Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

DaveK0974
Topic Author

Possible buyer, not sure if its the right box !

Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:05 am

Hi all,
I'm a relative newbie to the forum and have just bought a new super-power G5 mac tower with a s@*t load of ram etc in it and so-on. I have a wish to minimalize my entertainment room clutter (audio units dvd racks etc) and have just got an M1000 which i am most pleased with, i now have over 5000 tracks on tap without getting out of my chair :-)

The next thing i want is to get rid of my dvd player etc. Is the photobridge the correct unit to stream ripped dvd's from my mac to my projector/tv setup?

It would need to support all dvd formats, thx/dts and pro-logic sound, have optical/co-ax/discrete 5.1 channel sound o/p and s-vhs or rgb video o/p.

I have been reading various threads and some seem most discouraging, am i looking in the right area or does this type of equipment not exist yet?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

pg_rider

Re: Possible buyer, not sure if its the right box !

Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:42 am

DaveK0974 wrote:
Hi all,
The next thing i want is to get rid of my dvd player etc. Is the photobridge the correct unit to stream ripped dvd's from my mac to my projector/tv setup?

It would be if you didn't need DTS as you mentioned. The PB won't support it, so you need to rip your DVDs with DD 5.1 only. Kinda sucks, but what can you do....

mebby

Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:45 am

It also doesn't yet support full DVD menus. You can use Mplay (third party app) to stream the DVD but you won't have menu support.

Having said that - I use it for streaming my DVD collection and absolutely love it. I don't really care about the menus. Not have support for DTS kinda sucks, but other than that I think it's one of the best solutions out there for automating your DVD library.
M1000 wired running WMC and Rhapsody servers
M1001 wireless running WMC and Rhapsody servers
HD1000 wired

DaveK0974
Topic Author

Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:32 pm