Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
snowman136
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:27 pm

PhotoBridge Power Problem - what is U12?

Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:50 pm

The voltage regulator at U12 on my revB PB is dead. 3.28V in on pin 2 and 0V out on pin 3. Can anyone tell me what regulator this is? Is it a LP3961EMP-1.8/NOPB?

And can anyone recommend a specific heatsink for it?

Thanks!
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Re: PhotoBridge Power Problem - what is U12?

Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:18 am

snowman136 wrote:
The voltage regulator at U12 on my revB PB is dead. 3.28V in on pin 2 and 0V out on pin 3. Can anyone tell me what regulator this is? Is it a LP3961EMP-1.8/NOPB?

And can anyone recommend a specific heatsink for it?

Thanks!


Unless you work with SMD alot, it can be pain to repalce U12. Check your PM (private message) for some info about Pyrmaid-Audio.
Regards, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: PhotoBridge Power Problem - what is U12?

Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:08 pm

snowman136 wrote:
The voltage regulator at U12 on my revB PB is dead. 3.28V in on pin 2 and 0V out on pin 3. Can anyone tell me what regulator this is? Is it a LP3961EMP-1.8/NOPB?

Hi,

Based on study of the board and data sheets, as far as I can tell it is a LP3965EMP-ADJ (it is an adjustable regulator set to 1.2 volts if memory serves). Matt can probably confirm if this is the case.

If you get it wrong, you can fry the graphics processor of course, since this chip provides regulation for the processor core voltage.

Cheers,

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
jm_maclaren
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:51 pm

I had pinnacle replace the U12 on one of my rokus and have been very happy. When I replace the power supply and it didn't restart I thought it was a gonner. The unit has been running 24/7 since then. Thanks Matt and the guys @ pinnacle.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:48 pm

jm_maclaren wrote:
I had pinnacle replace the U12 on one of my rokus and have been very happy. When I replace the power supply and it didn't restart I thought it was a gonner. The unit has been running 24/7 since then. Thanks Matt and the guys @ pinnacle.


I assume you ment Pyramid (Pyramid-Audio), right? If so, then thanks very much for the kudos and support!

Les is correct, it is a LP3965EMP-ADJ; all three are the same (1.5v,1.8v and 2.5v) and the components in the circuit set the output voltage for each.
Regards, Matt
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
jm_maclaren
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:03 am

Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:19 pm

yep its just an early senior moment from someone in the big easy, I did mean pyramid-audio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests