Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
gloop05
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:32 am

Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:52 pm

Sometimes when I click "pause" on Netflix or Hulu it will pause, but then start playing again about 5 seconds later.  And the reverse is true.  Sometimes I'll unpause and then 5 seconds later it pauses.

Any ideas on what's wrong or how to fix it (2017 Roku Ultra model)?
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:18 pm

gloop05 wrote:
Sometimes when I click "pause" on Netflix or Hulu it will pause, but then start playing again about 5 seconds later.  And the reverse is true.  Sometimes I'll unpause and then 5 seconds later it pauses.

Any ideas on what's wrong or how to fix it (2017 Roku Ultra model)?

Could be a dirty remote button. Try blowing it out with compressed air. Office supply places sell cans. Heck, Walmart sells them. Good for keeping other stuff clean, too. Keyboards in particular.
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
rccryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:20 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:24 am

5 seconds sounds like too much time for it to be caused by a dirty electrical contact on the remote. If it were dirty contacts, I would expect the pause/un-pauses to be much closer together (more like the common double-click problem with an old computer mouse that has a worn-out micro-switch), unless maybe you have a habit of pressing and holding the button for a relatively long time (2-3 seconds) each time. Do you have any problems with the other buttons? Any double-clicks when navigating the Roku home screen? 
 
rccryan
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:20 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:54 am

You asked for ideas on what's wrong, so here's an idea: 
Maybe it's caused by radio-frequency interference with the remote. 

I'm not sure how you have things set up, but based on other forum posts I've seen, if your Roku base unit is located between your Wi-Fi router and where you normally use the remote, then that could be an issue. 
If that's the case, can you move things so they don't line up like that? 
Alternatively, have you tried connecting your Roku base unit to the network via an Ethernet cable instead of via Wi-Fi (since you have that option with the Ultra)? 

I have a problem with similar symptoms using the "point anywhere" remote for my brand new Roku Streaming Stick (3800R) and unfortunately, my own setup has things lined up exactly like that, with the Roku stick about 6 feet from the Wi-Fi router, and there isn't much I can do to change it.
 
MuhChicken
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:39 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:55 am

I have the exact same issue. It has happened while using Netflix and Amazon Video.  The others I don't use very often.  Occasionally when I hit the pause/play button to pause a video it will resume within about 2 to 5 seconds without pressing any other buttons. It's inconvenient because I have usually put the remote down and started getting up by the time I realize it happened again.  Then I have to grab the remote, press the pause button again, and wait to make sure it will stay paused this time.  It has done the opposite when I resumed the show and it paused again without pressing any buttons.  I don't hold the buttons down either.  Just a quick press of the button like a mouse click is all I do.

No dust or other age issues because I just bought the brand new Roku Ultra 2018 model in late December 2018.
I have changed the batteries in the remote several times.
I have tried the reset procedure where you remove the batteries from the remote and unplug the Roku, wait 5 seconds, plug the Roku back in, and finally reinstall the batteries in the remote.  There are no other remote issues and the headphones work fine when I'm watching shows using those in order to be quiet.

My Roku is model 4660X2 with software version 9.0.0 Build 4142-46.  I've checked for updates and it says it is up to date.

The Roku is using a wired Ethernet connection to the router.  The router with Wi-Fi is on the other side of a sheet rock wall just behind and to the right of where I sit around 3 feet away.  The Roku is in front and slightly to the left of me around 6 feet away.

I also have an Apple TV 3rd gen, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, and Sony BDP-S6500 Blu-Ray player in the same setup and none of these have this issue.
 
Bacon
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:48 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:17 pm

I think these remotes just have crappy buttons. Mine will often register 2 home button presses with one click.
 
andyross
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 7:03 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:59 am

I think the issue is how it decodes commands. I don't even use a Roku remote, and both a Roku 4 and a current-model Express will sometimes treat a key as double. The remote is universal and also used for TV and other devices with no issues.
 
gloop05
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:32 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:09 pm

I started this thread back in Dec and after going nuts with this issue decided to just bite the bullet and buy a new Enhanced Remote from Roku.com.  And wouldn't you know it THE PAUSE/UNPAUSE problem STILL happens!

The problem is in the Roku itself.
 
User avatar
RokuTannerD
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:37 pm

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:28 am

@gloop05

Thanks for letting us know what you're running into. Does the same behavior happen if you try using the Roku Mobile app's built-in remote control functions? 

Please feel free to PM me directly with your Roku account email address, the serial number of your Roku Ultra, and any additional details about the issue you're running into. I'd be happy to continue assisting you directly to see how else we can help here. 

Thanks,
Tanner
Tanner D.
Roku Community Manager
 
gloop05
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:32 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:16 am

Hi Tanner. 

My Roku Serial # is:  CK3843546491 (it's a 2017 model Roku Ultra).

I tried using the Roku remote app on my phone for a day but the pause/unpause problem didn't occur (although as I said I only used it for a day and the problem is very random).

I have a Roku IR remote and this pause/unpause problem does NOT occur.
 
rebus9
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 9:19 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Tue May 07, 2019 7:15 pm

I'm having this exact same problem.  Press a play-related button (Play, Pause, Instant Replay) and 3-5 seconds later the action is repeated by the Roku Ultra.  It's extremely frustrating putting a show on Pause as I'm getting up to leave the room, only to have it start playing again on its own after I've walked away.  Grrrr.

Roku sent me a new remote.  Didn't help.  I have the same problem when using the iPhone app to control the Roku.  Maybe the remote could be the trouble, since it both sends AND receives signals, which is how you can plug headphones into it.  (maybe?)

Roku finally replaced the entire unit under warranty, but the replacement device is worse than the original.

VERY frustrated.
 
Tajson
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:50 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Tue May 07, 2019 8:21 pm

Depending on how the channel is built, there are some that will treat pause-play within seconds as a fast-forward action instead.

The repeating actions will be a remote issue so try another remote. Or if the Roku is behind glass, open the door.
 
rebus9
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 9:19 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Wed May 15, 2019 12:03 pm

Not applicable.  This isn't rapid Play/Pause presses.  This is, watch a show for a while.  Press pause to get up and leave the room.  Show resumes playing several seconds later when I'm out of the room.  I have to return to the room to hit Pause again.

Few minutes later, I come back, press Play to resume watching, set the remote on the table, lean back in the chair and the show pauses by itself.

I'm also on my THIRD remote from Roku.  (1.)  Original remote with new unit.  (2.)  Replacement remote sent from Roku Support.  (3.)  Remote included with warranty-replacement unit.  Two different Roku Ultras, and Three different remotes.

The ONLY thing I've found that reduces (not "cures") how often it happens, is to press AND HOLD the button for 2-3 seconds before releasing.  But that clearly shouldn't be required.  No other remote (TV, VCR, DVD, BluRay, etc) needs more than a quick press.

This almost has to be a problem inside the Roku device itself, because the problem is easily reproducible using the iPhone app, too.
 
Wileyman
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:58 am

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Tue May 21, 2019 12:06 pm

 I have the same problem with my Roku ultra. I press the pause button and it will pause the program for 2 to 5 seconds then I get up to walk away and it starts playing on its own. The opposite is true I will hit the unpause button to start playing the program and it will pause itself without me even touching the pause button. I hope that a fix comes soon.
 
ChuckB
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: Roku Ultra remote doing double click?

Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:10 pm

I have a Roku Ultra 2018 and also have this issue.  I press pause, walk away, and when I come back the video is playing.  I've tested and it usually starts playing around 3-4 seconds after I press pause.  Pressing pause a second time usually stays paused.  This happens with all the apps I use regularly, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Funimation...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests