Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
wifiradiofan
Topic Author
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: UK

Roku UK power supply - where to buy ??

Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:46 am

Well during the night my dodgy power supply caused the main fuse box to trip and now it is dead so I probably can use any old one but where can I obtain the right Roku one anyone know please ?
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:38 am

@ wifiradiofan

As with you being a regular reader of these forums, I'm of course tempted to tell you to use the Search Button . . . . but as I'm a nice guy, and as it's Christmas I'll repeat my comments that have often previously been listed:

SOUNDBRIDGE PSU INFORMATION – ROKU BRANDED M1000 & M1001 :

It would appear that one of the MAJOR ongoing problems to get a correct “replacementâ€
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Fri Jan 02, 2009 1:30 pm

Hello alanmc,

I have also a problem with my Roku M1000. After a short-circuit the M1000 is dead.

I read about the powersupply and your advice for the Maplin L46BL.
Do I understand it allright and is the powersupply not inside the Roku but it is the black thing on the cable which is connected to the 220?

I'm not into electronics so I would be glad if this would solve the problem without having to open the Roku itself.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:34 pm

Hi Rick, regrettably I am not prepared to reply to your question with a direct straightforward answer prior to being sure that you will not place yourself in harm's way as a result of anything I suggest you do - I hope this does not offend :wink:

Please answer the following questions:
1. Please confirm if your Soundbridge is manufactured by Pinnacle or Roku (it will state this on the LHS front facia).
2. Are the connections for audio & power fed into the end-caps, or into sockets on the rear of your SoundBridge?
3. What Output Voltage is printed on the "black thing" that you state you plug into the 220 volt AC mains wall-socket?
4. You state that the SoundBridge stopped working due to a "short-circuit". Please detail the circumstances -
5. Do you have a friend with a voltmeter who could SAFELY measure the DC output of the external PSU ("the black thing")?

If you prefer, please PM your responses to me.
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:46 am

Hello Alanmc,

Thank you for your quick answer. I understand that all I do is on my own risk and I will offcourse not blame you, I'm happy if someone is trying to help.

Answers:
1. It's a Roku manufacturerd Soundbridge
2. All the connections are fed into the end-caps, it is a M1000.
3. The black thing tells me the following:
Roku
ModelNo UL310-0913
I/P AC 100-240V 50/60Hz 0.3A
O/P DC 9V 1.3 A
ITE Power Supply (so the black thing is a power supply)
S/No 410-0088072
4. I did disconnect a powerpoint in a room I wanted to paint. I connected the powerpoint again without disconnecting the 220 from the distribution board (Yes I know don't do that :)). When putting the brown 220 cable into the powerpoint again the circuit switch swithed off the circuit. All equipment including the Roku switched off. I finished my work on the powerpoint and then swithed the circuit switch on again. All equipment worked fine except the Roku.
5. I have someone in mind but have to check.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:18 am

Hi Rick, thank you for confirming the details I requested -

You have now confirmed that you have a Roku M1000 Soundbridge that requires (IMHO) a 9v 1.5a PSU . . . . I always feel the available power-output should be higher than the OEM units :wink:

You now need to find someone who can correctly measure the DC output voltage of your existing suspect PSU - this DC unit UNDER LOAD of (say) 9 > 12 watts should be showing around 9 volts - note that the polarity of the centre pin is +ve (positive).

If your existing PSU is found to be faulty, Conrad.de will sell a suitable unit if you cannot find one locally - As stated previously, you require a 9v 1.5a PSU (but a unit of up to say 4a will run cooler) however you may find that you need to cut the cable on the faulty unit and solder it (splice) into thr new PSU's lead. But ensure the polarity for the centre-pin connection is + (positive).
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:02 pm

Hi Alanmc,

The DC output is measured and did not come further as 8,1 volt sometimes with drops to 5 volt. So I think the power supply is broken.

I checked conrad.nl and found the following replacement at conrad.nl:
Voltcraft with output: 9V, 2000 mA

My friend who measured the voltage will check if the polarity for the centre-pin connection is + (positive). Otherwise we will switch it.
If you think this is not a good idea please let me know.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:31 pm

Well I hope this does the trick, and that nothing inside the actual unit was damaged -

Cheers
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:55 pm

Rick,

Voltcraft with output: 9V, 2000 mA

The only Voltcraft PSUs with 2000 mA I have found within conrad.nl are all variable voltage PSUs:

STEKKERNETVOEDING 6-24V/2000MA (Bestnr.: 510525 - 89)
STEKKERNETV. 3-12V/2000MA (Bestnr.: 510524 - 89)
STEKKERNETVOEDING UPA 2000 (Bestnr.: 511613 - 89)

These allow you to set the wrong voltage and/or polarity which would most certainly damage your SoundBridge.

I would thus suggest buying a fixed voltage PSU such as

Tafelnetvoeding 9V/18W (Bestnr.: 510821 - 89)
SCHAKELNETVOEDING P2EEFSW 24W9 (Bestnr.: 510921 - 89)

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:56 am

Hello Dupondt,

Thank you for your concern, I'm glad you reply.

I found the Volcraft Stekkeradapter 9V~/18W/2000mA (bestnr.: 511361-89).

If you search for "volcraft stekkeradapter" you will find it.

I think this is a fixed voltage PSU, but if you can check this for me I will be very grateful. I'm not very deep into electronics.

Kind regards,
Rick
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:15 am

Due to my lack of understanding of the language I have deleted this message
Last edited by alanmc on Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:18 am, edited 2 times in total.
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:29 am

Rick,

this Stekkeradapter 9V~/18W/2000mA (bestnr.: 511361-89) outputs 9V AC (wisselspanning), so it is not suitable for the SoundBridge which requires DC (gelijkspanning)!

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:34 am

Hello Alanmc,

Allthough you can't help me with the language I thank you very much for your help. As you can see another Roku-forum-user understands the language and prevents me for buying the wrong product.

Hello Dupondt,

Thank you for your last reply, I was about to order the wrong PSU but decided to first check the forum and found your message.
Now I'm going to buy the
Tafelnetvoeding 9V/18W (Bestnr.: 510821 - 89)
which has a DC output.

Also I found in the technical specifications that the polarity for the centre-pin connection is + (positive).

THANK YOU Alanmc and Dupondt for all your good help!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:31 am

Remember - If you find that the actual plug-size on the new PSU is wrong, you then need to cut the cable on the faulty unit and solder it (splice) into the new PSU's lead.
But do ensure the polarity for the centre-pin connection is still + (positive).

As stated earlier, hopefully this will do the trick, and that nothing inside the actual unit will have been damaged -

Good Luck
 
Rick
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:57 am
Location: M1000 user (3.0.44, OpenMSS+2.4.2/2.5) - The Netherlands

Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:47 am

And the good news is that the Roku is working again.
Thank you Alan and Dupondt for your help.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest