Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
sjk985
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:41 am

Roku Express stops displaying; have to unplug HDMI

Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:47 am

I have a new Roku Express, only a few weeks old. When I first turn on the TV to watch something on the Roku, it does not show the screensaver, only a blank screen. It does not respond to the remote (and I know the remote signal is working because the light on the Roku blinks). The only way I can get it to work is by unplugging the HDMI cable from the Roku and plugging it back in. Then I can see the screensaver and everything works normally from there. But something obviously isn't working right, and I don't want to have to fiddle with the HDMI cable every time I want to watch something. How can I fix this?
 
User avatar
RokuTannerD
Posts: 719
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:37 pm

Re: Roku Express stops displaying; have to unplug HDMI

Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:52 am

Have you tried replacing the HDMI cable, and/or connecting your device to a different HDMI port on the TV? 

Let us know if that helps! 


Cheers,
Tanner
Tanner D.
Roku Community Manager
 
sjk985
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:41 am

Re: Roku Express stops displaying; have to unplug HDMI

Wed Sep 18, 2019 7:39 pm

I have tried that, unfortunately it didn't make a difference.
 
drgarner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:42 pm

Re: Roku Express stops displaying; have to unplug HDMI

Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:00 pm

I have exactly the same problem with the Roku Ultra! I recently replaced a Roku 3 with a Roku Ultra. Ever since the change the HDMI does not work (sometimes) when the TV is powered on. Nothing else was changed - same TV and same HDMI cable. This problem never happened with the Roku 3. It only started this problem since upgrading to the Ultra to get the new remote. I have tried another HDMI cable and another HDMI input. Please Help!
 
sjk985
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:41 am

Re: Roku Express stops displaying; have to unplug HDMI

Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:53 am

RokuTannerD wrote:
Have you tried replacing the HDMI cable, and/or connecting your device to a different HDMI port on the TV? 

Let us know if that helps! 


Cheers,
Tanner

Any other ideas? I tried this and I'm still having the same issue.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests