Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

jcho
Topic Author

Iomega home media network drive

Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:52 am

I bought this device and out of the box Roku can see this share and connect to it (as itunes server share I think?)
but not browse anything,

after I downloaded an update from iomega because I could not see the files from Itunes either! I can see the songs from itunes, but roku cannot connect to it at all now.

Is there any hope for these 2 devices to work together one day?

jcho
Topic Author

Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:08 am

After rebooting both device I am seeing the itune share as
"MyServer" <- Itune share..
and
another
[MyServer]TwonkyMedia

The itunes share is working via some of artist/album browsing it looks like it's finding info from MP3 tags.

I have just the bare files on individual folders. but I would like to have playlists..
What software do I create a playlist with? I am very new at this and I am not clear what kind of file structure the Roku likes.

On the hard drive I usually have each folder holding an album with 10-12 MP3 files inside.

Thanks

S80_UK

Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:45 am

Hello jcho, Welcome to the forums.

I took a look at the Iomega user documentation for this - it is dreadful. No help at all on the media side.

Anyway, your report says that the box is running a version of TwonkyMedia which is a UPnP server that can stream music to your SoundBridge. This program normally needs some configuration, although it is possible that Iomega have a version installed which is very restricted. When TwonkyMedia is running on a PC or Linux platform, the usual way to configure it is using a web browser. The way to do this is to tell your browser to go to the IP address of the Iomega box and to talk using the correct port. TwonkyMedia usually uses port 9000.

So, if the IP address of the Iomega box on your network is something like 192.168.1.35 (just an example), then you would tell your web browser to go to http://192.168.1.35:9000