Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Disgruntled
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Mon May 23, 2005 4:45 am

I, for one, would be happy to try that app you are developing, barrygordon. It sounds like just what I am looking for. Even without the extras you are looking to add, it sounds like something that will help those of us wishing to have better control over the slideshow function. Thanks for your efforts!
 
timh
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 6:21 am

Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:58 pm

What is the state of the ArtPack builder for Windows? Is it still in development? available? Thx...
Roku HD-1000 v2.0.36 (1080i),
Mitsu 65" HDTV (LCD RP),
S-A 8300HD STB/PVR,
XBOX,
Sony RDR-VX500 DVDR/VCR,
Onkyo TX-SR600 w/Polk Audio (5.1)
Logitech Harmony 676 Remote
 
barrygordon
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:33 am
Location: Merritt Island FL
Contact:

Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:06 pm

It is available on my web site (www.the-gordons.net) by navigating to the bottom of the home page, noting the userid and password to use and then follow the link to downloads. If you PM me I will send you a copy of the same zip file that is on the web site.
 
daviseh
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:23 pm

Slide Show Muvee

Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:18 am

I found a program - Muvee auto producer 5 - that does a great job creating slide shows. The program is simple and uses the burns effect to create movement resulting in more interest plus it allows you to use your mp3's to create a soundtrack. They have a 15 day trail version.

Once you create your Muvee just save it to your hard drive as an mpeg file and use Mplay to watch your slide show with music.
 
Alphaman
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 6:25 am

Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:57 am

I would rather see a nice screen saver slide show program. Then I can start up whatever music stream or program I want, and let the screensaver take over. (It would be nice if there were a button I could hit at any time that would activate the screensaver from any menu or program on the PB -- that would allow me to immediately launch it while within, say, HexRadio or Sonica).

Selecting which transitions are allowed could be a simple set of checkboxes in the screensaver setup. This isn't rocket science, and I agree with the assessment that the Roku is a tool -- let it do the hard work so that when I'm plopped on my couch after a hard day of working on computers, I don't have to do some more. I prefer checkboxes a programmer codes once to a script I have to mod myself everytime I make a change.

I would also like to see a way to easily spec which photo directories the slide show uses. More checkboxes would be cool so that multiple directories can be added. A shuffle mode would be neat.

I haven't seriously programmed in C in over a decade, otherwise I'd do it myself. Nor do I have a Linux box other than the PB. These are just things I've thought of while waiting for v2 to come out.

Just my twopence,
Aaron
 
Glyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:35 pm

Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:23 pm

linama wrote:
BTW, the remote control is close to be useless, never seen a remote control this bad.

I can see you've never used the Pinnacle ShowCenter then? :lol:

By far the worst I have had the misfortune to use - give me the Roku remote any day!

Regards,
-=Glyn=-
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:13 pm

Glyn wrote:
linama wrote:
BTW, the remote control is close to be useless, never seen a remote control this bad.

By far the worst I have had the misfortune to use - give me the Roku remote any day!

I can recommend two things to fix poor Roku remote performance:

1. Program a learning remote that has more IR power. I use and am happy with the Sony RM-VL900.

2. Consider replacing your power supply. After replacing my power supply my remote range went from about 5 feet to over 20 feet. This was with the same (Sony) remote control, the only change was the Roku power supply. However, if your power supply hasn't failed, this would be an extreme step.

I have posted information about power supply replacement here:

http://frequal.com/roku/PowerSupplyRepl ... Guide.html

What are remote control ranges that others have observed?
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
Glyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:35 pm

Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:53 am

Hi Andy,

After using the appalling Pinnacle SlowCenter (tm:-) I have no problems with the Roku remote.

I believe there was a mod on the SC that entailed removing a circuit board and positioning the IR sensor nearer the small hole in the cabinet that masquerades as the IR window.

But really the user shouldn't have to pay good money and then start ripping it apart to make it work like it should have done in the first instance... :x

OTOH its nice to know some faults can actually be rectified...

Your LiveSpy looks interesting 8) - I will have to take a closer look!

Kind regards,
-=Glyn=-
 
mechanic
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:29 pm

Roku

Thu Jun 01, 2006 11:27 pm

I agree with some people here, that for the price you pay for the ROKU, it does what the new X-BOX can do.
And you get a game console to boot.

Anyone know the processor speed of the ROKU?

I also have to be 2 feet away from the unit with the remote, and have programmed my SONY RM-AV3000.

My ROKU is over a year old now, but it seems the technology is 5 years old.

anyway, it does what I wanted it to do, show high def pics from my Nikon D70, although you would expect it to be more of a multi-media experience as far as 3rd party progams are concerned
 
chrisloker
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:23 am

Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:32 pm

Product over a year old - I have to look back - I was under the impression I have had mine about 3 years.
 
mjt5282
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:46 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Sat Jun 03, 2006 12:10 pm

my PB1000 reports back:

MIPS = 299 MHz

Memory Configuration: 32-bit 2-Channel DDR.
Channel 0 Size: 02000000 (32 MB)
Channel 1 Size: 02000000 (32 MB)
Total mem Size: 04000000 (64 MB)

so, a 300 MHz MIPS processor, with 32Mb RAM for Linux, and 32 MB for the graphics chip (ATI)

The rev. B has more memory, but I believe the same CPU specs.
PB1000 Rev. A (X3), PB1000 Rev. B (X3), SlimServer 6.5.4 + Nero MediaHome (for transcoding to MPlay)
 
IlkkaNisula
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:47 am

Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:13 pm

I bought mine 4 months ago:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor               : 0
cpu model               : MIPS 4Kc V0.7
BogoMIPS                : 298.18
...

# cat /proc/meminfo
        total:    used:    free:  shared: buffers:  cached:
Mem:  95666176 50495488 45170688        0  7999488 19619840
Swap: 67100672        0 67100672
MemTotal:        93424 kB
MemFree:         44112 kB
...
# cat /proc/pci
PCI devices found:
  Bus  0, device   8, function  0:
    Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139 (rev 16).
      IRQ 33.
      Master Capable.  Latency=128.  Min Gnt=32.Max Lat=64.
      I/O at 0x2000 [0x20ff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10000000 [0x100000ff].
  Bus  0, device  20, function  0:
    Multimedia controller: PCI device 1002:4855 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 3).
      IRQ 255.
      Master Capable.  Latency=128.  Min Gnt=8.
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x8000000 [0xbffffff].
      I/O at 0x2100 [0x21ff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10008000 [0x1000ffff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x1c000000 [0x1dffffff].
  Bus  0, device  20, function  1:
    IDE interface: PCI device 1002:4856 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 2).
      IRQ 3.
      Master Capable.  Latency=128.  Min Gnt=1.Max Lat=6.
      I/O at 0x2200 [0x2207].
      I/O at 0x2208 [0x220b].
      I/O at 0x2210 [0x2217].
      I/O at 0x2218 [0x221b].
      I/O at 0x2220 [0x222f].
  Bus  0, device  20, function  2:
    USB Controller: PCI device 1002:4857 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 11).
      IRQ 2.
      Master Capable.  Latency=80.  Max Lat=80.
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10010000 [0x10010fff].
  Bus  0, device  20, function  5:
    Multimedia audio controller: PCI device 1002:4858 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 2).
      IRQ 9.
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10011000 [0x100110ff].
  Bus  0, device  20, function  6:
    Modem: PCI device 1002:4859 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 2).
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10011100 [0x100111ff].
  Bus  0, device  21, function  0:
    Multimedia controller: PCI device 1002:4855 (ATI Technologies Inc) (rev 3).
      IRQ 255.
      Master Capable.  Latency=128.  Min Gnt=8.
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x8000000 [0xbffffff].
      I/O at 0x2100 [0x21ff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x10008000 [0x1000ffff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x1c000000 [0x1dffffff].
#

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests