Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
ryeguy_24
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:00 am

Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:03 am

I just got the Roku Ultra (upgraded from Roku 3) and after ever new screen, the first button click with the remote is ignored.  I have to repeat the button click.  This happened during setup and also during the main menu. Seems very unnatural and different from Roku 3.  Is this intended behavior?
 
mike1597
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:12 pm

Yes, I have experienced a similar issue.  It doesn't happen all the time and is hit and miss.  At first I thought I wasn't pressing the button hard enough but that isn't the case.  Having used the new Ultra for a few weeks it seems to be less annoying. I'm not quite sure but I think the pattern I see is when the remote hasn't been used for a period of time then it takes more than one button press.  It is as if the remote is in sleep mode and the first press wakes it up, then the second button press functions properly. I'm most aware of this when streaming for a period of time then press the the home button.
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:11 am

Usually that delay is the remote syncing up with the Roku. Remember that these remotes use Wi-Fi Direct, so when they go to sleep (or powered off of course) the connection is closed. After waking up, it takes a moment. You might notice an icon appear in the upper right corner of the screen showing the remote battery level. That appears every time the remote syncs up.
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
 
beq
Posts: 1164
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:40 pm

I've been noticing this too.  Sometimes it seems the first button press is ignored, other times it seems there's just a delay, and pressing the button a 2nd time eventually results in 2 presses registered.  And have also been seeing the remote battery icon at times.

What all of you said above make sense to explain things.  Is it limited to just the 2017 Ultra, or all Roku's on OS 8.0?  Kinda lost track since been messing with different models (starting to set up 3 more Sticks tonight).

Is this a new power-saving technique for the remote's battery life?  I guess we can live with it, but further fine-tuning would also be appreciated.
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:16 am

It didn't start with OS 8. I know I saw it with all versions of OS 7, but can't honestly recall if it goes back to OS 6.
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
 
mike1597
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:03 am

I'm convinced this is a remote issue and not the OS.  The remote's power button which is IR also requires 2 clicks to turn on the TV.  
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:22 pm

The Roku Streaming Stick 3600 remote has the same issue. It's likely a power saver feature.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:13 am

mike1597 wrote:
I'm convinced this is a remote issue and not the OS.  The remote's power button which is IR also requires 2 clicks to turn on the TV.  

Your Roku doesn't use IR for control. It's all WiFi Direct. The power button (as far as I know) is using WiFi.
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
 
mike1597
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:29 pm

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:56 am

atc98092 wrote:
Your Roku doesn't use IR for control. It's all WiFi Direct. The power button (as far as I know) is using WiFi.

The 2017 Roku Sticks and Ultra uses IR not HDMI-CEC for the remote power and volume.
 
beq
Posts: 1164
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Roku Ultra: First Button Click Ignored

Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:21 pm

I wonder if this is a related symptom:

https://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 15#p576174

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests