Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
ljkapler
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:19 pm

How do I store a URL to a Preset

Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:25 pm

One of my favorite radio stations here in Houston KKBQ switched streaming providers a few weeks ago, and the link has changed to - http://streaming.thenew93q.com/_players ... ign=KKBQFM.

How can I store this new URL to my Soundbridge Radio preset?
 
chakarata
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:10 am
Location: Hong Kong S.A.R. China

How do I store a URL to a Preset

Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:37 pm

Bregent, I think a more detailed explanation of:

"Just browse to your SoundBridge IP address and go to the preset page,"

would be appropriate.

It took me ages to discover how to "browse" my Soundbridge IP address.

In my case entering "http://192.168.1.2" in the URL window of my FireFox browser. I am not expert enough to know if this is the correct URL address for all cases. Perhaps you could clarify this.
 
jtbse
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:45 am
Location: USA East Coast

Re: How do I store a URL to a Preset

Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:14 pm

chakarata wrote:
In my case entering "http://192.168.1.2" in the URL window of my FireFox browser. I am not expert enough to know if this is the correct URL address for all cases. Perhaps you could clarify this.


Yes... http:// and the IP address of the SoundBridge should always do the trick.

Alas, the Roku user manual isn't very clear on this point. But it does walk through adding an UPnP icon to "My Network Places" (Windows) on p.38.....which I guess makes sense as by default, most people will be assigning the SB address with DHCP, so it may change from time to time.

You can also telnet to it using the IP address and port 4444 for doing things like manual network setup or assigning the unit a static IP address.
Maxtor 500GB USB->Linksys NSLU2 Unslung->Firefly svn-1696 * M1000->Onkyo TXSR502->Boston Acoustics front, Audiosource surrounds and sub * M500->Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:46 pm

To find the IP address of your SoundBridge, press the ‘home’ button on the remote-control,
Now use the down-arrow to then select "Change Library or Configuration",
Use down-arrow to then select the "System Configuration" menu and, (depending upon your chosen method of connecting your SoundBridge), choose either ‘Show Wi-Fi Status’ or ‘Show Wired Ethernet Status’, and there you'll see the IP address.

No matter if you’ve got a PC or a MAC, these details are explained in the SoundBridge User's Guide.
 
chakarata
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:10 am
Location: Hong Kong S.A.R. China

How do I store a URL to a Preset

Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:26 pm

Thank you both, "jtbse" & in particular "alanmc".

That little bit of info on how to find the Soundbridge IP address is invaluable. Far better than the 'hit and miss' methods that I've used before.

As for "jtse's" use of Telnet and port numbers, this is an area that I personally tread with trepidation, as I am not familiar enough with such technical spheres. However, I have printed this info out for future reference as the 'Manual for Soundbridge' could be a bit more informative.

I hope that the powers that be at Roku can take a hint from this comment.

Thank you two again for this valuable info.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest