Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
MoJo
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:07 pm

sob...sob...

Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:07 pm

Well, it finally happened to me. Today, Thanksgiving day, when I went to turn on my (Rev A) HD1000 nothing happened. The unit was cold, nobody home.

I was an early adopter with my first post on this forum being back in September 2004. I made it 25 months with my unit and it will be sorely missed. I'll probably just send it back to Roku since life is much too busy to screw around with anything else. I hope they still fix it! We use MPlay constantly to watch recorded shows.

Steve
 
sfmartin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:05 am

Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:24 am

Well, mine failed today. It had had the power supply replaced a couple of years ago. The interesting thing is that the "busy" light is on, so the power aupply must not be completely gone. The power light will not come on. Any ideas?
Sherrill Martin
 
zargon
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:05 pm

Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:00 am

Even though I got my PB up and running using a external ATX, it just is not the same.

It looks like it is a time for a change, MVIX MX-760HD comes out this Friday for $330 and the MVIX MX-5000u is already out for $200. Both giving you more features than the PB or its so called replacement. Only thing I will miss is the third party support, but what good is third party support when the device is a problem to start with?
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

New power supply added 1 year of life

Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:58 am

My Rev A PhotoBridge just failed again. As long-time readers of this thread will know, I replaced the power supply almost exactly 1 year ago, and documented the procedure here:

http://frequal.com/roku/PowerSupplyRepl ... Guide.html

Yesterday my repaired PhotoBridge stopped working. It was still warm, but there was no component output and it was not visible on the network. The power light came on sometimes after plugging it in but the "busy" LED never flashes.

I tested the voltages at the motherboard connector, and they all match what is printed on the motherboard.

It seems that my motherboard has failed somehow. I will contact Roku to ask about their repair procedure. I hope they are willing to work on a PhotoBridge with a third-party power supply! :-) It actually doesn't look too hard to replace the motherboard as a DIY project, maybe they'll ship me a replacement motherboard.

Have others had Roku replace their PB motherboard? What was the quoted price? Do they still have spare motherboards available?

-Andy
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: New power supply added 1 year of life

Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:10 pm

andy wrote:
Have others had Roku replace their PB motherboard? What was the quoted price? Do they still have spare motherboards available?

When I asked about a repair for an apparently dead motherboard, I was told the only thing they could do was sell me a refurbished unit for $199.

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
eht
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:29 am

Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:01 pm

I'm also in the group with a dead hd1000 power supply, and finally got around to checking it out last night. Since I haven't seen any actual current measurements posted, I thought I'd add some numbers from some testing I did. Here's what I found:

Wall power: 30W (48VA, pf 0.63)

3.3v rail:
Voltage: 3.0v
Current: 2.25A
Power: 6.75W

5.0v rail:
Voltage: 5.4v
Current: 0.08A
Power: 0.43W

Total measured power consumption at the board of 7.18W, and current well below the rated capability of the stock power supply. All measurements were taken during both image slideshow and mpeg playback, didn't seem to make any difference.

The atx power supply I was testing with obviously has lousy regulation and is not very efficient at that output level....

Eric
 
aibo
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: NY/NJ USA
Contact:

Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:09 pm

Interesting findings ... uses much less power than the heat being generated would suggest. Any ideas why the PSU gets so hot? My unmodified unit reached 110+ degree hot with ambient temperature being below 80 degrees … and died soon after.
 
fleabags
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:14 pm

Resistor on Power Supply Board

Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:34 pm

I am going to try to replace some of the fried components on the Power Supply Board to get it back up and running. I have identified all but one of the components.

There is one small resistor in location R16. This is right below the R16 marking, sandwiched between two other small resistors. Mine is completely toast and unrecognizable.

If anyone has a power supply in hand and can tell me the resistor color code, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks
 
fleabags
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:14 pm

Power Supply Repair

Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:18 pm

As a follow-up to my previous post. The actual board postition is R15 not R16 as I thought.

Thanks,
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Resistor on Power Supply Board

Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:12 pm

fleabags wrote:
I am going to try to replace some of the fried components on the Power Supply Board to get it back up and running. I have identified all but one of the components.

There is one small resistor in location R16. This is right below the R16 marking, sandwiched between two other small resistors. Mine is completely toast and unrecognizable.

If anyone has a power supply in hand and can tell me the resistor color code, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Did you see BJJohn's parts list post here? http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=10295

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
fjerina
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:53 am

Power Supply Problems

Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:00 am

I have one of the HD1000 that has a broken power supply. I just sent an email to Roku support asking them if they fixed their obvious design problem with their power supplies (since many people had the same problem). I do not want to spend $75 and shipping costs to have my unit fixed by Roku only to have it go bad again 6 months from now. They only give a 3 month repair warranty on their products. Does anyone know if my $75 to repair my unit will be a good investment???
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Re: Power Supply Problems

Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:45 am

fjerina wrote:
Does anyone know if my $75 to repair my unit will be a good investment???

I honestly don't think anyone can answer that but you! Are you comfortable with repairing it yourself by buying parts? If not, then you either have to pay Roku to fix it, or buy another PB (currently going on Ebay in the $220-$270 range). Neither of those options is going to get you a power supply any more reliable than the original flawed unit though.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
wheelman
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:45 pm

Re: I think I Found the Holy Grail

Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:53 pm

quartrj wrote:
Anyone Look At this Power Supply from Cincon


http://www.cincon.com/product_ac_detail ... spec_3.gif

Look at specs for CFM40T-07 and it is only $40 at mouser.com.

Ok found another at Jameco

https://www.jameco.com/Jameco/Products/ ... 171731.pdf

This one is only $7.95

Don't laugh look at the specsheet.



I just ordered the Jameco PS & will let you know how it works out. I figured for 7.95 it is worth a try.
 
zephyr
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:53 pm

Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:50 pm

Do we know if a power supply swapout on a working unit is sufficient to keep it operative indefinitely? Or is the mainboard also doomed to failure in spite of relief from the power supply issues?

In other words ....

If I bought a working replacement of the Photobridge, and then did the power supply replacement to one external to the Roku cabinet --- thus eliminating the heat issues --- would it still be a matter of (short) time until I have mainboard issues? Or would such a thing have a reasonable expectation of more than one or two years of service?

-Zephyr
 
GargiuloJ
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:41 pm
Location: New York

Another successful Morex PS swap

Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:04 pm

FWIW

I replaced my dead power supply with the morex unit just before the new year. Added a fan as well.

Thanks to everyone on this post for the info.

Reposting this URL so others who jump to the end of this thread can find it easier.
http://rev-a-dead-roku-club.blogspot.com


// GargiuloJ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests