Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mike3y
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:05 am

Roku TV - Is something wrong?

Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:17 am

I'm having some problems with my Roku TV. I'm trying to determine if something is wrong with the TV or if it's under powered in comparison to the Roku Stick.

- Insignia 39" Roku TV. - Purchased Fall of 2016
- Newest Roku Stick

In the videos, I'm testing with the Roku TV, and the second video is a Roku Stick plugged into the TV on HDMI.

I wanted to show the comparison in speeds. What are your thoughts?

Roku TV

https://youtu.be/XC-zoqa_uHA

Roku Stick

https://youtu.be/hv1tMxdXb8w
 
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku TV - Is something wrong?

Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:29 am

both the tv and the stick are on the same firmware ?
ROKU 3 4114AT076252
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 5S35CF000124
Roku Express + YU000X236772
all running wireless on a Technicolor C2000T
 
mike.s
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: Roku TV - Is something wrong?

Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:20 am

Is the TV connected via dual-band WiFi? I have an Insignia Roku TV which doesn't behave well on the 5 GHz band (and it's the only device which has problems there). Forcing it to connect to 2.4 GHz by creating an SSID which exists only on that band fixed the issue. The TCL Roku TV works just fine on 5 GHz. Go figure. This is with wireless "n", not "ac".
 
mike3y
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:05 am

Re: Roku TV - Is something wrong?

Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:20 am

Yes both are using the same firmware. 

Yes, I have a dual band setup. I've forced Roku TV to use 2.4ghz with no change. 

I heard in the news Roku OS 7.6 is out. Some of the bug fixes are related to channels. However they haven't specified which ones...

To highlight on things I've done to try to sort this out are below.

- Factory Reset
- Removed and reinstalled Sling TV app. (The TV in general is slower everywhere in comparison. Netflix, etc...)
- Reinstalled the Roku OS
- Messed around with different WIFI channels and 2.4/5ghz .
 
DeRuyterLarry
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:47 am

Re: Roku TV - Is something wrong?

Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:03 am

I have a TCL 40FS3800 with all the connection problems that others have described in this forum.  I just got into the "secret" menu and changed the WiFi power to low.  Lo & behold the tv connected and updated.  I wish the TCL support person would have told me to try that during the 2 hours that I was on the phone with her!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests