Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Power Supply Vulnerability: HD1000

Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:06 pm

Just finishing first-time setup of HD1000 after it sat in the closet for
3 years. (my fast-lane was too hectic upon purchase and my patience too thin)

I'm VERY happy with what I'm discovering about this unit..... Very glad
I finally pulled it out of the closet.!!!!!!

Techies.......
I read a lot in the forum about power supply issues on the HD1000. Can these be minimized if power to the unit is removed after shut-down? I know with a vcr and many monitors,... power supply is still handling power input while the unit is shut off.

Thanks
Sony KDL-52XBR3
Yamaha HTR-6090
5 Ascend Acoustics CMT-340E
2 Ascend Acoustics CBM-170E
2 Ascend Acoustics HTM-200SE
HSU-VTF-3MK3 Sub



HD1000
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: Power Supply Vulnerability: HD1000

Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:18 am

Yochanan wrote:
Just finishing first-time setup of HD1000 after it sat in the closet for
3 years. (my fast-lane was too hectic upon purchase and my patience too thin)

I'm VERY happy with what I'm discovering about this unit..... Very glad
I finally pulled it out of the closet.!!!!!!

Techies.......
I read a lot in the forum about power supply issues on the HD1000. Can these be minimized if power to the unit is removed after shut-down? I know with a vcr and many monitors,... power supply is still handling power input while the unit is shut off.

Thanks


Use the search function of this forum and see if you can find the info you need.
To answer your question, yes some people put it on a power strip (that has a switch) and turn it off after each use. Keep in mind you will have to wait for it to boot up each time. Is is REV-A or REV-B?
Hope this is helpful, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Yochanan
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:08 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:30 am

Happily.....Rev B..

Thanks for the info.....
Sony KDL-52XBR3

Yamaha HTR-6090

5 Ascend Acoustics CMT-340E

2 Ascend Acoustics CBM-170E

2 Ascend Acoustics HTM-200SE

HSU-VTF-3MK3 Sub







HD1000
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Re: Power Supply Vulnerability: HD1000

Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:32 am

Burkhardi wrote:
To answer your question, yes some people put it on a power strip (that has a switch) and turn it off after each use.

There are also those who would say turning it on and off frequently (by this method of removing AC in) could also lead to premature failure.

However, as unreliable as the supply in the Photobridge is, it's a crap shoot how long it will last.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests