Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Mon Oct 06, 2008 7:28 am

Your new unit should have a "Warranty Void" sticker on it. Check for it; this notes the newer units that have been updated (according to RokuLyndon) and you should be good to go then.
If not, there is always Pete (aka: g0pkh)I assume he is closer to Israel then me))...

slugw wrote:
Yes, just to weigh in with another dead R1000 story.

Mine died after 5 months of use. It was bought for me in the U.S. (I live in Israel). I requested an RMA, but their replies ended up in my spam filter! Fortunately, I noticed after a couple of weeks. Another lucky break was that I spent most of September in the U.S. So I flew there carrying the unit as hand baggage, and was able to send the unit by UPS to be replaced with only a few days left on the warrenty! The new unit arrived with lucky timing just a few days before I left the U.S. again, so I carried the new unit home under my arm.

But gosh, talk about shoddy components...... what if I hadn't been scheduled to be there? So many dead units! Really, Roku! At least there was no argument from them; just friendly and swift replacement.

What happens when the replacement blows in a few months, hmm?
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jpgordon
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:37 am

Two more

Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:06 am

I have the misfortune of having two of them, purchased about two months apart, dying about two months apart. There really should be a general recall on these units. It's a pity, too; when they work, they're great. I'm sorely disappointed; I hope the two friends that bought them on my recommendation have not had the same problem.

The cost for replacement is ridiculous; $200 to replace something that has failed due to poor QA, that cost originally $299. Come on. I'd rather pay three times that to get something that might be more reliable.
 
rajt
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:35 am

Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:23 pm

I've have mine for 13 months, and my has just died.

From this post, why isnt Roku doing something about this.

It's very disappointing on such a good product.

So where do I stand with this?

Can this be repaired in the UK under warranty?

What have others done?

Thanks
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:37 pm

@ rajt

How is your SoundBridge Radio "branded? Is it Pinnacle or Roku? For in the answer lies your choice.

For what my opinion is worth, if it's a Roku R1000, your best option will be to send a PM to g0pkh to request him to 'rebuild' the PSU for you.

When I read of all these disgraceful failures with the R1000 model, I thank my lucky stars that I sold mine before it eventually failed, and then purchased the very fine Roberts WM-201 Internet Radio (not cheap, but a first-class product).
 
rajt
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:35 am

Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:48 am

My Soundbridge Radio is branded as Pinnacle.

I will try the support team..but not hoping for much !
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:38 am

@ rajt,

As your Soundbridge Radio was 'sold' by Pinnacle, it is still the responsibility of the supplier to honour the ramifications as regards the warranty (here in the UK).

I feel you should contact your local Trading Standards department to discuss two factors: (1) The EU legislation as regards the length of the warranty-period that must be offered here in Europe, and (2) to discuss the situation of their view if the unit was "Fit-For-Purpose" in the way/manner the PSU was built, given the number of failures that have been reported here in this forum-thread.

. . . . Failing which you still have the option of contacting 'g0pkh' in order to seek his renowned skills in repairing the PSU.

Good Luck, Alan
 
elsewhen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:37 pm

what about bypassing the internal power supply

Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:44 pm

i have a completely dead r1000 as well... instead of replacing the capacitors like LEW2 did above, what about bypassing the faulty power supply unit alltogether? is there an off-the-shelf wall wart that could be used? what volts/amps power supply is required?
 
g0pkh
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Essex Nr. Stansted Airport.. UK

Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:52 am

There have been a couple of reasonably successful attempts of this further up this thread I believe.

But why not get the PSU serviced using high quality components, it should last a lot longer that way.

After all it has been mentioned that the design is good, its just that a handful of components used are of low quality.

Pete
Soundbridge and Photobridge repairs offered.
contact via PM or hillyp02-roku@yahoo.co.uk
 
rajt
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:35 am

Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:38 am

I contacted support using the Live Chat. They are refusing to do anything as they are no longer supporting this unit. I hadnt even told them the unit was 13 months old !

The UK support number is a premium rate number...anyone got a contact they've been speaking to in Pinnacle UK about this issue?

Thanks
 
rajt
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:35 am

Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:17 am

Just found out that the warranty is for 2 years, so panic over for me hopefully. (Never saw this mentioned before mind you)

http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSite/u ... N=rnanswer
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:23 am

I assume Live Chat for Pinnacle and not Roku, right?

rajt wrote:
I contacted support using the Live Chat. They are refusing to do anything as they are no longer supporting this unit. I hadnt even told them the unit was 13 months old !

The UK support number is a premium rate number...anyone got a contact they've been speaking to in Pinnacle UK about this issue?

Thanks
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
rajt
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:35 am

Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:02 pm

Yes, live chat with Pinnacle.

Wish they just told me there was a 2 year warranty, instead of fobbing me off!
 
GrantMeStrength
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:44 pm

Another one on the list..

Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:13 pm

Woke up this morning, and my Soundbridge Radio was dead. Presumably it's the PSU.

It is considerably out of warranty, and I didn't realize how much I'd come to depend on it.

Considering doing a DIY repair, or just buying something else.

A sad day.
 
salmuina
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:44 pm

Dead Radio too

Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:53 pm

i bought my radio in August 2007. It died this month and have been unable to get any response on what to do.
S
 
SuzieQ
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:11 pm

salmuina, try emailing RokuLyndon > lallydice@rokulabs.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests