Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
JoeJ
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:08 pm

One HDMI port

Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:36 pm

My Toshiba television has one HDMI port. How can I both keep HDMI reception and add the Roku stick?
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: One HDMI port

Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:09 pm

Not sure what you mean by "HDMI reception", but to add more ports to a TV, an HDMI switcher can be purchased.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
JoeJ
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:08 pm

Re: One HDMI port

Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:23 pm

JoeJ wrote:
My Toshiba television has one HDMI port. How can I both keep HDMI reception and add the Roku stick?

I meant: how can I use both the cable for television HDMI and also use the Roku stick if there is one HDMI port?
 
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: One HDMI port

Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:35 pm

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss ... DMI+switch

I recommend one with a remote control to switch inputs. The automatically switching ones can work for you if your cable box turns off completely, but they are hit or miss.

-JT
 
apodtele
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:30 am

Re: One HDMI port

Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:31 am

Does your cable box have an HDMI input? Modern cable boxes do.
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5523
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: One HDMI port

Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:33 am

apodtele wrote:
Does your cable box have an HDMI input? Modern cable boxes do.


Maybe cable companies disable that input.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
MattFromPhilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:19 am

Re: One HDMI port

Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:18 am

Yeah, you need an HDMI switchbox, unless by some chance you have an A/V receiver that accepts multiple HDMI inputs. If so, you could use that to switch between inputs.

Does your TV have other inputs that you are not using? Like a component in? You could get a box to convert the HDMI to component video and L/R stereo audio. That would still be good quality. Search for "HDMI to Component" to see what options are out there. (Not "Composite" by the way. You want component where the video is on three RCA cables.)
 
apodtele
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:30 am

Re: One HDMI port

Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:49 am

MattFromPhilly wrote:
Yeah, you need an HDMI switchbox, unless by some chance you have an A/V receiver that accepts multiple HDMI inputs.

A sub-$300 modern receiver by Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, or Onkyo usually has 4 or more HDMI inputs. That is not just a fat chance, but a way to go.
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3890
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: One HDMI port

Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:52 am

apodtele wrote:
MattFromPhilly wrote:
Yeah, you need an HDMI switchbox, unless by some chance you have an A/V receiver that accepts multiple HDMI inputs.

A sub-$300 modern receiver by Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, or Onkyo usually has 4 or more HDMI inputs. That is not just a fat chance, but a way to go.

While I agree with going to an AVR, don't forget you have to add in the cost of speakers as well. With sub-woofer, expect another few hundred to complete the system. But in my opinion, worth it.  :D
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Heyitsrick and 19 guests