Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

xanth
Topic Author

Network Drives with Firefly

Mon May 15, 2006 12:40 pm

Complete novice, I have got Firefly working on my laptop but would like to stream from a NAS drive which is a mapped drive on my laptop. I have failed completely with this (also with WMC so it is likely to be a Windows problem)

I am runnning latest version XP with Zonealarm, 2.44 SB SW running on M1001. Is this possible?

This is really an interim as my main music library is on another machine synchronised with the NAS, and ultimately (if I get brave enough) I will hack the NAS to run without any PC switched on.

Colin :?:

ajayre

Mon May 15, 2006 12:49 pm

I'm not sure about a NAS, but I have mt-daapd/FMS running on a linux box, with all the mp3s stored in a folder that is also accessible via Samba. This makes it look like a regular shared folder which I map to a network drive.

I then use my laptop for ripping directly to the share, at which point mt-daapd/FMS automatically scans once an hour for new files...

Andy
SB M1001, mt-daapd on SuSE 9.2, Netgear WGR614v6

rpedde

Re: Network Drives with Firefly

Tue May 16, 2006 8:01 pm

xanth wrote:
Complete novice, I have got Firefly working on my laptop but would like to stream from a NAS drive which is a mapped drive on my laptop. I have failed completely with this (also with WMC so it is likely to be a Windows problem)

Yeah, there is a trick to that. Your problem is that drive letters are specific to *your* user logon, and the don't exist for services and whatnot.

You can "fake" it in a number of ways. Here's one.

Set your mp3_dir to be the UNC path to the share... so, instead of F:\MUSIC, use \\nasbox\share\music, or whatever the \\server\share\path is to the mp3 files you want to use are. (Does this make sense? I know what I'm trying to say, but I'm not sure if this is understandable.)