Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Wed May 24, 2006 10:13 am

Andy,

I can connect from another computer on my network using the same IP address and password as in the setup script. However, the Roko won't show anything. I suspect it's something obvious.......??
It's a shame as the VNC server seems to be just what I wanted.

Dave C
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Wed May 24, 2006 11:58 am

Andy,

Forgot some other info. I'm not running Windows Firewall, but I am running the Zonelabs Security Suite. Turning this off makes no difference. I'm also running Spyware Doctor 3.8, but, again, turning this off does nothing.
Colors are set at 16 bit. I'm hard wired, other Roku apps work fine.

Dave C
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Wed May 24, 2006 10:08 pm

davechainey wrote:
I can connect from another computer on my network using the same IP address and password as in the setup script. However, the Roko won't show anything. I suspect it's something obvious.......??
It's a shame as the VNC server seems to be just what I wanted.

I have posted some new helper scripts here:
http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/HelperScripts.zip

Try running ListServers.roku from the PB GUI. This script makes a file VncSix-Server-List.txt that shows the servers recorded on the PhotoBridge.

If that looks right try running VncSixDebug.roku. That will cause a log file to be generated (VncSix-Log.txt). You can send me that log or post part of it to help debug.
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Thu May 25, 2006 2:49 pm

Andy,

Looks like the ServerSetup script in the helper bundle has changed, and I've lost the original. Can you resend it?

DaveC
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Fri May 26, 2006 6:51 pm

davechainey wrote:
Looks like the ServerSetup script in the helper bundle has changed, and I've lost the original. Can you resend it?

http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/SetupServer.roku

has the original.

I'll update it in the bundle soon too..
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Fri May 26, 2006 6:58 pm

dj7675 wrote:
I don't mean to hijack, but what is the fastest recommended setup. I wanted to use VNCSix to connect to a PC running sage client. I had it up and working, but it seemed to run to slowly. I was just wondering what VNC server/settings would work the fastest.

Hmm, I aven't played too much with the server settings, but I have been using it mostly for web browsing, where it seems pretty quick, at least on a 100Mbps wired network.

Does Sage do lots of full-screen updates? What sort of network is your PhotoBridge using?

There are some parameters in the code to provide some control over the rate of screen updates. I could turn those into command-line parameters to let tweak things to see if it worked better for your setup.

In the meanwhile, more information would help me figure out what some possible solutions are.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Fri May 26, 2006 7:06 pm

andy wrote:
dj7675 wrote:
I don't mean to hijack, but what is the fastest recommended setup. I wanted to use VNCSix to connect to a PC running sage client. I had it up and working, but it seemed to run to slowly. I was just wondering what VNC server/settings would work the fastest.

Hmm, I aven't played too much with the server settings

Actually I remembered that there is one setting on the server side that can make a big difference. It's called "Poll Full Screen". In the Windows version of the server this flag makes the screen repaint completely rather than partially, in my experience. However, the effect might differ from server to server, so your mileage may vary. Let me know if it helps.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Sun May 28, 2006 4:01 pm

Now nothing seems to work! The Setup server doesn't pass the IP to VNC6, and if the Debug and List servers generate text files, I can't find them.

Dave C
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Sun May 28, 2006 4:26 pm

I've just come across an odd condition on my Roku. I'd previously run VNC6 as a sub folder of a shared folder "Roku", which also contains the folders SlimRoku, Weather6 and MPlay. Just to see if it made a difference, I moved VNC6 to it's own shared folder. Trying to rescan the network folders, Roku tells me there are no shared folders, but SlimRoku etc still work normally!
I wonder if this is having an effect on VNC6?

DaveC
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Tue May 30, 2006 10:58 am

davechainey wrote:
I've just come across an odd condition on my Roku. [...] Trying to rescan the network folders, Roku tells me there are no shared folders, but SlimRoku etc still work normally!
I wonder if this is having an effect on VNC6?

I would try rebooting, perhaps it is in a bad state.

The ListServers script should put the text file in the same folder as the script itself, as long as the script is in the same directory as the storepasswd program.

Keep me posted.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
scans
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:18 am

Tue May 30, 2006 1:25 pm

OK, I know I am asking for a lot here, but let's see how it goes....

Is there any way to integrate a Winamp/Shoutcast stream player in VNC6 (or use HexRadio in the background???) to enable one to stream the audio to the roku at the same time as watching it with VNC? (Assume one setup a Shoutcast server on their host machine).

I subscribe to MLB.tv and would like to be able to watch it on my HDTV via the Roku. I don't have a VGA input into the TV, only DVI. I have a PC (which also serves as my media server) on the network which I can use to connect to MLB and play the streaming video. VNC6 does a pretty good job with the resolution set to 800x600 and the video plugin enabled with UltraVNC server (Maybe I should go down to 640x480 since the source is only 320x240.. I digress...)

Now the audio would theoretically be out of sync, but since Shoutcast buffers it anyway, it's possible the end result would be pretty close to synchronized.

TVersity would be the ideal solution, but I could not get it to work with the (presumably) DRM encrypted WMV stream.
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Wed May 31, 2006 4:44 pm

I managed to sort out the shares problem. I was doing a "quick" scan, and on my system I apparently have to do a "thorough" scan. VNC6 is now in it's own folder, but nothing has changed. The setup server script still won't pass the IP address to VNC6, and the other log files don't generate txt files when run. Here is my version of the set up script. Can you check it for obvious mistakes?

#!/bin/bash

PARENTDIR=`dirname "$0"`
cd "$PARENTDIR"

./storepasswd "192.168.1.100" "209130"

It's saved as a Unix file.
 
davechainey
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:32 pm

Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:04 pm

One further thought. I'm changing the SetupServer script using Textpad and saving it as a Unix ANSI file. Should it be a DOS, or UTF-8, or a Unicode, instead of ANSI?
I don't understand why the original would pass the server IP address, and this one won't.
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:45 pm

davechainey wrote:
One further thought. I'm changing the SetupServer script using Textpad and saving it as a Unix ANSI file. Should it be a DOS, or UTF-8, or a Unicode, instead of ANSI?
I don't understand why the original would pass the server IP address, and this one won't.

Unix ANSI (ASCII?) should be correct.

You can try getting the original script, it is still on the website at this URL:
http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/SetupServer.roku
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:47 pm

davechainey wrote:
I don't understand why the original would pass the server IP address, and this one won't.

One final thought, make sure there is a blank line at the end of the script, sometimes that causes problems.
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest