Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Chaos101
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:33 am

kwese play, Econet

Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:41 am

Kwese play/Econet went bankrupt yesterday and stopped their service. Is there anyway to change my Roku play to another service or is this going to be another piece of electronics sitting and collecting dust?
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 5471
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: kwese play, Econet

Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:51 am

I looked this up.. This is a South African service? Most users on this forum are not from that region, so they'll not be able to help.

Are there no other services available for your Roku?
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
https://youtu.be/d1CSEeqWl10
 
Chaos101
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:33 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:14 am

Yes this was a South African service and no Kwese was the only one. But what is the difference if we change to an overseas service. I stream youtube and netflix, if the services get a kick back from netflix etc, then the new service will get that as well?
 
mario_dc
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:04 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:10 am

Thanks for posting this as a topic. I agree that there has to be a way to bypass the Kwese Play service option on the Roku. I'm currently sitting with two units and the tech in me is refusing to believe that they are bricked due to 3rd party incompetence. I've been in discussion with the retail chain that sold me the unit, but would happily give a hard code restart to one of them as a test.
 
Niems
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:26 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:28 am

mario_dc wrote:
Thanks for posting this as a topic. I agree that there has to be a way to bypass the Kwese Play service option on the Roku. I'm currently sitting with two units and the tech in me is refusing to believe that they are bricked due to 3rd party incompetence. I've been in discussion with the retail chain that sold me the unit, but would happily give a hard code restart to one of them as a test.

Hi Mario, have you had any luck? It would be great if there was a way to re-flash these to the stock Roku system. 
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3806
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: kwese play, Econet

Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:36 am

Unfortunately, there's no way to reflash a Roku device without connecting to their update servers. Your device is likely pointed at an Econet server, and there's no way to change it. You can't load firmware from a local file.
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
 
Niems
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:26 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:33 am

atc98092 wrote:
Unfortunately, there's no way to reflash a Roku device without connecting to their update servers. Your device is likely pointed at an Econet server, and there's no way to change it. You can't load firmware from a local file.

Thanks atc98092. Unfortunate to hear. Seems like it will become a paper weight after all.
I heard that you cannot even jailbreak these devices, so I guess that would make re-flashing impossible as well.
It is quite infuriating that Econet were distributing these devices right up until their bankruptcy. In fact, some online stores are still selling them!
 
User avatar
atc98092
Posts: 3806
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: kwese play, Econet

Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:25 am

Yeah, that's annoying a company would do that. And I've never been able to find any method of jailbreaking a Roku. Bummer for ya.  :cry:
Dan
Nvidia Shield, Roku Stick (3600), Ultra (4640), Premiere (3920), Insignia 720p Roku TV, Sharp 4K Roku TV, Windows 10 Pro x64 running Serviio and Plex on a wired Gigabit network.
 
2pints
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:49 am
Location: UK

Re: kwese play, Econet

Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:18 am

Are these Roku units, or are they "Roku powered" units?

In the UK we have Now TV boxes/sticks etc that are Roku Powered, and there are also a small selection of Roku products available, form my understanding the same situation is repeated elsewhere:
 Rokus own hardware ( where available) thats reliant on Roku
and a Roku Powered hardware, that is reliant on whatever company is using it ( google image search Roku powered to see a vast array of equipment in this category)

What would be nice, and help reduce e-waste would be for Roku to provide a re flashing / unlocking service for these devices ( especially when the parent company has ceased trading) so that they become pure roku devices I'm sure that most people would be prepared to pay a reasonable ( ie not too much) price for such a service
 
mario_dc
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:04 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:10 am

Apologies for the radio silence - it's unfortunate that we can't re-flash these devices. I tried getting a refund from the retailer but they would only refund what I bought within the last year and of course only with original packaging, power cable, remote etc. All of which I have - but just on principle that they won't refund two devices I'm not purchasing there anymore.

The device is "Roku powered" Not too sure if that would provide a bypass. I'll tinker with it for interest sake and see what comes of it. Right now - it seems pretty useless. I think the tech is pretty redundant anyway considering the prices of smart TVs have dropped so much.

After this debacle I won't be using anything Roku either. 
 
mario_dc
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:04 am

Re: kwese play, Econet

Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:12 am

Niems wrote:
mario_dc wrote:
Thanks for posting this as a topic. I agree that there has to be a way to bypass the Kwese Play service option on the Roku. I'm currently sitting with two units and the tech in me is refusing to believe that they are bricked due to 3rd party incompetence. I've been in discussion with the retail chain that sold me the unit, but would happily give a hard code restart to one of them as a test.

Hi Mario, have you had any luck? It would be great if there was a way to re-flash these to the stock Roku system.

Unfortunately not - but I haven't really tried either. Was trying to get a refund first and that's not going to happen. So I'll start playing around with it - not very hopeful though.
 
twiceover
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:49 pm

Re: kwese play, Econet

Thu Aug 15, 2019 1:09 pm

mario_dc wrote:
...

After this debacle I won't be using anything Roku either. 

Why.  They had nothing to do with your provider going flower up.  If they provided their firmware to you, there's no way for you to flash it anyway.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests