Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 21
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows

Sun May 08, 2005 10:43 am

For anyone interested I have written an application that allows you to view what your Soundbridge is playing and control it from within Control Panel in Windows.

Main features are:
    Complete integration with Windows Explorer
    Telnet directly to your Soundbridge
    Perform basic control (i.e. next track, previous track, volume up/down, pause, play, stop, etc.)
    View what your Soundbridge is playing

As an optional extra you can add a server process to turn your Soundbridge into a:
    Clock
    RSS News feed display
    Caller ID display [in development at the moment]


This piece has been written as a generic COM object so that anyone can create their own add-ons. I am in the process of documenting the SDK.

Ideas and thoughts would be welcome....

I am trying to get it hosted at the moment and will post a link as soon as I have. In the meantime if you would like a copy PM me your email address and will email it over (the MSI is around 2Mb)
 
conger
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 3:50 pm

Sun May 08, 2005 11:39 am

This sounds excellent and a very neat add-on to the SB.
XP SP2, Linksys WRT54G wired configuration, SB M1000, iTunes 6.0.0.18 for main mp3 music and playlist server, SlimServer 6.0.2 with modified Slim.exe by bpa, AlienBBC 0.98, Mplayer 1.0pre6 for BBC radio. NAV2003 Prof, standard XP firewall.
 
conger
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 3:50 pm

Sun May 08, 2005 11:56 am

Something that I think would be very interesting for this kind of application would be to provide a Konfabulator (http://www.konfabulator.com) Widget display of what is playing on the SB.
XP SP2, Linksys WRT54G wired configuration, SB M1000, iTunes 6.0.0.18 for main mp3 music and playlist server, SlimServer 6.0.2 with modified Slim.exe by bpa, AlienBBC 0.98, Mplayer 1.0pre6 for BBC radio. NAV2003 Prof, standard XP firewall.
 
bsamp3
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Sounds Great

Mon May 09, 2005 3:23 pm

Can't wait to see it. :)
Too Many Computers, Too Many Projects, Too Little Time
 
mjturner
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 3:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 5:26 am

Here is a link to the software:

http://www.vex.net/~mjt/Roku.zip

I'll leave it up for a while until Mcfh gets a final home for it.

Mike
Last edited by mjturner on Sun May 22, 2005 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
chenks
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 7:35 am

have it installed
how do you use the clock and news feeds ??
 
mjturner
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 3:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 11:01 am

Have to say - I just got around to installing it and I'm a bit lost. Does this program do it out the box? Or do I need to write something to make use the of the COM objects or something?

Mike
 
chenks
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 11:04 am

i'm a bit lost too.
i got the nice control panel icon but that just give me access to the webpage on the device.
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 12:59 pm

If you right click on the device and hit properties you should see a series of property pages. (SHIFT + Right Click to get Telnet)

Choose the Data Services page and you should then be able to configure what you want to see on the SB.

Question - would people prefer that double clicking opens the web page or the properties? Or make it configurable :)
Last edited by mcfh on Tue May 10, 2005 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
andythompson
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:31 am
Location: leicester, England

Tue May 10, 2005 1:11 pm

I just installed this and now what? i get no icons etc, maybe i am being a bit dim but what do i do next?
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 1:15 pm

It should add an icon to Control Panel.

If you double click that to open it you should get a page showing all your Soundbridges (if this doesn't work it is most likely a UPnP issue)
 
andythompson
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:31 am
Location: leicester, England

Tue May 10, 2005 1:18 pm

Thanks, was just me being thick, somtimes carnt see for looking
 
mjturner
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 3:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 1:46 pm

OK - the computer I use for my media server runs Windows 2000 Server, and has load of other software on it... so it won't install on that.

My laptop which I tried it on just doesn't want to work - I tried turning the firewall off, but that hasn't helped. If it hasn't found anything will it require a reboot to get it going?

Mike
 
rendl
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 11:12 am
Location: Bad Schoenborn, Germany
Contact:

Tue May 10, 2005 8:21 pm

Mcfh wrote:
It should add an icon to Control Panel.

If you double click that to open it you should get a page showing all your Soundbridges (if this doesn't work it is most likely a UPnP issue)



Hi Mark,
it works well on both of my XP machines. :D

The Soundbridge icon shows up in the system panel and I could also find the dataservices.
Nice that you created a service rather than just an executable, that makes live easier
Most of the URL's for RSS News feeds were rejected, but I finally found one that was accepted. However nothing shows up on the SB and the"last downloaded" column under dataservices-RSS News feeds" stays blank. :? How do I trigger this? Telnet ? Anything to be started ? Is there any port I need to open on the Firewall, or do you think I just cought a bad feed?

So far I have to say I am impressed about your shell extension, great job 8) and if I find out how to get that news feed going, then I will feel like in Roku-heaven :lol:
******************************
1 Soundbridge M2000
1 Soundbridges M1000
1 Soundbridge M1001
all Wired on NSLU2 Twonkymedia Server
 
michaelb
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 8:44 pm

Tue May 10, 2005 9:41 pm

I installed the service fine. However, I forgot to add the clock and RSS options. When I reinstalled with those enabled I get Roku icon in the Control Panel but there is nothing there. I checked in services and the Roku service does appear to be running. I reinstalled a few times without any luck.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 21

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest