Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

CWN32
Topic Author

HD210 Chewing Bandwidth

Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:38 pm

Hi,

I've recently set up the HD210 model to work with Simple File Networking. The first time the unit started up it took a while to update and to grab the files from the web folder I placed my presentation in so I left it overnight. When I returned, I discovered that the unit had somehow chewed through over 15GB worth of bandwidth in one night - I confirmed this with my ISP. Not only that but the unit wasn't even displaying the presentation; just constantly downloading more and more. I've had to disconnect it from the internet and just set it up with local storage for now. Is it typical for the unit to consume so much data? The presentation files amounted to no more than 600MB and I can't imagine updates alone could account for that many GB's worth of data. I'm new to BrightSign so I'm not sure if I've done something wrong with the setup or if this is just typical operation. Are you able to confirm if it is meant to be consuming this much data or if I've made a mistake somewhere? I'm not sure what information you need me to provide but whatever you need please let me know and I will post it up for you.

Regards.

RokuLyndon

Re: HD210 Chewing Bandwidth

Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:47 pm

What would be good to know is if multiple files are failing to download, which would cause the unit to try downloading the failed files over and over again, until it was successful. Is it using a media rss feed, or just content published into a web directory?

which version of brightauthor are you using?

CWN32
Topic Author

Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:06 pm

I'm using BrightAuthor 2.3.0.57, which I believe is a Beta version. It's not using any RSS feeds. The presentation uses only video so in other words, just content in a web directory. I couldn't find any logged errors on the setup card so I'm not sure if it was failing to download the files.