Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
dkitch
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:08 am

Re: Upgrade not working

Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:49 am

jeffrey8mm wrote:
Hey guys,

I have software version 3.0.44 and when I try to upgrade for the new beta it says I am up to date. ? I did register too. Any ideas?


Me too. Have tried registering and updating a few times, even in Safe Mode. Still no luck. Anybody know the answer please?
 
JustMike
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:55 pm

Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:00 am

Once again, are you entering the proper MAC address when you register. For almost all hardware, you must enter the WIRED address, even if you use Wi-Fi networking. The only exceptions are the SoundBridge Radio and the Pinnacle SoundBridge HomeMusic.
Formerly "RokuMike", but these opinions are mine alone.
 
dkitch
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:08 am

Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:59 am

Thanks for that. It worked first time once I'd hunted around and found the other MAC address!
 
toad
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:57 pm

version .49

Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:50 pm

Loaded version .49, now works with BBC.
My problem is obtaining URL's. I would like BBC Radio Suffolk, I have tried modifying BBC Radio 4 with a guess but cannot get it.
I have emailed the BBC Suffolk people and that may get a result.
Have not had the Soundbridge very long, seems good.


Toad
 
dkitch
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:08 am

Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:01 am

I'm new to this too. I don't know about BBC Radio Suffolk, but I can't get a URL that works for BBC Radio Essex, although all national BBC stations are working OK with 3.0.49.

The difference seems to be that BBC local radio stations are only available in Real Audio format and Roku doesn't support that.

I'd love to be corrected by someone who knows a bit more than I do...
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:55 am

You are quite correct in your assumption . . . . You may find this link helpful:
http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/

Cheers, Alan
 
chuckk9032
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:24 pm

Just loaded 3.049. Most immediate change was that I can now consistently connect via WPA whereas it was intermittent before. Still won't connect WPA via a D-Link DI-524, but it's fine with a couple of other brands. Since WPA improvements were not mentioned in this release, I'm not sure if something was improved/corrected or not via the software.
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Tue Jan 08, 2008 4:59 pm

Firmware v 2.7 saw the 'release' of the availability to use WPA - You should not experience software issues with v.3.0.x
 
chuckk9032
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:03 pm

Understood about WPA in 3.0.X. However, until this beta, I was having trouble with a number of diferent access points, as have others.
 
qilan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:59 am

Echo sound

Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:51 am

I am listening to a public radio station via the internet. The sound is very poor. The station sounds as though it is inside a bottle - echoes. I am using software version 3.0.49. The station link is http://azul.streamguys.com/nhpr. The sound is much worse that the BBC, which also has this issue. Other public internet radio stations, such as KPCC, do not have this problem and sound fine. In fact, most other internet radio stations sound great. Is this something that can be addressed now or do I have to wait for Roku to update its software. A explanation would be appreciated. Thank you.
 
wideasleep1
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sausalito,Ca
Contact:

Re: Echo sound

Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:24 am

qilan wrote:
I am listening to a public radio station via the internet. The sound is very poor. The station sounds as though it is inside a bottle - echoes. I am using software version 3.0.49. The station link is http://azul.streamguys.com/nhpr. The sound is much worse that the BBC, which also has this issue. Other public internet radio stations, such as KPCC, do not have this problem and sound fine. In fact, most other internet radio stations sound great. Is this something that can be addressed now or do I have to wait for Roku to update its software. A explanation would be appreciated. Thank you.


Try this mp3 stream instead:
http://peace.str3am.com:6400/
This stream is low-bitrate 24kbps/22khz, but should be good enough for talk, poor for music, and on my SB (M2000), it is playing at a lower volume than similar streams in my presets. G'Luck!
Then as it was, then again it will be
An' though the course may change sometimes,
rivers always reach the sea

M1000x2,M2000,Twonky 4.3.3 RC1 beta on LinkStation HGLAN400gig,Buffalo whr-g54s on DD-WRTfirmware-luv'in it!
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:38 am

Would I be correct in assuming you were listening to Station ID # 2637 "NHPR Liveâ€
 
qilan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:59 am

hollow sound

Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:59 pm

The station URL is as I indicated. I do not know anything about an 'approved' station. What exactly is this? As I said, compare the sound quality to this station to KPCC, another public radio station. The sound is certainly distinctive - that being hollow (as you described it) and contains an echo. If this is due to the station, such as the bit rate, I'll take it up with the station manager, but it seems that Roku should offer some means to clean up the signal. I wish I could say that it was me that judged the sound to be very poor, but everyone in my family all said the same thing. When you are testing, compare NHPR to KPCC.

http://azul.streamguys.com/nhpr
http://kpcc.streamguys.com/
 
wideasleep1
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sausalito,Ca
Contact:

Re: hollow sound

Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:58 pm

qilan wrote:
The station URL is as I indicated. I do not know anything about an 'approved' station. What exactly is this? As I said, compare the sound quality to this station to KPCC, another public radio station. The sound is certainly distinctive - that being hollow (as you described it) and contains an echo. If this is due to the station, such as the bit rate, I'll take it up with the station manager, but it seems that Roku should offer some means to clean up the signal. I wish I could say that it was me that judged the sound to be very poor, but everyone in my family all said the same thing. When you are testing, compare NHPR to KPCC.

http://azul.streamguys.com/nhpr
http://kpcc.streamguys.com/



http://kpcc.streamguys.com:80/
And that stations is double the bitrate of nhpr at 64kbps, and double the khz, at 44. Naturally, the KPCC stream will sound noticeably better. :)
Then as it was, then again it will be

An' though the course may change sometimes,

rivers always reach the sea



M1000x2,M2000,Twonky 4.3.3 RC1 beta on LinkStation HGLAN400gig,Buffalo whr-g54s on DD-WRTfirmware-luv'in it!
 
qilan
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:59 am

radio poor sound quality

Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:18 pm

Thank you for your explanation. It is a shame that there is no means, via the SoundBridge, to determine the bit rate or in some way understand the quality of the incoming signal. Where did you get the information regarding the station's bit rate. :shock:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest