Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
brianshirley
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:28 pm
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Power save mode with Brightauthor 2.0

Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:59 pm

Is there a way with BrightAuthor to put VGA monitors into power save mode by blanking the output.
Similar to what can be achieved with script ? "mode.SetPowerSaveMode(true)"
The monitors we intend to use have no serial ports for control.
 
RokuLyndon

Re: Power save mode with Brightauthor

Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:33 am

Yes, I have a modified autorun you can publish with brightauthor that supports this. It uses the linkzones command, and intercepts the value you're sending. Send pon to go into powersave mode and pof to get out.

This video explains how to use it. The video mentions using Send Udp or Serial. But if you don't have ethernet or a serial port, linkzones is what you should use.

Custom Autorun

Image

Image
 
brianshirley
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:28 pm
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Re: Power save mode with Brightauthor

Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:20 pm

Fantastic, Thanks Lyndon
 
bsanderson
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:13 pm

Re: Power save mode with Brightauthor

Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:06 pm

Did I miss something in this post.

I tried to follow these steps and my drop down menu for Advance Command options
has these choices for :

Disable monitor power save mode.
Enable monitor power save mode

These are not the same choice as outlined in this tech note. I am sure it is just because
the tech notes is date some time ago.

So is the PON POF built into the Bs authoring system? or do I have to find a modified
autorun file for the PON POF scripts?

thanks
bill
Bill Sanderson
inroomdeals.com
 
RokuLyndon

Re: Power save mode with Brightauthor 2.0

Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:04 am

This post only applies to ba 2.0, and requires the use of the modified autorun. Both a video and an explanation of its use are at the top of this thread.

But, I believe you have brightauthor 2.2, since you are testing on a wireless unit. You don't need the custom autorun in ba 2.2. Powersave is built in. SO, ignore the technote for brightauthor 2.2.
 
bsanderson
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:13 pm

Re: Power save mode with Brightauthor 2.0

Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:49 pm

Lyndon

thanks I determine this by a little trial and error after my post. I just wanted to post so it could be verify it is built in now. Being a newbie and reading this blog, some dated info
can spins my wheels a little.

but I do weight the age of the blog post to current dates.

bill
Bill Sanderson
inroomdeals.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest