Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Dstubbs
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:11 pm

SD Card Slot - Not working or is it just me?

Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:24 am

My Soundbridge Radio is not reading my SanDisk SDHC 4GB card when I put it in the slot.

I'm sticking it in and when I toggle between the functions (am/fm radio, internet radio etc) nothing happens. I've tried with two similar cards.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Cheers
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: SD Card Slot - Not working or is it just me?

Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:19 am

Dstubbs wrote:
My Soundbridge Radio is not reading my SanDisk SDHC 4GB card when I put it in the slot.

I'm sticking it in and when I toggle between the functions (am/fm radio, internet radio etc) nothing happens. I've tried with two similar cards.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Cheers

Hello Dstubbs and welcome to the forum!

Yes, use a none HC SD card.

The chip set for the SD slot will no support SDHC (even with new drivers (RokuMike)), therefore the largest card you can use is a 2GB.

Hopefully that is helpful, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
gcd0865
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:38 pm

Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:14 am

Hi Dstubbs:

I actually have a 4GB Transcend 150x SD (non-HC) card that works in my SoundBridge Radio just fine. I think I remember reading that 4GB was the max size available under the non-HC standard.

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.a ... 6820163159

Perhaps other 4GB non-HC (slower than 150x) versions might work just fine too:

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Flash-m ... =pd_cp_e_1

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Flash-m ... y_e_text_b
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:39 pm

gcd0865 wrote:
Hi Dstubbs:

I actually have a 4GB Transcend 150x SD (non-HC) card that works in my SoundBridge Radio just fine. I think I remember reading that 4GB was the max size available under the non-HC standard.

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.a ... 6820163159

Perhaps other 4GB non-HC (slower than 150x) versions might work just fine too:

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Flash-m ... =pd_cp_e_1

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Flash-m ... y_e_text_b


yea, I was going to post about the hooptie 4GB, but didn't have my facts. Is it two flash rams, or just one? It sounded like it was some hybrid when I first heard about it a couple years back. People were using them in their Rio Forge MP3 players with the "directors cut" firmware.
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Dstubbs
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:11 pm

Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:04 am

Cheers all, I'll buy an SD card and try that. Looks like I have a spare SDHC card then!
 
mgk
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:13 am

Re: SD Card Slot - Not working or is it just me?

Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:34 am

Seems like Roku, would make the SD vs SDHC card clear in the Manual and also if there is a size limitation. I just purchased a SoundBridge R1000, but the manual is very vague and if had not been very technical with a PC and Wifi, then maybe I would have to sent it back. It seems that the company has not invested much into their software developement over time, SD is very old technology and most items now are SDHC.
Thanks for the info!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests