Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
pdbowers
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:00 pm

Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:58 am

Hey Fellas

I think I am having the same problem here, a bad PSU. My question is, can someone give me the name of a good quality PSU that will work with the Soundbridge? I need a name, when you start talking AMPS and so forth, it confuses me. I would like to buy in bulk, since I own so many of these units. By the way, Im loving the Jamcast, which lets me effortlessly stream Pandora.

As always, excellent advice is always found here. Thanks again!

Paul
Intel iMac, 24 inch Desktop
M1001 x 3
Roku Netflix Media Player
iPad 2
Dell Inspiron 2305
Big fan of Linux
Wirelessly Connected using Netgear
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Sun Mar 22, 2009 6:24 am

Hello Paul,

Can we start by asking you to let folks know where you are located? It makes a significant difference to any recommendations that you might be given. Also, when you say you have many units, which models specifically do you have (your sig only mentions M1000x2)? M500, M1000 (connections at the ends), M1001 (sometimes labelled M1000, but with connections at the back), M2000?
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
pdbowers
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:00 pm

Sun Mar 22, 2009 6:42 am

Thanks for the quick reply, and yes, I should have given more specific instructions, so here goes: I have four M1000's with connections in the back of the unit. I am located in Huntsville Alabama, and hopefully I can go into the electronics store and not seem as dense as I can be when Im telling them Im looking for a power supply unit. As I have found out, all power supply units are not the same....

Thanks again for the quick response, and look forward to hearing back from you

Paul
Intel iMac, 24 inch Desktop
M1001 x 3
Roku Netflix Media Player
iPad 2
Dell Inspiron 2305
Big fan of Linux
Wirelessly Connected using Netgear
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:21 am

Hi Paul,

Thanks. Now, I am not going to recommend specific models or retail outlets (since I am not in the US) - others here may be in a position to do that. However, since your units have the connections at the back, we can be quite specific with the requirements that you take to the electronics store. Despite being labelled M1000, they are identical to the M1001.

Voltage - must be 5 volts DC and must be regulated.
Current - must be at least 1.5 Amps - more is better. Some here use supplies rated at up to 4 Amps - this ensures that the SoundBridge is well within the capabilities of the supply which reduces stress and lengthens its life.
Connection - must be a barrel style DC power connector, with center contact positive. Outside diameter 5.5mm, inside diameter 2.1mm

The store should be able to help you given that you have this information.

Regards,

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
pdbowers
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 1:00 pm

Thanks again

Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:41 pm

Thank you so much for the specifications. I gave your information to a representative of an online power supply outlet and will let you know the outcome. I love my Rokus!

Paul
Intel iMac, 24 inch Desktop
M1001 x 3
Roku Netflix Media Player
iPad 2
Dell Inspiron 2305
Big fan of Linux
Wirelessly Connected using Netgear
 
molahs4
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 12:33 pm

Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:13 am

I have a dead M1000 (labeled M1001 on the back) in the US and I am interested in hearing your results. What did you wind up buying?
 
molahs4
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 12:33 pm

Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:45 am

Has anyone found a supplier of these power cords in the US?
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:22 am

molahs4,

Phihong produce PSUs suitable for the M1001, for example the PSC30U-050, the PSAA15W-050 and the PSA15A-050P. To see where you can order these, click "Check Stock" on the product page.

I use two PSC30U-050 with my SoundBridges and these PSUs never ever get lukewarm.

Important: These PSUs are suitable for the M1001 only, they're not suitable for the M1000 which requires a 9V PSU!

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
nalo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:49 am

Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:53 am

I recently realized that someone had knocked the 5V selector on my soundbridge's multi-volt supply up to 12V, and now the M1001 looks pretty dead. The area around the power connector also smells slightly burnt. I fear the worst, is there anything I can do?
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:40 am

I'm sure you already appreciate that electrical devices don't exactly welcome a 240% over-voltage :wink:
Your profile regrettably does not show where you reside, thus I'm unable to suggest your next move -
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:16 pm

nalo wrote:
I recently realized that someone had knocked the 5V selector on my soundbridge's multi-volt supply up to 12V, and now the M1001 looks pretty dead. The area around the power connector also smells slightly burnt. I fear the worst, is there anything I can do?

Even if you have fed the unit too many volts, it may still be repairable. The M1001 design includes a protection diode which is designed to protect the rest of the electronics should the input go over-voltage or be reversed. In some cases, when that diode is subject to extremes, it becomes short circuit and burns its plastic casing. IF that is what happened to your unit, then removal of the diode may allow it to still work from a correct supply. Replacement of the diode will provide further protection for the future. I have one M1001 which I bought as faulty where this had happened. Being handy with a soldering iron and knowing about electronics, I did this myself. The diode is a 5 watt 5.6 volt zener, type 1N5339 - cheap and widely available. Getting to it to replace it requires some care in dismantling your M1001. If you are not inclined to try it yourself, then if you are in the US, sent a PM to Matt (user burkhardi), or in the UK/EU to Pete (user g0pkh). They may be able to help you.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
peterp
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:31 pm

Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:48 pm

I just wanted to mention that I had an apparently dead M1001 as well. The power supply output does read 5v, but I measured with no load.

Following the tips on this forum, I purchased a Phihong PSAA15W-050 from Jameco (part #1586242) for $15 and a couple of days later the M1001 is back in action, good as new.

Thanks for the detailed information, folks!
 
straka
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Dead Roku Soundbridge M1000

Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:06 pm

I just had my Soundbridge M1001 go south last week.

I measured the output of the puck and found it pulsating a bit around 4.0 volts. Ah, must be a switcher. Put a 100 ohm resistor across it and it stabilized at 4.5V. That's quite a bit low, but not necessarily. Hmmm, well maybe a bit picky about the voltage, and -10% isn't good enough. So I wired it to a bench power supply at 5.0 V. It fired up cleanly after the normal 8 second startup delay. The current meter on the power supply indicated that it was consuming about 800 mA of current (startup consumed only about 200-300 mA, and it went up dramatically when the display came to life).

So a 1.5A regulated supply should be plenty. 1.0A may is even probably enough. 2-4A is overkill. Won't harm anything provided it's regulated, though. But I do note that a regulated power supply at 5V (with a tolerance of probably +-5%) is in order.
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Dead Roku Soundbridge M1000

Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:26 pm

straka wrote:
So a 1.5A regulated supply should be plenty. 1.0A may is even probably enough. 2-4A is overkill. Won't harm anything provided it's regulated, though. But I do note that a regulated power supply at 5V (with a tolerance of probably +-5%) is in order.

Hello Straka - it depends what you want. It is generally very bad practice to run a power supply at or near its maximum load. If it is designed to tolerate it then it may be OK, but the simple fact is that most low-cost units are not. De-rating by at least 50% is good practice if you wish the power supply to run cool and to have a long life. Given that many cheaper supplies also suffer from poor component choices and poor thermal design, then a greater excess capacity will often give better results, which is why supplies of 2A or greater capacity are recommended.

Regards,

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
polkadotninja
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 5:11 pm

Re: Dead Roku Soundbridge M1000

Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:55 am

Just wanted to say thanks for this post, and to confirm that a seemingly good power supply can still be the problem for a dead M1000.

After using my M1000 nearly every day for many years now, it suddenly died. First thing I did was check the power supply with a multimeter, and it was at precisely 5v, so I ruled that out as a problem until reading this thread. I found an old 5v 2 amp Linksys power supply from some other now-unused product, plugged it into the M1000, and it worked like a charm.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests