Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
enigma9o7
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:26 pm

Roku 3400x converts Plex 1080p to 720p

Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:34 pm

I have a plex server and no problem watching 1080p content on other plex devices like my Tivo or my TVs built in plex app.

Is this just me or do others get 1080p in Plex?  Anything I can do about it?   [Yes, I have the Roku set to 1080p].

In fact, I didn't find any roku channel doing 1080p, including Amazon Prime.   I don't have a netflix account, but another forum member with the same Roku (3400x) and firmware (9.0.0) confirmed that although their roku menu is in 720p, it switches to 1080p when they watch netflix....   

edit - updated problem based on post 3 advice.
Last edited by enigma9o7 on Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.
 
enigma9o7
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Plex won't send 1080p to my Roku.

Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:42 pm

In case one asks why even bother to use plex on roku then, I'll answer that now, didn't include it in the first post cuz it's basically irrelevant.

My Tivo (Roamio OTA) has audio limitations Roku doesn't have.  The only surround format it accepts is AC3 5.1, so DTS and EAC3 get transcoded to AC3 5.1 and work.  Surround AAC doesn't get transcoded and ends up at my receiver in stereo, not sure why, but even if I figured out a solution, still no more than 5.1 anyway.   I do have 7.1 surround speakers and would like to take advantage of it, thus Roku solves that.

My TV itself may or may not have audio limitations cuz I gave up or ARC.  It's too flakey and unreliable with my TV & AVR, every time I thought I got it working, it'd flake out again later.  So I never use my TVs built in Apps.

My BD Player (Oppo 103) doesn't have a Plex app.  Their solution is to use Roku MHL stick.  Which I do and that's what the first post is about.
 
ronfelder
Posts: 488
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 1:43 pm
Location: new jersey
Contact:

Re: Plex won't send 1080p to my Roku.

Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:09 pm

Love plex and I get 1080p from m roku. Assuming your settings on your plex app and server are set to allow sending and receiving 1080p.
Roku 2100x, (2) Roku2 3100x ,Roku 2720X .FIOS Quantum modem router, Verizon FIOS 50/50, LG HDTV 42LH90, Pioneer VSX-920 Audio/Video Multi Channel Receiver
 
enigma9o7
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Plex won't send 1080p to my Roku.

Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:22 pm

Wow thanks.  I thought I overlooked something and was gunna be fixed.  But now it's weirder than ever.  There is a setting in the plex roku app for local quality.  I set that to original (it wasn't before).  Now plex doesn't transcode, it is direct play. But Roku still output 720p.  I've tried it in my bluray player and direct into my receiver. 

So now Roku is converting it to 720p itself before sending it out.  I definitely have Roku set to 1080p.
 
enigma9o7
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Roku 3400x converts Plex 1080p to 720p

Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:08 pm

I'd really like to get 1080p out of my Roku... 
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Roku 3400x converts Plex 1080p to 720p

Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:38 pm

enigma9o7 wrote:
I'd really like to get 1080p out of my Roku... 

The MHL Stick supports 1080 only at 24 fps, right? Does your TV support that? If not, the Roku will output at 720p. That's a limitation of the MHL Stick. The HDMI Sticks would be necessary for what you're trying to do.
DBDukes
http://TelevisionMyWay.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DBDukes and 32 guests