Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
docrobster
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:34 am

Streaming TS Files to PhotoBridge????

Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:04 pm

Thanks to Matt (Burkhardi), I have gotten a nice little media PhotoBridge. Now is where I need your help. I can pull of ISO/VOB movies stored on my Linux Samba drives using mPlayer. Now I want to stream MPEG TS directly to the Roku. I want to do it on my internal network from VLC which is pushing it out on my linux server.

Actuality what I cam doing is pulling HD feeds off of Ku Linear Satellite via my DVB card in my Linux server then I can push it out with VLC.

Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks

Rob
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Streaming TS Files to PhotoBridge????

Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:48 pm

docrobster wrote:
I can pull of ISO/VOB movies stored on my Linux Samba drives using mPlayer. Now I want to stream MPEG TS directly to the Roku.


Just open the .ts file with MPlay. It should start playing in full HD glory.

Use info twice to switch between video subchannels if there are more than one.

Use play twice in quick succession to resync if audio and video ever get out of sync.

Let us all know how it works for you.
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
docrobster
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:34 am

Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:06 pm

That is almost it. I don't want to save the file first, I want to sent it live to the Roku.

Does that make sense?
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:01 am

Have you tried UDPlive?
I recompiled it so that it would work on the latest beta PhotoBridge firmwares, heres a link to it

http://members.upc.ie/p.mc.quillan/UdpLive_unofficial_2.0.34.zip

And heres a couple of threads talking about udplive

http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=785
http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=2888

To be honest I only recompiled the code and saw I got video so I haven't really 'used' it, but it certainly is capable of showing video sent from VLC.
 
docrobster
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:34 am

Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:29 am

OK i now have time to test the Roku. I got the VLC streaming to other VLC clients on my network without any problems.

I unzipped your program, placed it on my CF card and it does not show up on the Roku screen.

any help and suggestions?
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Sat Aug 23, 2008 10:37 am

docrobster wrote:
OK i now have time to test the Roku. I got the VLC streaming to other VLC clients on my network without any problems.

I unzipped your program, placed it on my CF card and it does not show up on the Roku screen.

any help and suggestions?


The Zip seems to only have one file in it called Udplive and there seems to be no associatoin/extention with it. On my winddows box, it shows it as udplive.file
So I renamed it to udplive.roku and am fixen to try it.

Try the same (change it to a .roku file) and see what you get

EDIT: So it looks like UDP Live needs to run on the host, right Soiaf ?

Use it this way:

1) Start VLC streaming a TS file via UDP to the Roku's IP address
2) Launch UdpLive - either via the UI or command line
3) When you're done watching, press "exit"
4) Stop the VLC stream

The app may not exit properly if you stop VLC first.

If you need to change the port number from the default 1234, you can pass it to UdpLive as a cmdline param. UdpLive.roku is just a shell script which calls ./UdpLive 1234.

You will have problems with glitches in playback unless you update /etc/sysctl.conf with these settings and reboot (or execute sysctl -p):

# Improve UDP (and TCP) performance
net.core.rmem_max = 8388608
net.core.wmem_max = 8388608
net.core.rmem_default = 65536
net.core.wmem_default = 65536
net.ipv4.tcp_rmem = '4096 87380 8388608'
net.ipv4.tcp_wmem = '4096 65536 8388608'
net.ipv4.tcp_mem = '8388608 8388608 8388608'

Good luck!
_arock
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:11 am

Sorry about that, I found the post where I had originally posted this new version.

http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=2905

Looks like you need to download the file at the top of this page, and then just replace the Udplive file with the one I posted.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:12 am

soiaf wrote:
Sorry about that, I found the post where I had originally posted this new version.

http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=2905

Looks like you need to download the file at the top of this page, and then just replace the Udplive file with the one I posted.


Both the link for the full zip (2.0.24) and the source code seem to be dead.
Where you able to pull from them earlier, or did you have an archive somewhere?

Thanks for the help and attention!
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:35 am

Yes, I had a look and found a copy of the file on my system. Heres a link to it

http://members.upc.ie/p.mc.quillan/UdpLive-0.1_fw2.0.24.zip
 
docrobster
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:34 am

Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:12 am

Thanks guys! I will try it. Sounds like I need to replace the one file with the file that that was re-compiled for the newer Roku OS.

Right?
 
docrobster
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:34 am

Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:36 am

IT WORKS!!!!

I am going to now test a high bit-rate HD stream and see if i can pass 5.1 Dolby and HD.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests