Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
na9d
Topic Author
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

VNC6 Issues

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:32 pm

Hey gang,

Now that I have my power supply replaced and my Roku is happy again, I want to get VNC6 working. It appears to run, but I NEVER get any video - it's just a blank screen. What am I doing wrong? I've reduced the color depth on one machine to 16 bit and still nothing.

Am I just not waiting long enough? If so, how long does it take?

Thanks,

Jon
Roku Soundbridge M2000
Roku Soundbridge M1000
Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB
Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA
3 ReplayTVs
4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)
Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro
2 Vudu VOD Players
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: VNC6 Issues

Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:02 am

na9d wrote:
I want to get VNC6 working.

Great, you've come to the right place! :-)

na9d wrote:
It appears to run, but I NEVER get any video - it's just a blank screen.

Have you tried either the "Easy Installation" or "Installation" instructions from frequal.com?
http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

The Easy Installation option is recommended. Download the helper scripts, edit them to put in your machine's address and password, and then run the SetupServer "app" that appears in the PB GUI.

Then when you start VncSix you should see a "spinner" on-screen that lets you select the server to use. If you don't see the server selection spinner, then VncSix doesn't have any server addresses stored.
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
na9d
Topic Author
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:09 am

Andy,

Yeah, I did all that. And I can choose the VNC servers on my network. But once I make the connection, I get nothing. The video never shows up...

And I have the passwords stored too...
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:22 am

na9d wrote:
Yeah, I did all that. And I can choose the VNC servers on my network. But once I make the connection, I get nothing.

It sounds like you are close. It is probably failing to connect for some reason.

Some possiblities:
* If the server is on windows, did you put ":0" after the IP address?
* What server OS and Vnc Server version are you using?
* You could try using the ClearServer script to erase entered servers one by one and then re-enter them
* If you telnet in to your PhotoBridge, can you ping your server?
* If you telnet in to your PB and run VncSix from the command-line, what error messages does it print out?

Getting VncSix set up is the hardest part. After that things usually run smoothly. Adding better diagnostic messages on connection failures is on the to-do list.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
na9d
Topic Author
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:36 am

Andy,

One machine is running XP Pro using RealVNC as the VNC server. I did NOT put the :0 after the IP. Did not know I needed to do that. Must have missed it.

The other machine is a MacPro running the VNC server provided with OS X. I'm not sure if that will work though as I have no way to configure the color gamut of the VNC connection (at least no easy way I know of) and I know that 24 bit or lower only will work with VNC6.

I just connected to my VPN and telneted in. I launched VNC and then using my Slingbox was able to view the HD-1000 output. By adding the :0 after the IP address I was able to get my Windows Logon Screen! So that looks like the answer!

Cool!
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:41 am

na9d wrote:
I just connected to my VPN and telneted in. I launched VNC and then using my Slingbox was able to view the HD-1000 output. By adding the :0 after the IP address I was able to get my Windows Logon Screen! So that looks like the answer!

Fantastic! That's a neat remote-access setup you've got too.

Let me know how it works for you after you've had a chance to try it out to do web browsing or other things.

I use it on a regular basis. I have set up a browser profile with a big font for reading on the TV, and it is very convenient to read the news, etc. on the big screen without having to turn on a computer.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
na9d
Topic Author
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:02 am

andy wrote:
na9d wrote:
I just connected to my VPN and telneted in. I launched VNC and then using my Slingbox was able to view the HD-1000 output. By adding the :0 after the IP address I was able to get my Windows Logon Screen! So that looks like the answer!

Fantastic! That's a neat remote-access setup you've got too.


Thanks. Yeah, when I first got the HD-1000, it took me a long time to fully appreciate its capabilities. Then as I started using it, I got hooked. SlingMedia came out with their Slingbox Pro that can accept HD inputs. The problem is that they don't have remote codes for any Roku products. While there's a way using the JP1 remote software to program you own, I've not done that yet. I control the HD-1000 by means of the webserver that TheEndless developed a couple months ago. So I connect to my VPN and use the web interface to control the HD-1000. I can then view it remotely using my Slingbox! And I probably would continue to use the webserver interface because I run my cable box to the component input on the HD-1000. So if I want to Sling my HD CATV, then I turn the HD-1000 off. And the Slingbox then controls the cable box. So it works pretty darn well!

This will be one more step of coolness! :cool:
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

RemoteSim -- issue remote control commands over telnet

Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:44 pm

RemoteSim:
http://frequal.com/roku/RemoteSim/index.html
may be of interest.

RemoteSim lets you generate remote keypresses while logged in to your PhotoBridge over telnet. You can generate keypresses much faster than using the remote.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
na9d
Topic Author
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Algonquin, IL
Contact:

Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:59 am

Cool. I'll have to try that.

I do notice that VNC6 tends to crash if left up for too long. If you leave it running and the Roku screen saver comes up for a while. Come back later and the program has crashed. You can see artifacts of the image from the program layed over the maiin Roku screen. When you attempt to go into the program it brings up the option of choosing the machine to connect to but any connection attempt quits the program. The only way out I have found is to reboot..

Jon
Roku Soundbridge M2000

Roku Soundbridge M1000

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevB

Roku Photobridge HD1000 RevA

3 ReplayTVs

4 Slingboxes (Classic and Pro, AV and Solo)

Firefly Media Server and SlimServer Running on a MacPro

2 Vudu VOD Players

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest