Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 7:22 am

I USED to have the Roku and my computer connected to the same switch (which was connected to my modem) and they worked fine together.  After I disconnected the Roku from the switch to troubleshoot an Internet connection problem, the Roku won't connect to the Internet when the computer is also connected to the switch.  The Roku OR the computer connect just fine to the Internet when it is one or the other but not when both are connected at the same time.  I have a Dell computer - Netgear GS608 8-port switch - and a Roku Premiere +.  Any ideas why they won't all work together anymore when they used to?
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:17 am

Maybe an IP address conflict? Can you check to see if they’re dynamically assigned? Also, if you power everything down, then power up modem, router/switch, computer, Roku, in that order, with 2-3 minutes between each, does the issue go away?
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:46 am

I spent several hours yesterday powering everything down and up but not in any particular order.  I'll give it a try your way and let you know if it helps.  Thanks for the advice.
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:35 am

Awww, it didn't work.  Here's what I did.  EVERYTHING got shut down (power cords pulled out).  Waited several minutes.  Plugged in modem and waited until the Power and Online lights were steadily lit.  Plugged in the Switch.  Saw the flashing light indicating that it was communicating with the modem.  Turned on the computer.  Saw a second flashing light on the Switch indicating it was communicating.  Plugged in the Roku.  Saw that it had a flashing light on the Switch indicating communication with the other two devices.  Ran the Roku setup as "wired".  NO CONNECTION.
It's got me baffled how it could have worked before I removed the Ethernet cable but now it won't.  I ran across something on the Internet about replacing an Ethernet cable and the Roku could then establish an Internet connection.  I'll rummage around and see if I have another cable and give it a try.  I've tried using various other ports on the Switch and they always have flashing lights indicating communication but, unfortunately, the Roku still can't establish an Internet connection.  In the meantime, if you have any other suggestions, I'd sure be willing to give them a try.  Thanks for your help.
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:08 am

IP address conflict? Are you able to see what device has what address? When you change out Roku/PC, do they have the same address?
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:31 am

I've seen that concept of IP address conflict brought up before in other forums but I have no idea how to check.  No, wait.  When the Roku IS connected to the Internet it displays all that address information.  I'll have to disconnect the computer and get the Roku hooked up to the Internet so I can write down that info.  But, how do I check to see what the IP address is for my computer?  And, if I do find out that there is an IP address conflict, how do I resolve the problem?  Again, it used to work fine before with both the computer and Roku hooked together but not now.  What has changed and how do I fix it?
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:45 am

If it’s a Windows computer, launch s command prompt and type ipconfig

The info will include the IP address.

How to fix? See if it’s the problem first. But it will involve logging in to your router. You may need the manual for that
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:38 pm

Okay, here's what I've done so far and let me add that I have BOTH the Roku and the computer now hooked up to the Internet.  I'm not sure how I did that but it's happening.  I THINK I got the Roku connected to the Internet first.  Then, I had to disconnect the Roku Ethernet cable from the switch so just the computer and modem were connected to the switch.  Then, I had to reboot the modem and the computer.  That took quite awhile since I first tried rebooting just one or the other.  I finally got the computer connected to the Internet.  Then, I plugged in the Roku Ethernet cable back into the switch and now both the computer and Roku seem to be connected to the Internet.
I SUSPECT that I will have to keep the Roku constantly on to avoid losing its' Internet connection.  But, that's okay.  I'm afraid if I turn it off that it will lose its' Internet connection address and I don't want to go through all this any more than I have to.
While doing all the above, I also went into Control Panel and Internet Options and tried fussing around with stuff.  Didn't seem to help.  I also saw some advice about getting a command prompt and typing in "ipconfig /all" when just the computer was connected to the Internet in order to see what was what.  The resulting printout uses different language compared to the data from the Roku.  
Roku had an IP address, Gateway address and Ethernet MAC address.  The only thing that I saw the same was the Gateway address.  There were no other matches.
Now, I'm going to print out this message in case I have this problem in the future.  I'm 75 years old and tend to forget such things in only a matter of days.  
But, THANKS FOR YOUR SUGGESTIONS.  They seem to be right on with what was done.  So, connect Roku to Internet.  Disconnect Roku cable.  Connect computer to Internet.  Reconnect Roku cable to switch and pray.
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:48 pm

Hey, I’m not that far behind you. You’re a Truman baby? I’m an Eisenhower baby. I know you’re going through.
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
twiceover
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:49 pm

Wait...  Do you have a "Router" in there at all?  you mention a Modem -> Switch but you don't specifically state you have a Router.  A switch is essentially just a "splitter" for the network connection.  Your Internet Provider probably only allows you to get 1 or 2 IP addresses off of your modem.  A Router allows you to have multiple devices behind a SINGLE IP address assigned to your modem.

What is the model of the device you are calling your "modem"?
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:05 pm

Nope, no "router".  Spectrum (Time Warner) gave me a Hitron Technologies E31N2V1 "modem".  It also has the Spectrum name embossed on the side.  The purpose of the Netgear GS608 switch is to replace any kind of wireless router.  In effect, it serves as a "wired" router.  I had a wireless router for awhile but it cut my Internet speed in half so I trashed it.
Everything I've gone through on this problem would indicate that you're probably right that the Spectrum modem only allows one IP address.  I wonder how connecting the Roku first and then the computer would over-ride that problem?  But, as I mentioned, I think if I turn off the Roku that it will lose its' Internet connection and won't be able to find it again unless I go through hooking each item up separate and the computer last.
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:10 pm

Oops, I just noticed that the Roku lost its' Internet connection and it won't reconnect.  It doesn't look as though my "fix" was very long lasting.  There must be a setting somewhere that would fix this problem since I used to have both the Roku and computer hooked up at the same time.  But, now that I think about it, I had a different modem at the time.  I had some Internet connection problems some months ago and exchanged modems to fix the problem.  Perhaps I should go down to the Spectrum office and mention my problem and see if they have a different modem to give me.
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Southeast Georgia
Contact:

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:14 pm

TonyinCNY-- wrote:
Nope, no "router".  Spectrum (Time Warner) gave me a Hitron Technologies E31N2V1 "modem".  It also has the Spectrum name embossed on the side.  The purpose of the Netgear GS608 switch is to replace any kind of wireless router.  In effect, it serves as a "wired" router.  I had a wireless router for awhile but it cut my Internet speed in half so I trashed it.
Everything I've gone through on this problem would indicate that you're probably right that the Spectrum modem only allows one IP address.  I wonder how connecting the Roku first and then the computer would over-ride that problem?  But, as I mentioned, I think if I turn off the Roku that it will lose its' Internet connection and won't be able to find it again unless I go through hooking each item up separate and the computer last.

Keep in mind that most wireless routers include LAN ports. You don’t have to use the wireless, just the LAN ports if you wish. I have a switch connected to one of my LAN ports, as I connect everything permanent via LAN cable, and use wireless for phone, tablet, and other portable devices.
DBDukes
http://www.dbdukes.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)
 
TonyinCNY--
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:17 pm

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:21 pm

Oh, for crying out loud.  I thought a Switch WAS a "wired" router.  But, as I search around on the Internet I see where there is a distinct and separate animal called a WIRED ROUTER.  That's what I need as it will allow me to connect multiple devices to one IP address.  Now, I've REALLY got to thank you for explaining the difference between a switch and a router.  I'll have to check out Best Buy and Amazon to see what's available but that should really fix my problem.
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 2590
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: Hard Wired Roku Problem

Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:51 pm

TonyinCNY-- wrote:
Oh, for crying out loud.  I thought a Switch WAS a "wired" router.  But, as I search around on the Internet I see where there is a distinct and separate animal called a WIRED ROUTER.  That's what I need as it will allow me to connect multiple devices to one IP address.  Now, I've REALLY got to thank you for explaining the difference between a switch and a router.  I'll have to check out Best Buy and Amazon to see what's available but that should really fix my problem.

They really don't make Routers that don't have Wireless. You can always get a wireless router and disable the wireless feature. Most have 4 ports on them. If you need more ports than 4 for wired devices, that is where the switch comes in.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests