Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
rpedde
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:25 pm

Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:53 pm

grommet wrote:
As a temporary fix, you can "permanently" force the executable in your distribution to run in uniprocessor mode. :(


Eek. I'd rather fix it!

Maybe I can convince my wife I need a new machine. :-)
 
MP3 Mike
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:34 am

rpedde wrote:
Eek. I'd rather fix it!

Maybe I can convince my wife I need a new machine. :-)


Dell has some really good deals right now if you want a new LCD monitor with your PC... (I don't know if you prefer to buy a stock PC, or build one yourself.)

Maybe Roku (or Pinnacle) should send you over a PC since a lot of what you are doing directly benefits them. :wink:
 
grommet
Topic Author
Posts: 1718
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

Officially SMP related

Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:04 pm

Update: With firefly.exe rigged to run uniprocessor, it's been running without hanging for days. Multiple clients, different formats... with and without transcoding.

I can't cause the SoundBridge to crash as easily, either... which might be bad for debugging SoundBridge. :)
 
rpedde
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:25 pm

Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:28 pm

MP3 Mike wrote:
Maybe Roku (or Pinnacle) should send you over a PC since a lot of what you are doing directly benefits them. :wink:


Too late, I've already parted the wife from the credit card. :)
 
grommet
Topic Author
Posts: 1718
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

Mon Jun 05, 2006 5:26 pm

I spoke too soon. I finally got it to hang. Same symtoms. But, obviously, far harder to cause compared to before. So, if this is a different issue than what causes the SMP incompatibility... it won't be fun to chase. :?

Had one client playing... and was skipping around with a 2nd.

Edit: Upgraded to svn-1197. Still incompatible with SMP, which was expected. No hang while hacked to uniprocessor yet.
 
mmcinnis2
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:49 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada

RON: NSLU2 cant connect for updates

Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:04 pm

Ron, you have been a great help so I am hoping you will help here.

My Slug won't download anymore, and I have no idea why.

As an example, ipkg install xinetd gives a message unable to connect to remote host 140.211.166.82

I cannot ping this address from my slug but can from an XP box on the network.

Any ideas?
 
rpedde
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:25 pm

Re: RON: NSLU2 cant connect for updates

Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:04 pm

mmcinnis2 wrote:
Ron, you have been a great help so I am hoping you will help here.

My Slug won't download anymore, and I have no idea why.

As an example, ipkg install xinetd gives a message unable to connect to remote host 140.211.166.82

I cannot ping this address from my slug but can from an XP box on the network.

Any ideas?


That sounds like hte default gateway isn't set up right on the slug.

Try going to the web interface on the slug and double-check the network settings. That would be my first thought.

-- Ron
 
mmcinnis2
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:49 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Thu Jun 29, 2006 5:52 am

Thanks. I inadvertently removed it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests