Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
bmxer
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm

HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:32 pm

Been trying to get local networking to work correctly. latest version software and firmware (as well as previous version). I have manually added player IP's (Bonjour discovery was problematic so disabled it). I can ping the players from the PC running BrightAuthor. I can access the players using the IPs with browser. BrightAuthor however, cannot "see" the players in Publish or Manage. When player unit is first given setup file on SD card, it will appear correctly in BrightAuthor, then software will lose communication with player and it will say "unable to connect to (IP of players)". Cannot understand why I can ping players and connect to them using IE (with player IP in URL). Have tried using statip IPs on players and DHCP. Players and BrightAuthor PC are on same building LAN segment.
Any help appreciated. Would like to know, exactly, how BrightAuthor initiates and maintains connection to players in "Publish" or "Manage" so as to work with client IT staff to help troubleshoot cause of issue.
I have verified that customer not using a proxy, however they do have web filtering appliances on network (however, like I said, I can access players reliably using browser).

HELP! customer getting frustrated.
 
alexander_1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 am

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:31 am

I am experiencing exactly the same problem, everything worked fine the first time BrightAuthor discovered my 3 x HD1010's then when I try to reconnect to them I receive 'Unable to access a BrightSign at that IP address' even though I can ping the device and the connected screen is showing the correct IP address. HELP PLEASE
 
RokuLyndon

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:59 am

BrightAuthor communicates using http. The port on the player it connects to is port 8080. On the computer, it uses whatever ports the system gives to it. When the units lose connectivity, is the unit still playing what you last published? Since you can log in using the IP address of the player, if you click on the control tab, and reboot the unit does it start working again?

I know proxy software, virus software, even vpn software can cause problems with BrightAuthor communication. Can you send what manual ip information you used to support @ brightsign.biz?

Are any of these units setup to communicate wirelessly? if so, then another possibility is the unit might be dropping off the network due to wifi connectivity/signal issues.
 
sp_roehm
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:48 pm

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:41 pm

I am also experiencing this problem. I have no security enabled on my router and it is within 20 feet of my HD210w. I am running the latest (as of 1/25/2012) firmware and version of BrightAuthor. It connected wirelessly to the HD210w once and since then get an error message 'Unable to access a BrightSign at that IP address'.
 
alexander_1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 am

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:53 pm

Has the Brightsign unit you are trying to communicate with got a SD card in it, I had exactly the same issue and found that each Brightsign unit must have a SD card in it full time, I used the SD card to update the settings then pulled it and used it on another device, after a couple of minutes I found I lost connection to it.

EACH BRIGHTSIGN UNIT NEEDS A SD CARD IN IT PERMANENTLY FOR IT TO WORK CORRECTLY - I've no idea why this isn't displayed more prominently in the user guide. I took me hours to troubleshoot this.
 
RokuLyndon

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:41 pm

The SD card requirement is covered a number of places in our faq, and in the getting started guide. The brightsign tutorial video shows that the card is needed as well. But, this question does keep coming up.

Where specifically did you look? I'll make a note to have those sections updated.
 
nickjb
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:02 pm

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:06 pm

Has anybody solved this one yet? I think I might have a similar issue. I've got an HD210, the first time I set it up it seemed to connect OK but it's said access denied since then. Tried various tweaks, turned off anti-virus, not sure what else to do. It pings OK.

EDIT seems to be working now. I don't think I changed anything.
 
CurlyAU
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:07 pm

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:54 pm

Yes, I'm experiencing this problem too.

I have about 15 HD 1010s, and most of them are working fine - I'm connecting to them via local networking, and pushing presentations up just fine.

Three of them are having problems though. I can ping them, and I can view the web interface fine, but BrightAuthor can't see them. I get the error stating 'no brightsign at that address'. This is with the 3.7.54 firmware and the 3.7.44. The other working units are attached to the same switch, on the same LAN, and are running the 3.7.44 firmware.

If I format the SD card and set up the unit from scratch, I'm able to access them via local networking. I'm able to push an update up, but after an hour or so, they stop responding via local networking. I can still ping and view the web interface though.

Rebooting the unit doesn't resolve the problem, leading me to think that maybe the SD card is filling up or something?

edit: unfortunately not:
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 3864064 140480 3723584 4% /storage/sd



I'm really puzzled, and would really appreciate some assistance.


Mark.
 
alexander_1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 am

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:17 am

Hi Mark,
I had the exact same problem about a month ago and have previously posted in this thread, our issue turned out to be a network ports problem, the desktop running brightauthor had its IE proxy set to use port 8080 as we proxy authentcate internet traffic, the Brightsign units use port 8080 to communicate, we found that once we disabled the proxy on the desktop access started working again. I assume this issue would also extend to any other software potentially using port 8080 from the desktop side, might be worth doing a netstat just to check. This drove us absolutely crazy I don't know why Brightsign chose 8080 because its the most common proxy port. We ended up setting up a separate virtualised PC that the admin staff remote into when they want to update content on the units because if we install BrightAuthor on their desktops no one can access the internet.

Alexander
 
CurlyAU
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:07 pm

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:24 am

Thanks Alexander, great info.

I don't have a proxy set on those PCs, so they shouldn't have any problem with port 8080.

I just tried telnetting to the brightsign on port 80, and was successful. Port 8080 wasn't successful

I also tried connecting from a linux box on the network, which definitely doesn't have anything running on that port. Successful on 80, not on 8080.

nmap shows that port 80 is the only port open on the 'faulty' units, whereas an nmap port scan on a 'working' unit shows both 80 and 8080 open.

Which would suggest the problem is with the player, not the workstation config.
 
alexander_1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 am

Re: HD1010 local networking problem HELP

Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:40 am

Hi CurleyAU,
I've just tried telnetting to port 8080 and it works (abeit blank screen) on all three of our working units so as you say it must be an issue with the units themselves perhaps.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests