife moved over; I'm too cheap to pay for a second cable box.)

I wireshark-captured the working client -- mythtv player 0.6 live TV. But the capture is pretty noisy. Here's some text from the client parts of the conversation. Let me know if you want the whole file.
82 BACKEND_MESSAGE[]:[]UPDATE_FILE_SIZE 1042 2011-01-21T21:00:00 1146014920[]:[]empty
17 GET_FREE_RECORDER
26 3[]:[]192.168.2.8[]:[]6543
83 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]SPAWN_LIVETV[]:[]LiveChain-MythTvPlayer-1295674162[]:[]0[]:[]6
2 ok
33 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]IS_RECORDING
1 0
35 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]FRONTEND_READY
2 ok
34 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]GET _RECORDING
484 DatelineNBC[]:[][]:[]Investigative journalism.[]:[]Newsmagazine[]:[]1006[]:[]6[]:[]KSBY[]:[]KSBY[]:[]/storage2/recordings/1006_20110121212922.mpg[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]1295672400[]:[]1295679600[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]192.168.2.8[]:[]0[]:[]3[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]-2[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]15[]:[]6[]:[]1295674162[]:[]1295679600[]:[]1[]:[]4[]:[]LiveTV[]:[]0[]:[][]:[]EP00019155[]:[]SH000191550000[]:[]1295672400[]:[]0.000000[]:[]1992-03-31[]:[]1[]:[]Default[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]LiveTV[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]0[]:[]0
39 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]GET_FRAMES_WRITTEN
7 0[]:[]0
124 BACKEND_MESSAGE[]:[]SYSTEM_EVENT REC_STARTED CARDID 3 CHANID 1006 STARTTIME 2011-01-21T21:29:22 SENDER 192.168.2.8[]:[]empty
39 QUERY_RECORDER 3[]:[]GET_FRAMES_WRITTEN
...
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:42 am

That is helpful. I just got live tv patched for xbmc and for up to 0.24 trunk. I just have to move the changes in the roku app. I may get some time this weekend. :)
 
johnk73
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:57 am

No rush; this has always been a long-term project for me. The last thing I noticed was audio synchronization is _way_ off. This is a gift of extra video frames from the Hauppauge PVR cards I use. The PC player compensates for it somehow. When I transcode to mp4 (for a portable player) with ffmpeg I use "-async 2" to fix it. I know that transcode jobs can be configured in the back end. I imagine you can even set it to transcode everything. But I don't know if it will keep my commercial markers. I wouldn't trust the commercial skip enough to just edit them out.

I found a mini ITX power supply to fix a dead Roku unit I got (overbid on ebay). Kind of pricey though, $40 delivered. And added a case fan. I'll put that in another forum, but wanted to give everyone hope that you can keep your Roku going forever.
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:30 am

Many users have repaired the power supplies successfully. Matt, who is on regularly, has fixed two of mine that needed a new voltage regulator (u12) on the board. As to the a/v sync. I rarely had that from pvx50 recordings. The roku sdk does not expose the I frames, to resync you can press info twice and that reselects the audio track. I am not sure that there is any other solution. Let me know if that solves the problem.
Best, James
 
jm_maclaren
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Thu May 05, 2011 9:52 am

For some reason I can't get pms to send. So, Andy, drop me an email to my last name at tulane dot edu
James
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: NEW!! version of Mythroku & mythtv 0.20 (Protocols up 32

Thu May 05, 2011 5:46 pm

jm_maclaren wrote:
For some reason I can't get pms to send. So, Andy, drop me an email to my last name at tulane dot edu
James

PMs will sit in your Outbox until the recipient reads them. That may be what you're experiencing.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest