Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

LiveSpy 2.1 released for 2.0.34 firmware

Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:23 am

LiveSpy 2.1 is now available on the 2.0.34 firmware. This
award-winning webcam browser includes these features (among others):

* Screen Saver mode (fixed to work with 2.0.34 firmware -- simply put
all files from the zip in /mnt/flash1/ScreenSavers and pick
LiveSpySix from the screen saver list in the PhotoBridge Setup app)

* Recompiled to work on 2.0.34 and above.

You can download LiveSpy or view screen shots by visiting the LiveSpy
2.0 beta firmware page:

http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/firmware2_0.html

or you can download it directly from this URL:

http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/LiveSpy ... 2_0_34.zip

LiveSpy updates your screen with images from web cameras regularly
throughout the day. It automates the webcam browsing process,
downloading images in the background and displaying them as they are
ready. It includes an extensive list of cameras. You can choose to
watch events at one place in the world, or to cycle between all of the
available cameras. With LiveSpy, you gain a window on the world.

LiveSpy is compact and easy-to-use. Just unzip it on a writable
shared drive or Compact Flash card, refresh the share, run LiveSpy,
and enjoy your tour of scenes from around the world!

LiveSpy is compatible with the Roku PhotoBridge HD and requires an
internet connection. LiveSpy is shareware.
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Mon Aug 22, 2005 8:30 am

Andy,
I've been trying your app out. I like the ability to have 4 or 9 most recent on screen at once. However, seems LiveSpy always puts the clips up left justified. To me, this looks weird. Is there a way to get it to center justify the clips? So in other words when in multi-image mode each clips is centered in it's 4th (or 9th) of the screen.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:24 pm

dgburns wrote:
I've been trying your app out. I like the ability to have 4 or 9 most recent on screen at once. However, seems LiveSpy always puts the clips up left justified. To me, this looks weird. Is there a way to get it to center justify the clips?


This seems like a good idea, I know exactly what you mean, but it is not yet available. I will look at what it will take to add this feature. Probably I will make centering the only mode of operation, I don't think there is a good reason to have them left-justified.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:30 pm

andy wrote:
I don't think there is a good reason to have them left-justified.

Appreciate your consideration. Seems wouldn't be TOO awful hard, since it looks like in single image mode it's zooming the grabbed image and centering it on the Roku's output. Not being a coder recently though myself, dunno. The BEST would be if the images in multi mode could be zoomed to 1/4 or 1/9 of the current output mode before tiling, so there's more picture and less black area.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:41 pm

I'm about to the point where I'm considering "registering" LiveSpy, BUT, where can I find more info on configuring it for webcams of interest to me? I assume in the registered version there's some way to enter your own URL's? The demo they seem to be hardcoded into the app.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Editing the LiveSpy camera list

Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:04 am

dgburns wrote:
I'm about to the point where I'm considering "registering" LiveSpy, BUT, where can I find more info on configuring it for webcams of interest to me?


You can configure the webcam list by editing the image.dat file, even in the shareware version.

The file starts with one line containing "1.000000" (the version of
this file format).

Following the first line, every four lines describe a new camera. The
four lines are, in order:

* Camera Name (to be displayed)
* Camera Image URL (The image shown on-screen.
It should be JPEG, GIF, or BMP.)
* Camera Home Page URL (Displayed on screen if 'Show Camera URL' is
true)
* Camera Longitude (allows cameras to be sorted West-to-East)

If you do edit the image.dat file, please make a backup before you
begin -- that way you can always get it back if you make a change to
it that LiveSpy cannot handle. (The version in the downloaded
ZIP file serves well for this purpose too.)

Also, if you purchase the registered version, you get automatic
camera list updates. As new cameras appear, I add them to the list
and I remove cameras that have gone offline and/or stopped updating.
The registered version automatically gets the updates for you -- no
hand-editing needed!
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
mjl
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:36 am

Live Spy Cameras

Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:18 am

I enjoy the application but many of the camera have very poor quality pictures, do you have a list of the cameras and the picture quality?
 
JayKay
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm

IP Webcam in LiveSpy?

Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:14 am

I've got a IP webcam in my LAN that has its own IP address.
I use it for surveilance of my front door, can I just put the IP address
of my webcam in the image.dat to show the images of my webcam in LiveSpy ?

Thanks,

Jay
 
NeilB
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:41 pm

Washington, DC traffic cams

Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:18 am

I don't know if you can get these individually, but there are about 300 traffic cameras in the Washington, DC metro area. The URL is:
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/metro/traffic/index.html?config=TrafficW.WashingtonPost&func=EXT0&ext_args=%26map%3D134
 
scottzlists
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 7:15 pm

Can I use LiveSpy as my screensaver without flash1?

Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:26 pm

Are their alternative ways to activate LiveSpy as a screen saver? Can I have a screen saver run from a SMB share? Is their a control file for screen savers?

Help apreciated.

-Scott
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Spy Cameras

Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:51 am

mjl wrote:
I enjoy the application but many of the camera have very poor quality pictures, do you have a list of the cameras and the picture quality?

The list of cameras includes a variety of cameras from around the
world. I'm continually adding new high-quality cameras to the list
and removing older, grainier, or failed cameras.

One of the benefits of registering LiveSpy is that these camera list
updates are performed automatically. Each time you start the
registered version of LiveSpy any new cameras will be added, ones that
have moved will be updated, and ones that have failed will be removed.
If you use the shareware version the list updates are neither as
frequent, nor automatic -- you must download and install the latest
shareware version manually.

If there are particular cameras which you don't like, you can also
edit the camera list to remove them entirely, even in the shareware
version. Instructions on camera list editing are here:

http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/guide.h ... ingCameras
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: IP Webcam in LiveSpy?

Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:03 pm

JayKay wrote:
I've got a IP webcam in my LAN that has its own IP address.
I use it for surveilance of my front door, can I just put the IP address
of my webcam in the image.dat to show the images of my webcam in LiveSpy ?

It's a little more work than that, but not too much.

The instructions for editing the camera list are here:
http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/guide.html#AddingCameras

The trick is going to be finding the URL of the webcam image itself.
If your webcam has a web interface, bring it up. Right-click on the
image and pick 'show only this image', 'show this image in another
window', or some option that sounds like that. If you are just seeing
the webcam picture itself, and nothing else, then it worked. Take the
image URL from the address field in your web browser and put it in
image.dat as described above.

The image URL may look something like this:

http://192.168.1.10/view.jpg?idx=200321312182868354882

If so, you can usually strip off all of the junk after ".jpg",
leaving:

http://192.168.1.10/view.jpg

Try it in the web browser first to make sure it is working. Then try
it in image.dat. If it doesn't work, check image.dat again to make
sure it has 4 lines per entry. Finally, some older webcams don't
honor the HTTP protocol exactly, so they may not work with LiveSpy.
Please let me know how it works for you, I would like to build a list
of webcams that work well with LiveSpy. I know Axis webcams work
(there are a lot of them already in the list).
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Washington, DC traffic cams

Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:15 pm

NeilB wrote:
I don't know if you can get these individually, but there are about 300 traffic cameras in the Washington, DC metro area. The URL is:
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/metro/traffic/index.html?config=TrafficW.WashingtonPost&func=EXT0&ext_args=%26map%3D134
Are you interested in adding these to LiveSpy?

I generally am not adding too many traffic cameras to the main
distributed LiveSpy webcam list -- they tend to not be terribly scenic
and are typically only interesting to a small geographic region.
There are a few exceptions: Tacoma Narrows bridge is of historical
interest, and Enghelab Square in Iran is pretty much a traffic cam,
but is in an interesting and rare part of the world, for webcams. I
guess "Toronto Freeway" should be removed according to this logic!
:-)

If you want to add a traffic cam to your private list, follow
instructions here:

http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/guide.html#AddingCameras

If you have any trouble, post the particular camera's URL to this
forum and I can help.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Topic Author
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I use LiveSpy as my screensaver without flash1?

Sat Nov 12, 2005 1:07 pm

scottzlists wrote:
Are their alternative ways to activate LiveSpy as a screen saver? Can I have a screen saver run from a SMB share? Is their a control file for screen savers?

Help apreciated.

-Scott

Unfortunately the PhotoBridge firmware has a bug where screen savers
cannot be launched from an SMB share, nor any share other than an
internal Flash share. I have mentioned this bug in these forums at
least once, but Roku has never responded whether they have duplicated
the bug, consider it a bug, or if it will ever be fixed. :-( One
sure-fire way to confirm this would be to take one of the built-in
screen savers, move it to an SMB share, and observe that it no longer
works. I haven't tried this yet but feel certain that it will confirm
the bug.

Actually of the internal flash types I have only tried it from the
CompactFlash share, where it works fine. I would be interested to
know if it works from any other type of flash.

However, given all of the above caveats, it works nicely as a screen
saver! Why see a boring clock or plain geometric shapes when you
could be watching live webcams from around the world!

As far as a control file for screen savers, I'm not sure what you
mean. Each Screen Saver can store preferences in the usual prefs
location (/etc/rokucascade/settings). However, if what you are
looking for is some internal firmware setting saying where Screen
Savers can be located, I don't know of any. Maybe the Roku folks can
help out with this issue.

Let me know how LiveSpy works for you or if you'd like to see any
changes in the LiveSpy screen saver behavior.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:17 pm

Hi Andy. Have you had any time to work on the Roku version?

Specifically the image centering issue I mentioned? This one would sure be a nice upgrade. Ideally on the 2x2 display, I'd like the left column either centered or right-justified, and the right column either centered or left-justified. Similary on the 3x3 display, center or right the left's and center or left the right's, with the middle column always centered.

Also, if you took PayPal I'd have bought in today, but now that I would have to go sign up for YAPS (Yet Another Payment Service) it's such a pain...
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest