Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
sansp00
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Beloeil, Quebec
Contact:

Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:09 am

Is it really woth it to move to Gbit setup cause I've been looking into this and the price difference is big ... Hardware is double~triple the price and so is wiring.
I've used RS232, coax and now cat5 RJ45 + WiFi for my home network in the last 10~15 years and to be honest, the main reason to change was ease of use.
With compression algos/techno evolving and the widespread use of Fast Ethernet over Gbit, it really makes me wonder if I'll ever reach point of saturation over 10/100 home network and that even with media streaming.
Any thoughts on that ?

Patrick S.
Roku HD1000 (revived!), R1000 x2, M1001 x2
Linksys NSLU2 with Firefly
Netgear WGR614,JGS516,GS608,GS605 x3
 
jimre

Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:17 am

sansp00 wrote:
Is it really woth it to move to Gbit setup cause I've been looking into this and the price difference is big ... Hardware is double~triple the price and so is wiring.
I've used RS232, coax and now cat5 RJ45 + WiFi for my home network in the last 10~15 years and to be honest, the main reason to change was ease of use.
With compression algos/techno evolving and the widespread use of Fast Ethernet over Gbit, it really makes me wonder if I'll ever reach point of saturation over 10/100 home network and that even with media streaming.
Any thoughts on that ?

Patrick S.
One HD stream at a time is no problem for 100 Mbit ethernet. It's when you start having multiple people in different rooms each watching a different HD stream that you'll need gigabit ethernet. Also keep in mind things like DVRs that are capturing programs to a NAS or server will use network bandwidth.
 
sansp00
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Beloeil, Quebec
Contact:

Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:29 am

I just found a good deal for a 8 ports Netgear Gbit switch, so I guess I'll finally go that route. Now if I can get a good deal on cat6 wiring ...

On a similar note, for speaker wiring, what kind of wiring do you guys use ( gauge, brand ... ) ? I was thinking of having my speaker wiring done and wall mount banana plug ... The room is a 14x22 feet.

Thanks

Patrick S.
Roku HD1000 (revived!), R1000 x2, M1001 x2

Linksys NSLU2 with Firefly

Netgear WGR614,JGS516,GS608,GS605 x3
 
jor
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 7:51 pm

Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:36 am

D-link has had a model out for a good while now (6 months?) - I think the 108. Sold as the 'extreme gaming' router option. G, some sort of canned QoS solution you can switch on to optimize for gaming response, and gig ports. No jumbo frames, I don't think, which would be the next thing. Some of the gigE NAS devices don't perform much better than on 100 unless jumbo frames are used.
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:08 pm

jimre wrote:
sansp00 wrote:
Any thoughts on that ?
One HD stream at a time is no problem for 100 Mbit ethernet.

Concur. Even two independent HD streams might tax a cheap 100MBit switch. I think at three you could pretty much forget it.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
Donald
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Phh O EE Nix

Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:38 pm

sansp00 wrote:
On a similar note, for speaker wiring, what kind of wiring do you guys use ( gauge, brand ... ) ?
Patrick S.


I use 14 or 16 gauge low voltage landscape lighting wire. Cheapest per lf, flexible, and durable. Pick it up at your nearest home improvement center.

Donald
 
mjl
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:36 am

Switch

Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:13 pm

I just bought a 5 port 10/100 Linksys switch for $10 at Radio Shack and a 8 port 10/100 Linksys switch for $32 (buy.com). Both are so simple to hook up and work great. I do not have a need yet for streaming multiple HD so I can wait for gbit switch to come down in price.

Question - I ran cat5e all over my house about five years ago but with cat5 connectors (difficult to find cat5e connectors at the time and too expensive) would I need to change the connector to utilize the cat 5e or the cat5 connector makes no difference?
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:49 pm

sansp00 wrote:
On a similar note, for speaker wiring, what kind of wiring do you guys use ( gauge, brand ... ) ?

I've always used 14ga. I've never been picky about brand, never had an amp of high enough quality where it would even remotely be possible to tell any difference.

I'd NEVER waste the kind of money Monster etc. ask for speaker wire though....
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests