Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Netflix issues

Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:21 pm

Netflix isn't triggering HDR on my TVs. One is a Samsung 8000 and the other is a Hisense.

Also, the * button no longer brings up stream info. Please bring that back as it helps diagnose stream issues.

My TV reports 8-bit color depth with 4.2.2 and 10-bit with 4.2.0 is this normal?

The replay function no longer shows subtitles.

  • Channel name.
    Netflix
  • Channel version (Home 3x, Up 2x, Left, Right, Left, Right, Left)
          4.2 Build 90079002

The Rokus are an Ultra and Premier + both of which are having the same issues.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
 
rockou
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Netflix issues

Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:16 am

HDR is working fine on my KS8000 Samsung TV and Roku Ultra in Netflix.

You have to press the asterisk button while in the main menu of Netflix and then when you watch a movie it will show the stream info. Do the same thing again to turn it off.
I have never seen my KS8000 report color depth, how do you display that info?
4K HDR TV: Samsung UN60KS8000
4K HDR Receiver: Yamaha RX-V381
4K HDR blu ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
4K HDR streamer: Roku Ultra (2016 model)
4K HDR Gaming: Xbox One X
4K HDR DVR: Directv Genie HS17-500 w/ C61K mini client
Cables: Amazon Basics 18Gbps HDMI
 
mkiker2089
Topic Author
Posts: 2810
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Netflix issues

Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:32 am

edit-- Regarding HDR, turns out Season 1 of Stranger Things either isn't HDR or just isn't making it to me that way. I tested season 2 and a Vudu movie and both are reporting HDR on the Hisense. For the Samsung, I'm not sure. ---end edit

I'm having to get that info off the Hisense. It's an h8 series which is a very good (or at least good) panel with less than ideal upscaling. Hence the Roku being a good fit for it.

My Samsung refuses to tell me anything because soon as I plugged the Roku in the remote for the TV turned itself into a Roku remote. It's quite annoying actually. For the record it could be going into HDR and not telling me but I thing it would say something or at least let me know in the picture menu.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests