Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
pro2040
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:05 am

BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:09 pm

Hi All,

I am trying, with no success, to control a Sharp 60" TV via RS232 with an HD1010 and brightauthor. The power on command for the TV is "POWR1 " CR, with 3 trailing spaces after the "1". I have tried this RS232 command with another control system and it has worked fine. I'm wondering if, when sending the command, are the 3 trailing spaces dropped from the string? If so that might expalin why it hasnt worked. Anyone have any thoughts?
 
bmxer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:19 pm

Sharp TVs require a command to allow it to receive the RS232 "on" command. Turn it on manually, then send "RSPW1_ _ _" (cr). This only needs to be done once. If successful, the TV will then respond to POWR1 after that.

I have occassionally experienced an anomaly that the TV wants "RSPW_ _ 1 _" (cr). Can't explain why and I haven't found it documented anywhere.
baud rate is 9600 and would need null modem cable between Player and TV.
 
bmxer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:23 pm

also,
configure brightauthor interactive presentation to use: "Serial-send string (EOL) Port 0 String POWR1(three spaces)

The EOL will send the carriage return
 
pro2040
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:05 am

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:44 pm

Thanks for the replies. I have sent the RSPW command already using another control system and I have configured the presentation to use send EOL but again with no success.
 
bmxer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:53 pm

if you can verify power-on success using hyperterminal (or other comm program), or your other control system, then I think you're right that BA must be dropping or doing something weird with the three spaces. I think I would connect PC to player with null cable and use hyperterminal (or other comm) to monitor the characters that player is sending out when command is issued
 
bmxer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:01 pm

did you verify, in Presentation Properties, that "Send EOL" is set to "CR" (there are 3 possible selections but this is the one that works for me, at least with LG TVs). Also double-check baud rate.
 
pro2040
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:05 am

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:02 pm

I have verified that EOL is CR and with no LF and the baud rate is correct. I will try and see what the actual output is by connecting to hyperterminal, thanks for the suggestion.
 
pro2040
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:05 am

Re: BrightAuthor and RS232

Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:51 am

Uptade.

I got it woking. After verifying that the HD1010 was sending the correct strings, I did a factory reset on the TV and it worked.Strange I konw, but perhaps there was some setting on the TV that was changed that prevented it from working.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest