Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
xackley
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 10:53 am

ROKU blue screen and subnet mask

Mon May 07, 2018 11:29 am

My Roku went into a boot loop after trying to connect to a new wifi source.

The subnet mask on the router for the lan was 255.255.253.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
dhcp 192.168.100-150

After switching hdmi cables, power source from TV usb to the roku supplied adapter, reseting the roku, setting up a return on Amazon, the roku sat there rebooting.

I then changed the subnet mask on the router to 255.255.255.0
The roku is no longer in a boot loop, but as I did the reset I now have the pleasure of re-entering all my credentials and setting.

Strange. Is this documented anywhere? 
 
twiceover
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: ROKU blue screen and subnet mask

Mon May 07, 2018 12:41 pm

xackley wrote:
My Roku went into a boot loop after trying to connect to a new wifi source.

The subnet mask on the router for the lan was 255.255.253.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
dhcp 192.168.100-150

After switching hdmi cables, power source from TV usb to the roku supplied adapter, reseting the roku, setting up a return on Amazon, the roku sat there rebooting.

I then changed the subnet mask on the router to 255.255.255.0
The roku is no longer in a boot loop, but as I did the reset I now have the pleasure of re-entering all my credentials and setting.

Strange. Is this documented anywhere? 

At 255.255.253.0 is an invalid subnet.  Even if it were valid your DHCP range would be outside of the usable subnet.  Not sure why this would cause a Roku to bootloop, but it wouldn't suprise me if network issues could cause it to reboot like mad.
 
xackley
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 10:53 am

Re: ROKU blue screen and subnet mask

Mon May 07, 2018 1:14 pm

You are 100% correct on the illegal subnet.
I should have checked the setting before trying to join it, but my windows machine and cell connected without issue.
Must be the roku just would not put up with it.
But still, the roku should have displayed an error instead of a boot loop.
Thank you
Don
 
twiceover
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: ROKU blue screen and subnet mask

Mon May 07, 2018 1:18 pm

Yeah, not sure there.  That would be something Roku would have to look at.  Should be easy enough to replicate.  

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: raghumobile and 25 guests