Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
zoraq
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 7:57 pm

Power Supply Question

Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:22 am

I too have joined the ranks of having a non working HD1000. Has anybody seen this problem?
The unit does not power up, no front panel lights and no ethernet port lights either. The power supply LED is green and not blinking. Upon checking the voltages on the motherboard, TP 58-2.5v, TP 45-1.8v, TP 29-1.5v Then I checked the 5v test point on the motherboard next to the power supply connector, it reads 4v (ah!) and 3.3v reads 2.7v (another ah!). Nothing feels hot, there are no burn marks. I took off the metal shield on the power supply and all the caps "look normal". Any ideas? I'm thinking the switching FET and C5 or the 7805.

Thanks, Henry
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Power Supply Question

Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:29 am

zoraq wrote:
I too have joined the ranks of having a non working HD1000. Has anybody seen this problem?
The unit does not power up, no front panel lights and no ethernet port lights either. The power supply LED is green and not blinking. Upon checking the voltages on the motherboard, TP 58-2.5v, TP 45-1.8v, TP 29-1.5v Then I checked the 5v test point on the motherboard next to the power supply connector, it reads 4v (ah!) and 3.3v reads 2.7v (another ah!). Nothing feels hot, there are no burn marks. I took off the metal shield on the power supply and all the caps "look normal". Any ideas? I'm thinking the switching FET and C5 or the 7805.

Thanks, Henry


Sounds like a power supply issue...
You can shotgun parts and if you don't fix it through some serendipity, then you can send it to Pyramid-Audio.
See if you find some help/ideas in this thread too ( http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=276 )

Check your PM, I sent you some more ideas.

Regards, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
zoraq
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 7:57 pm

Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:08 pm

After further snooping I find that the input voltage to the 7805 is 5.6v, from what I remember I believe it should be atleast 7.5v for proper regulation. I wish I had a schematic.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:25 am

zoraq wrote:
After further snooping I find that the input voltage to the 7805 is 5.6v, from what I remember I believe it should be atleast 7.5v for proper regulation. I wish I had a schematic.


If you find a schematic, let me know, we/I had to reverse engineer everthing. A schematic would make life a whole lto easier. Check your PM and we can figure out some TP's to probe.
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
scans
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:18 am

Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:20 pm

Just wanted to share my extremely positive experience with Matt and the folks at Pyramid Audio. Got my Roku power supply fixed with quick turn around! What a life saver!!!
 
jxlh999
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:14 am
Contact:

Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:45 am

Let me try it first....
 
wideasleep1
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Sausalito,Ca
Contact:

Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:53 am

^^^spammer^^^
Then as it was, then again it will be
An' though the course may change sometimes,
rivers always reach the sea

M1000x2,M2000,Twonky 4.3.3 RC1 beta on LinkStation HGLAN400gig,Buffalo whr-g54s on DD-WRTfirmware-luv'in it!
 
pxegeek
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:23 pm

Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:17 pm

Any luck with this one? One of mine just died with the same symptoms. No power LED, no ethernet LED, but under the cover the LED on the power supply is lit green.

This Roku has been worked over by Pyramid already (does that work come with a guarantee?)

Chris
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:13 am

pxegeek wrote:
Any luck with this one? One of mine just died with the same symptoms. No power LED, no ethernet LED, but under the cover the LED on the power supply is lit green.

This Roku has been worked over by Pyramid already (does that work come with a guarantee?)

Chris


This really smells of U12...

There are times that even when the heat sink is added to a prevoiusly in use (read came with the unit from day one) U12 that it (U12) still croaks. I assume it may have had one foot in the grave and then just gave up the fight? Call Pyramid-Audio and see what they say. There is a warrany, I just don't know what it is.
Hope this helps, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
pxegeek
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:23 pm

Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:38 pm

The heatsink above the ATI chip is warm, but above U12 it's stone cold.
It's going to be on its way back to Texas again next week. Thanks to Chris @ Pyramid for agreeing to cover the rework under the previous repair ticket.
 
XIONG
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 7:13 am
Contact:

Sun May 11, 2008 9:10 am

A ticket do not have to worry about maintenance, the results showed that, but it would be better not
 
alk3997
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:09 pm

Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:46 am

pxegeek wrote:
The heatsink above the ATI chip is warm, but above U12 it's stone cold.
It's going to be on its way back to Texas again next week. Thanks to Chris @ Pyramid for agreeing to cover the rework under the previous repair ticket.


Can you point me to the thread (or just re-append) the information on how to get in touch with Chris @ Pyramid? I'd like to send my (previously Roku-repaired) Roku to Pyramid.

Andy
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:03 pm

alk3997 wrote:
pxegeek wrote:
The heatsink above the ATI chip is warm, but above U12 it's stone cold.
It's going to be on its way back to Texas again next week. Thanks to Chris @ Pyramid for agreeing to cover the rework under the previous repair ticket.


Can you point me to the thread (or just re-append) the information on how to get in touch with Chris @ Pyramid? I'd like to send my (previously Roku-repaired) Roku to Pyramid.

Andy


Try this..
http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=300
PM me if you need any more help, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests