Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mgrove
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:11 pm

Can't see SB in Network Places

Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:18 pm

My SB is connected and working fine on my wired network but I can't see it in My Network Places. Icons for UPnP are enabled. If I type the ip address directly into browser, I can get to the SB and control it but it's not visible on my network. I'm running XP Home with SP2. Any suggestions?
 
RokuLyndon

Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:40 pm

Use the following utility to verify there aren't any problems with UPNP. http://noeld.com/programs.asp?cat=dstools
In your firewall, the following two ports should be opened for UPNP: UDP 1900, TCP 2869
 
mgrove
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:11 pm

Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:08 pm

Still can't see the Soundbridge. The two ports that you listed are open in my firewall. There were a variety of utilities on the site but I downloaded and ran the "Universal Plug-and-Play Tester" - hope this is correct. Running utility resulted in the following in the "status" window:

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Version: 5.01.2600

UPnPTest V2.07 (Build 44.5)

20:05:22 - Filter: .All Root Devices
20:05:22 - Monitoring started
20:05:23 - Device added: Microsoft Windows Media Player Sharing [uuid:583b7f40-983f-47ab-9778-71e869aa766e]
20:06:26 - Device added: Hewlett-Packard/Syabas Technology HP Media Vault - Media Server [uuid:757569643a003a1a3a923a143a7a3a92]
20:06:27 - Search complete
 
RokuLyndon

Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:02 pm

Do you have another computer on your network you can test from?
 
mgrove
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:11 pm

Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:58 pm

I have three computers on the network - two desktops and one laptop - can't see the SB from any of them.
 
RokuLyndon

Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:16 pm

Have you checked the router to verify UPNP is enabled on the router?
 
obvioustroll

Similar problem

Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:06 am

Lydon,

I've got a mixed network of Macs and Windows, wired and wireless. The Macs can all see my M1001, by the Windows box cannot.

The Roku can see the Windows box when it is running iTunes, but the Windows box doesn't show the Roku in the Network Places window.

Running the UPnP Tester, referred to elsewhere, that sees the M1001.

Still no icon in network places, and the web interface only works if I specify the IP address.
 
RokuLyndon

Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:14 am

If you go to add/remove programs, windows components, networking services. Uncheck "upnp user interface", hit OK, and OK again. Once that's uninstalled, restart, and then reinstall UPNP User Interface.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests