Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Wallebalboa
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:09 pm

ROKU.exe 90% cpu....

Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:58 pm

Hello folks...
I am not a programmer ;)

can anyone tell me why roku.exe runs at 90% cpu with this code...
any sugestions for restructure of the code is welcome...

(with the latest version also the NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Name works! great fix ... )

I am running latest download of the com and latest firmware in a wired 1001.

kind regs

""""
Dim Service As RokuDataService
Dim Dev2 As RokuDevice
Dim RCP2 As RCPSession

Private Sub Form_Load()

Set Service = GetObject("", "Roku.DataService")
If Service Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "The Roku Data Server is not running or cannot be contacted"
End If
Set Dev2 = Service.RokuDevices(2)
Set RCP2 = Dev2.RCPSession

Device.Text = Dev2.Name
DoEvents


End Sub
Private Sub Command2_Click()
RCP2.Next
End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
' timer runs at 1000 ms
Artist.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Artist
Album.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Album
Song.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Name
Track.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.TrackNumber
Year.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Year
Volume.Text = RCP2.Volume



End Sub
Private Sub Form_Unload(Cancel As Integer)
Set RCP2 = Nothing
Set Dev2 = Nothing
Set Service = Nothing
End Sub
""""
 
jae_63
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:56 am
Location: Bethesda, MD

Re: ROKU.exe 90% cpu....

Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:30 pm

The timer is the most likely cause of high CPU utilization. I suggest that you display (via a MsgBox) the value of Timer1.Interval during the form load to make sure it's correct.

I also suggest that you try an interval of 10000ms, and see whether that affects the CPU utilization. This is just for information-gathering purposes ... I understand that 1000ms is a reasonable interval.

Hope this helps ...


Wallebalboa wrote:
Hello folks...
I am not a programmer ;)

can anyone tell me why roku.exe runs at 90% cpu with this code...
any sugestions for restructure of the code is welcome...

(with the latest version also the NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Name works! great fix ... )

I am running latest download of the com and latest firmware in a wired 1001.

kind regs

""""
Dim Service As RokuDataService
Dim Dev2 As RokuDevice
Dim RCP2 As RCPSession

Private Sub Form_Load()

Set Service = GetObject("", "Roku.DataService")
If Service Is Nothing Then
MsgBox "The Roku Data Server is not running or cannot be contacted"
End If
Set Dev2 = Service.RokuDevices(2)
Set RCP2 = Dev2.RCPSession

Device.Text = Dev2.Name
DoEvents


End Sub
Private Sub Command2_Click()
RCP2.Next
End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
' timer runs at 1000 ms
Artist.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Artist
Album.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Album
Song.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Name
Track.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.TrackNumber
Year.Text = RCP2.NowPlaying.CurrentSong.Year
Volume.Text = RCP2.Volume



End Sub
Private Sub Form_Unload(Cancel As Integer)
Set RCP2 = Nothing
Set Dev2 = Nothing
Set Service = Nothing
End Sub
""""
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:52 pm

I would also suggest looking at the events that are fired since they will alleviate some of the load. I think there may still be a problem with CPU utilisation under certain conditions though.

Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2
Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:43 pm

I have just posted a new build that should address the problems with not saving the settings for the data service highlighted above.

Regards
Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
maroen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:08 am

Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:38 am

RiJo wrote:
mcfh: It would be nice if you created an "Releases"-page on the website. Where all releases with all fixes is written (with download-links for each release). It's hard to see which version I'm using at the moment and which one is the current (if there's any reason to download the Roku.msi).

Regards


I second that.
The functionality described on the tagsoft pages sounds great.
I assumed that the published download on your site is at least a working stable version. But, very disappointing, Explorer crashes, no text can be displayed and the settings for the RSS-feeds are not stored.

I will wait for a new version, but it would make live much easier if the site shows what version we are, if there is a new one and the fixes implemented. Thank you.
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:30 pm

I have started on working up a releases page and better release process. Some of it is already in production (e.g. new features to allow notification of new releases) and some still needs to be done (e.g. a releases page with associated content).

My day job is interfering significantly with the ability to do some of this on the timing people would prefer.

maroen - can you PM me more details e.g. whether you are on XP or Vista, what steps you have to take for it to crash etc.

Thanks
Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
maroen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:08 am

Brightness

Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:53 pm

Hello Mark,

Great application. After stopping the service, checking the config and starting it again I now have the latest news, weather forecast etc. displayed on my Soundbridge!

One futurerequest to make it even better:
I used to have the brightness for the Soundbridge low in standby, it shows the time (and now the RSS-feeds) in a "moderate" way. When I turn the Soundbridge on to find some music the brightness is high, so it is very clear to read.
It should be great if it is possible to enter a parameter for the brightness in the dataserver for showing data, and another parameter for the brightness when leaving the dataserver to find music. So, RSS-feeds in "idle-mode" will be shown with low brightness, and when the Soundbridge is used to find music the brightness is high.

Thank you for the great work!
Jeroen
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:15 pm

maroen - thanks for the feedback. Re Brightness I can't get at it at the moment - will ask Roku as a feature request though...

THanks
Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
RiJo
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:54 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:44 am

Any updates? Long since I heard anything..?
:: RiJo ::..
:: Roku M1001 ::..
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:04 am

Working round the clock to get a system live before Christmas :( so haven't had much time to do anything else like Roku. What were you looking for particularly?

Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
goattee
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:38 pm

mcfh wrote:
Have just posted a new build which addresses a lot of COM bugs and adds support for the 3.0.xx firmware commands via COM. It is also required for the latest version of my Gadget.


Sorry for being dense but I have navigated through a lot of pages in this thread and cannot find a working link or location to download the code. Can anyone tell me where to find it?
 
goattee
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Finally found the download location

Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:39 pm

mcfh wrote:
Have just posted a new build which addresses a lot of COM bugs and adds support for the 3.0.xx firmware commands via COM. It is also required for the latest version of my Gadget.


I navigated through a lot of pages in this thread before I found the URL. For everyone else it is:

http://www.tagsoft.co.uk/
 
daan
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:08 pm
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

any ideas?

Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:35 pm

hello,

I just downloaded the .msi installer of your software, cuz I like the features you included in it. My problem is, that I cant get it work. I just got the fancy icon in my control panel, but nothing else happening. No properties or settings available. My M1001 has firmware 3.0.44.

thank you for your answer

d.
 
mcfh
Topic Author
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:59 am

Which version of Windows are you using? Have you got UPnP installed?
When you double click on the icon it will open an explorer window with any detected Soundbridges and you need to go from there.
Mark
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
daan
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:08 pm
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:19 am

thx for your replay... Iam using win XP media center. I have UPnP enabled on my router, makes my roku work fine with the Media connect server. When I doubleclick the icon in control panel, It opens explorer window, but it wont detect my soundbridge. I thought it may it be a firewall issue, but I enabled the ports necessary for UPnP. But I see the Soundbridge in My network places, so UPnP should be set up correctly

Ill be happy for any advice

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests