Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
blue_94_trooper
Topic Author
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

BBC America not launching

Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:07 pm

Is anybody else having issues with BBC America?  When I select it I get the splash screen, then it says "Loading" and then I just get dropped back to the menu.  I noticed this first on my new Ultra but just confirmed the same behavior on my 3 that's in the bedroom.  I've tried the usual steps suggested here (Remove/Reboot/Reinstall and Remove/Unplug for 30 seconds/Reinstall) but still get the same thing.  BBC America is listed as Version 2.0 Build 12.  I did a forced check for updates on the Ultra and there were none.  I don't recall exactly when it last worked, it's been at least 6 to 8 weeks back when I still had a 3 in my primary setup.
SoundBridge M500 (retired), PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired), Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2, Roku 2, Roku Ultra
 
blue_94_trooper
Topic Author
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

Re: BBC America not launching - SUPPORT REQUEST

Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:45 pm

I have contacted BBC America but have not heard anything back after several days.

As mentioned below the BBC America Channel does not launch on either of the Rokus I have at home; an Ultra (4660X) and a 3 (4200X). 
I get the splash screen, then "loading" then back to the main Roku menu.  Every time.
The Channel version on both boxes is 2.0 Build 12.
The Ultra is running 8.1.0 build 4145-46, the 3 is 8.1.0 build 4145-04
Both devices are wired ethernet and I have Verizon Fios gigabit fiber service
The 3 is connected via HDMI to a Samsung LCD (@ 1080P) the Ultra is connected to an Onkyo Receiver then to a Panasonic plasma (also 1080P)
The Channel has worked many times in the past, I don't recall exactly how long since we tried last (a couple of months?)  I authenticate to it via my FIOS TV account.  I can stream from their website.

Any help would be appreciated.
SoundBridge M500 (retired), PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired), Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2, Roku 2, Roku Ultra
 
blade_005
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:47 am
Location: USA

Re: BBC America not launching

Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:06 pm

Checked on two (2) TCL Roku TV's and BBC AMERICA is working.
TCL-TV Roku 55P605 (4K HDR & DV) | VIZIO SmartCast SB3651‑E6 Soundbar
TCL-TV Roku 43S425 (4K HDR) | TCL-TV Roku 32S301 (720p)
 
blue_94_trooper
Topic Author
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

Re: BBC America not launching

Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:41 am

blade_005 wrote:
Checked on two (2) TCL Roku TV's and BBC AMERICA is working.

Bad news for me, but good to know.
SoundBridge M500 (retired), PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired), Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2, Roku 2, Roku Ultra
 
blue_94_trooper
Topic Author
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

Re: BBC America not launching

Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:07 pm

I am still unable to launch BBC America.  One thing I noticed is that every time I install the channel, on either of my Rokus, I get version 2.0 build 12.  However, when I look in the Channel Store it shows as being version 2.5.  Could this be causing my issue?  Why wouldn't I be getting the latest version of the channel when I install it?

I am rebooting in between de-install and re-install.
SoundBridge M500 (retired), PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired), Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2, Roku 2, Roku Ultra
 
blue_94_trooper
Topic Author
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

Re: BBC America not launching

Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:23 am

Looks like the 9.0 upgrade solved this issue for me.  I know you were all anxiously awaiting word on this.
SoundBridge M500 (retired), PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired), Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2, Roku 2, Roku Ultra

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crustyfolk, jbecker73, mikebdoss, Munchie, Tivoburkee and 32 guests