Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
thefish
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 3:43 pm

Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:48 am

OGG streaming!!! (e.g. for the very nice german radio station M94.5 from Munich: http://stream.lrz-muenchen.de:31337/m945-hq.ogg.m3u)
Greetings...
 
tps
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Philadelphia PA

Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:46 pm

Now my request for a lossless format has gone up a notch in priority. I'd like to use a "slug" running mt-daapd, but I don't think it has the CPU horsepower to run a transcoder. FLAC would be my first choice, since all my stuff is currently in FLAC format.
 
grommet
Posts: 1718
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:43 pm

So, since iTunes & iPod are now "gapless" -- so the mainstream is now aware of gapless playback... Another repeat request to get gapless playback on MP3, at least using the "de facto" LAME enc_delay and enc_padding info in MP3 files when available.

8)
 
mscox_au
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 5:39 pm

Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:54 am

grommet wrote:
So, since iTunes & iPod are now "gapless" -- so the mainstream is now aware of gapless playback... Another repeat request to get gapless playback on MP3, at least using the "de facto" LAME enc_delay and enc_padding info in MP3 files when available.

8)


I'll add a +1 to this request and a +1 for native FLAC support please.

MichaelC
 
Boulderite
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:17 pm

Real Audio streaming, please

Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:27 pm

Real Audio streaming, please. So many radio stations, including the best of the BBC stations IMHO, run only on Real Audio.
 
growers
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:42 am
Location: England

Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:18 pm

tps wrote:
Now my request for a lossless format has gone up a notch in priority. I'd like to use a "slug" running mt-daapd, but I don't think it has the CPU horsepower to run a transcoder. FLAC would be my first choice, since all my stuff is currently in FLAC format.


Yes it does 8)
 
LeoD
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:31 am

Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:51 pm

One more vote for gapless playback of LAME encoded MP3
 
jens
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:09 am

FLAC - Free Lossless Audio Codec
http://flac.sourceforge.net/

FLAC is a lossless codec developed by Josh Coalson. It's part of the Xiph multimedia portfolio, along with Ogg, Vorbis, Speex and Theora.

FLAC PROS

* Open source
* Very fast decoding
* Fast encoding
* Hardware support (Karma, Phatbox, etc.)
* Very good software support
* Error robustness
* Streaming support
* Supports multichannel audio and high resolutions
* Tagging support (FLAC tags)
* Pipe support
* ReplayGain compatible


FLAC CONS

* No hybrid/lossy mode
* Doesn't support RIFF chunks

FLAC Other features

* Supports embedded CUE sheets (with limitations)
* Includes MD5 hashes for quick integrity checking
* Fits the Ogg and Matroska containers

(from http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php ... udio_Codec)
 
steppi
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:45 pm

Native Ogg Vorbis support would be cool. Many Internet Radio Stations are available streaming in OGG Vorbis.

OGG Vorbis is Open Source :)

Integrate it into the Firmware, please!
 
Anton90125
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:53 am
Location: South London

Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:06 am

Hasn't Patrick left the building ?What the conclusion of this tread?.
Since the debate was started by roku,is there going to be developmental follow up?

My vote is for Flac 8)
HiFi: Unison Research SR1 amf,Townshend Glastobury speakers,Cryus Dacx dac ,Sony SCD 777esd cd/sacd, Nakamichi Cr5 -Aiwa Ad6900 cassette decks
 
afriedl
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:36 am

Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:48 am

I vote for AAC+
 
mas
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:46 am

Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:49 pm

In this order:

1. gapless lame mp3 vbr
2. ogg
3. aac+
Those who sacrifice freedom over safety deserve neither.
 
JimF
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:31 pm

Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:08 pm

RealPlayer
 
DonaldD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:34 am
Location: Denmark

Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:20 am

Real Audio - Most of the Italian radio stations only streams in Real Audio.
Roku M1001 - 3.0.34
Linkstation II - Firefly mediaserver
Linksys WAG54Gv2 - 1.01.05
ESI nEar 05 - Active speakers
 
niamh
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:58 am

Re: Real Audio streaming, please

Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:22 am

Boulderite wrote:
Real Audio streaming, please. So many radio stations, including the best of the BBC stations IMHO, run only on Real Audio.


And another vote for this please, Radio Wales is only streamed this way.

Niamh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest