Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

suresh
Topic Author

Need help for a home network

Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:05 pm

I have had a home network(I am not a computer expert) with the Roku, 3 cabled desktops, 2 wireless laptops and 1 wireless desktop.
The network has been running now for 6 years.
I have periodically upgraded Op systems and hardware.
My Roku still has the original build ?1.5.18 as this is all I need ( I use it to see digital photographs on a HDTV and listen to MP3 on my home system.

Over the last few months problems have developed in the network which I have not been able to solve.

First when I tried to upgrade one of the wireless laptops to 802g from 802b I ran into driver problems and it no longer is wireless which is not a problem as it still works on the cable network.

What is a BIG problem however is that some of the desktops lost connections to each other on ethernet (internet access is still there for all of them BUT I could not access files or drives). It started with 2 desktops but this did not bother me much because the 2 main desktops I use (both of which also have all the files that I need for the ROKU) still worked, with each other and the Roku.
I was unable to solve the file/drive access problem(I did notice that when I tried to reestablish a home network with the network wizard the firewall would automatically come on and even if I turned firewall off, it would still come on while the home network wizard did its thing - at the end the firewall would go on and there would be no drive or file access no matter what I did.

Today the remaining computers lost sharing capability and the Roku works with only one of the computers(roku was connected when the network lost drive access and I am afraid that if I turn the roku off and on I will lose all access between the Roku and the remaining computer.
All computers run windows XP and automaitically update.